We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service ”
Review of Drumoig Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumoig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Booked for my son to stay here prior to playing in a golf event in St Andrews. He was leaving before breakfast time and I emailed reception (as an afterthought at 10.30pm) to ask if they could do a packed breakfast. Steven replied promptly - absolutely no problem to do this, and would be ready for 6.45 am. Very polite and friendly

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

It is not necessary to pay the huge premium to stay in St Andrews when you have options like this 15 minutes away. The staff were fantastic and the meals excellent. We had a great time chatting to the manger about all things Scotland. Menu has all of the Scottish delicacies and we tried them all. Breakfast was first rate. Well worth a stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Col I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here because it was the best price we could find with the best reviews near St. Andrews. Rooms are a bit run down and in need of some renovation, but it's a lovely and quiet location. There's not a lot to do or eat within a 5 mile radius, but St. Andrews is just a 15-20 minute drive. The staff was extremely personable and the made-to-order breakfast was delicious. If you come, ask for a room in the back as they have the golf course views.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vagabond04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My partner and I decided to visit last Sunday for a meal while we were out for the day, we ate in the bar. The service was appalling, there was no "please enjoy your meal" or "can I get you anything else"
When our plates were cleared we didn't even get a "was everything ok"
The outdoor seating area was littered with used cigarette ends, the bar was tired looking and needing a good clean
Food was over priced and not all that good
I most definitely will not be back
Absolutely appalling service!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Mommabear4x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight on Sat 24th May 2014. Me and 5 friends were booked up for bed and breakfast and 2 rounds of golf.

All staff were lovely and friendly, rooms were spotless, shower was fantastic, bar was reasonably priced. All in all it was great accommodation.

Golf course was also in great condition and again, the staff on the course were pleasant and friendly.

Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a golfing break. Facilities were first class!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stew1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Evening meal, good choice and tasty. Breakfast adequate and plentiful. Room clean and comfortable. Bar closed too early. Staff pleasant and helpful when you could find one. Course staff excellent, would go back anytime as it was value for money

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenbean49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was just a one night stay, with my golf obsessed USA guest and myself determined to play St Andrews 'Old Course', to satisfy his 'bucket list'. Drumoig Hotel is just 8 miles away, and a fraction of the cost of those nearer the holy grail course - just 15 minutes drive.

To have a chance to play the Old Course, you either had to succeed in the Ballot (not easy at peak times), or you have to get awake early (this really means early), to put your name in the queue. This means missing breakfast, starting at the normal 07.30am: by the way, the breakfast was first class (my wife's opinion -all of it freshly prepared, no 'buffets'). I and my golfing buddy were queuing (successfully) for the holy grail course. Without even our asking, our host, Heather offered a packed breakfast (f.o.c) - which she did, delivering it to our room the evening before as she completed her work for the day. How helpful is that? Fantastic personal service.

The restaurant was good straightforward fresh food - no Michelin stars of course, but great value, as was the straightforward, spacious, ultra clean accommodation - with a great view across their Drumoig course (which sadly, is not the holy grail Old Course).

We can't recommend The Drumoig Golf Hotel too highly. Surerb, and thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor (no elevators) room with G.C. view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_TravellerFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumoig
2.0 mi away
The St Michaels Inn
The St Michaels Inn
#1 of 1 in Leuchars
125 reviews
9.4 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,315 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 17 in St Andrews
687 reviews
6.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
426 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drumoig Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumoig Golf Hotel

Address: Forgan Drive | Nr St. Andrews, Drumoig, St Andrews KY16 0DS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Drumoig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumoig
Price Range: £50 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drumoig Golf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated between the Home of Golf St Andrews and Carnoustie. Drumoig Golf Hotel is the perfect base to experience the wide range of golf courses available in Fife and Angus. With its own par 72 championship golf course set in 250 acres of rolling Fife countryside and a Golf Driving Range, Drumoig Golf Hotel has all facilities that a visiting golfer requires. Equally however if your not a Golfer but enjoy good food, beautiful views and a quite peaceful retreat-then Drumoig is the perfect place. We have 20 bedrooms and 4 luxury bedrooms,a spacious Bar and restaurant that looks over our spectacular course and the surrounding grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Drumoig Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drumoig Hotel St Andrews
Drumoig Golf Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing