We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golfing weekend”
Review of Drumoig Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumoig
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great golfing weekend”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Evening meal, good choice and tasty. Breakfast adequate and plentiful. Room clean and comfortable. Bar closed too early. Staff pleasant and helpful when you could find one. Course staff excellent, would go back anytime as it was value for money

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenbean49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    72
    34
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
76
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was just a one night stay, with my golf obsessed USA guest and myself determined to play St Andrews 'Old Course', to satisfy his 'bucket list'. Drumoig Hotel is just 8 miles away, and a fraction of the cost of those nearer the holy grail course - just 15 minutes drive.

To have a chance to play the Old Course, you either had to succeed in the Ballot (not easy at peak times), or you have to get awake early (this really means early), to put your name in the queue. This means missing breakfast, starting at the normal 07.30am: by the way, the breakfast was first class (my wife's opinion -all of it freshly prepared, no 'buffets'). I and my golfing buddy were queuing (successfully) for the holy grail course. Without even our asking, our host, Heather offered a packed breakfast (f.o.c) - which she did, delivering it to our room the evening before as she completed her work for the day. How helpful is that? Fantastic personal service.

The restaurant was good straightforward fresh food - no Michelin stars of course, but great value, as was the straightforward, spacious, ultra clean accommodation - with a great view across their Drumoig course (which sadly, is not the holy grail Old Course).

We can't recommend The Drumoig Golf Hotel too highly. Surerb, and thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor (no elevators) room with G.C. view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_TravellerFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were in a crowd of 12 having a golf weekend as we do every year.
Most went for the Sat and Sunday nights but 4 of us had the Friday off so booked an extra night.The room was clean , tidy and spacious.
On arrival we were advised the bar closed at 930 that night ?
So we went into St Andrews for the food and a few drinks.
Saturday and Sunday,s meals were booked in the hotel.
After our meal we had decided not to move and spend the evening there, at about 1050 pm ,we went to order more drink and was advised it was last orders !!
I asked why ,when we were residents that the bar could not stay open for us ,the answer was well I need to get home because I start here again at 7 am in the morning ??
So basically that was it ,felt we had to drink up to let the lady home.
Sunday service was totally different with a gentleman taking the shift.We didn't need the bar to stay open this night as we were all driving in the morning but I am sure if asked , he would have made the effort.
Very disappointed about the 2 nights closing early , the total bill for the group was approx £2000 so I cannot understand turning away business like this.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel overnight when attending a party in St Andrews. The room was basic but clean and bright. It was noisy and the part we were in seemed to be populated by men possibly on a stag do or group holiday. This made for a disturbed night's sleep. Breakfast was really poor and the buffet containers were either empty or dried out. The staff were very attentive to what seemed like regulars, not so to others. We booked with Late Rooms so got a good price, but I would have been really disappointed if I had paid the full price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here Friday and Saturday nights in an upper level lodge room next to the hotel. The room was a good size, had lots of storage space, was warm and clean. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits were complimentary and replaced each day. The en suite bathroom was well fitted. Loads of hot water, toiletries and a good shower over the bath.
Breakfast which was included in our room rate was served in the main hotel by friendly staff. There was a selection of cereal, fruit juice, yoghurt and a couple of bowls of prunes and orange segments. Plentiful tea and coffee with warm toast was served as was a full cooked to order breakfast.
The views from the dining room over the golf course were lovely.
Overall our stay was excellent value for money.
15 minutes in the car to nearby St. Andrews makes Drumoig hotel a great base.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FPM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here for a week whilst visiting relatives in nearby Leuchars. The location and price attracted us - not the golf. Nice clean and fresh room in the nearby lodge, very good breakfast, hot food cooked to order, cereals and juice available. Spacious room, excellent bathroom, plenty of hot water, room was warm and comfortable.At £50 per night inclusive I thought it was excellent value.

The staff were really great, lovely, friendly and helpful, they made a good stay into a great one. We would definitely stay at Drumoig again - assuming the prices remain so competitive.
The only downside - and it didn't affect us at all - was the place closes at 6pm during February, so no access to the main building where the free wifi is located. We use a MIFI when travelling and that was fine for internet access (I do most of my work on computer and need regular reliable internet access).
Very nice location, great views across the golf course and ideal for travel north over the Tay Bridge or south to link to the motorways.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevejubilado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Nice clean rooms in a modern hotel and golf club. The rooms are set aside from the main building but a warm and well maintained. Good quality breakfasts. Welcoming service and happy to help.
Golf course is also well maintained, and even in January it played well. An enjoyable 3 day break

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the course, but all rooms similar quality, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALSandALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumoig
7.0 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
340 reviews
9.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,140 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
672 reviews
6.4 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,270 reviews
6.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drumoig Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumoig Golf Hotel

Property: Drumoig Golf Hotel
Address: Forgan Drive | Nr St. Andrews, Drumoig, St Andrews KY16 0DS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Drumoig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumoig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Drumoig Golf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated between the Home of Golf St Andrews and Carnoustie. Drumoig Golf Hotel is the perfect base to experience the wide range of golf courses available in Fife and Angus. With its own par 72 championship golf course set in 250 acres of rolling Fife countryside and a Golf Driving Range, Drumoig Golf Hotel has all facilities that a visiting golfer requires. Equally however if your not a Golfer but enjoy good food, beautiful views and a quite peaceful retreat-then Drumoig is the perfect place. We have 20 bedrooms and 4 luxury bedrooms,a spacious Bar and restaurant that looks over our spectacular course and the surrounding grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Drumoig Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drumoig Hotel St Andrews
Drumoig Golf Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing