We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value”
Review of 4th Avenue Eatery & Bar - CLOSED

4th Avenue Eatery & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$30
Cuisines: Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: About Us Stunningly situated on the foreshore of Onetangi Beach, 4th Avenue Eatery and Bar provides unforgettable inventive cuisine in a unique waterfront setting. Offering incredible views of the beautiful Hauraki Gulf, 4th Avenue is designed with an open-air atmosphere and includes an expansive dining room surrounding a lively bar and a beautiful deck where you can hear the waves and watch beach life. Our extensive menus cover from breakfast through to dinner, with a range of vegetarian and lighter options always available. Savour deliciously inventive cuisine that takes the contemporary to the extraordinary. Bold flavours, inspired techniques and the freshest ingredients make every meal amazing. Beach Shop Tucked away next door is our little sister, The Beach Store. Here you'll find all your beach needs from sunblock to jandals & toys for the kids. There's rolled ice creams, cold drinks and snacks plus a few essentials you might have forgotten to pack. We are open every day from 9am until late - our kitchen closes at 8.30Pm at the earliest.
Maine, New York
1 review
“Amazing value”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I visited with my family and was amazed at the value and the quality of food. We had breakfast and they were running a 2 for 1 deal which was unbelievable for the quality of food, we were so impressed that we returned for dinner and again they were offering 2 meals for $39, we could choose from steaks, fish etc, there was a great selection. We have been travelling around New Zealand and believe me this is an exceptional price.
We had a great experience, the location right ovelooking the beach, food was amazing and great sevice. Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ed a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    13
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendocino, California
1 review
“amazing restaurant”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Visited this restaurant in March and even though it was very very busy, the service and the food was outstanding. Highly recommend this place, an overall fantastic experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chuck w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Good food and great service”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a most enjoyable lunch and although we chose a simple dish it was very tasty. The service was great. The staff treated us royally and could not have been more attentive. The wine was excellent and complimented the food.
We will go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robbo3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most delicious breakfast ever!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It was my first trip to Weiheke island, and i will never forget that awesome sunny day and that yummy breakfast at the 4th avenue cafe. I am sure that was the most delicious breakfast i had in New Zealand. Staff is very helpful and friendly, and the scenery is fantastic. You sit and relax and let the wind blowing through your hair , listens to the sea eating fantastic food, Never forget it! Thanks for a perfect place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaRybakova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant on the beach”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

After taking the taxi from the Half Moon Bay- Kennedy Bay ferry on Waiheke Island up to the main town of Oneora. Then we took the local bus down to Onetangi getting of it on the beachfront on the corner by the 4th Avenue Eatery. The café provides indoor and outdoor seating with plenty of room between tables. It has a modern open plan kitchen and an expansive menu running through the day. It is a licensed premises with a good selection of wines. It was well patronised for a winter weekend Sunday and we enjoyed a lovely meal. The Onetangi beachfront provides a nice way of walking off the lunchtime kilos and I can imagine in the summer it would be very popular.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brook R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 4th Avenue Eatery & Bar also viewed

Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing