We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”
Review of Drumoig Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumoig
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Basic”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel overnight when attending a party in St Andrews. The room was basic but clean and bright. It was noisy and the part we were in seemed to be populated by men possibly on a stag do or group holiday. This made for a disturbed night's sleep. Breakfast was really poor and the buffet containers were either empty or dried out. The staff were very attentive to what seemed like regulars, not so to others. We booked with Late Rooms so got a good price, but I would have been really disappointed if I had paid the full price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    72
    32
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
75
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here Friday and Saturday nights in an upper level lodge room next to the hotel. The room was a good size, had lots of storage space, was warm and clean. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits were complimentary and replaced each day. The en suite bathroom was well fitted. Loads of hot water, toiletries and a good shower over the bath.
Breakfast which was included in our room rate was served in the main hotel by friendly staff. There was a selection of cereal, fruit juice, yoghurt and a couple of bowls of prunes and orange segments. Plentiful tea and coffee with warm toast was served as was a full cooked to order breakfast.
The views from the dining room over the golf course were lovely.
Overall our stay was excellent value for money.
15 minutes in the car to nearby St. Andrews makes Drumoig hotel a great base.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FPM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here for a week whilst visiting relatives in nearby Leuchars. The location and price attracted us - not the golf. Nice clean and fresh room in the nearby lodge, very good breakfast, hot food cooked to order, cereals and juice available. Spacious room, excellent bathroom, plenty of hot water, room was warm and comfortable.At £50 per night inclusive I thought it was excellent value.

The staff were really great, lovely, friendly and helpful, they made a good stay into a great one. We would definitely stay at Drumoig again - assuming the prices remain so competitive.
The only downside - and it didn't affect us at all - was the place closes at 6pm during February, so no access to the main building where the free wifi is located. We use a MIFI when travelling and that was fine for internet access (I do most of my work on computer and need regular reliable internet access).
Very nice location, great views across the golf course and ideal for travel north over the Tay Bridge or south to link to the motorways.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevejubilado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Nice clean rooms in a modern hotel and golf club. The rooms are set aside from the main building but a warm and well maintained. Good quality breakfasts. Welcoming service and happy to help.
Golf course is also well maintained, and even in January it played well. An enjoyable 3 day break

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the course, but all rooms similar quality, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALSandALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Tried to book a hotel in Dundee but all usual suspects were full. This hotel was within an acceptable distance. We were in one of the lodges and although adequate it was a little tired. Dinner in restaurant was a bit disappointing - my wife's first choice of main course was unavailable and second was overcooked, although the cost was deducted from our bill without any question. I had no complaints about my dinner and drinks were reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firewire204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We spent five nights on a tour of Scotland and stayed at five different hotels. We chose to book a room in the main club building at Drumoig and were impressed a) by the spacious room and b) by the great view over the 18th green of the golf course.

Very reasonably priced bar meals but only up to 8 pm - no problem for us

Only a short distance from St Andrews and the attractive fishing villages of the Fife coast.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main Club House are worth the slightly higher cost compared with the lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

stayed one night in first floor room in one of the houses, quite quiet, parking very convenient. Room was good size and bathroom was fine ,.... except I was trying to let the steam / damp air out as there seem to be no fan. Opened the velux, I'm only 1.60m so that wasn't easy. Next morning I found the fan switch way out of my reach!
Breakfast was fine and reception was helpful. Could have done with Wifi in the rooms - gather it is available in the main building but i did not try it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyTamaraV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumoig
9.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 16 in St Andrews
3,067 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 16 in St Andrews
668 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 16 in St Andrews
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 16 in St Andrews
1,264 reviews
6.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Andrews
361 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St Andrews
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drumoig Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumoig Golf Hotel

Property: Drumoig Golf Hotel
Address: Forgan Drive | Nr St. Andrews, Drumoig, St Andrews KY16 0DS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Drumoig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumoig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Drumoig Golf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated between the Home of Golf St Andrews and Carnoustie. Drumoig Golf Hotel is the perfect base to experience the wide range of golf courses available in Fife and Angus. With its own par 72 championship golf course set in 250 acres of rolling Fife countryside and a Golf Driving Range, Drumoig Golf Hotel has all facilities that a visiting golfer requires. Equally however if your not a Golfer but enjoy good food, beautiful views and a quite peaceful retreat-then Drumoig is the perfect place. We have 20 bedrooms and 4 luxury bedrooms,a spacious Bar and restaurant that looks over our spectacular course and the surrounding grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and HRS so you can book your Drumoig Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drumoig Hotel St Andrews
Drumoig Golf Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing