We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eagles Nest Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Kentish Hills Retreat(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheffield Motor Inn(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Gateway(Devonport)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater(Devonport)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barclay Motor Inn(Devonport)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Devonport(Devonport)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bass & Flinders Motor Inn(Ulverstone)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
212
11
1
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
212
11
1
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseagles nestoutdoor spathe ownermt rolandeggsthe kitchenamazing viewscradle mountainwedding anniversaryblown awaythree nightsglass of winebeautiful placeattention to detailin houselong weekenddelicious meal
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is actually one of those places that is as good if not better than the photos! Very luxurious, everything you need and more plus Mt Roland as your backdrop is breathtaking, and changing every hour. The rooms are so beautiful, very clean and very opulent. There is beautiful music to play, open fires and an incredible gourmet kitchen. We had Eagles Nest Two and celebrated my husbands birthday with 6 other friends. Everything you could want and more, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had a relaxing and peaceful time at Nest III. It really is a "retreat" with stunning views of Mt Roland. The house's floor-to-ceiling windows are oriented so that the rolling mountains dominate the views. Definitely very well equipped for two couples or a family with a few kids.
Ample provisions for breakfast with a full kitchen. We bought some food at the IGA market in Sheffield and prepared it throughout our stay there. We also had Cynthia, one of the gourmet chefs, prepare us a meal at Nest III...it was a delight!
Des was very helpful and accommodating. My wife was feeling sick on the day we had to checkout and he graciously let us stay for a bit longer until she felt better.
We would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to take a break from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sihyo1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at the Eagles Nest for a weekend away, the perfect location to relax and take some time out in pristine, luxurious surroundings. We stayed in Nest 1, and the outside spa is a must for any resident! We spent an hour or two in the early evening, soaking up up the surrounding with a bottle of champagne and the incredible views for company. Des was a brilliant host who met us at the start of the weekend and then left us to ourselves for the next couple of days.
The facilities were brilliant, everything worked impeccably, the whole experience was high quality from start to finish. We brought our own supplies and cooked for ourselves both nights, although there were plenty of provisions in the fridge for breakfast and snacks. A great venue for a romantic weekend away. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: The outdoor pump behind the water tank can and does switch on during the night. This is louder in the downstairs room. We just turned it off for the second night and turned it back on in the morning.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laifos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The lake, the views, the various spas (even one with a natural rock fountain outside the fully opening window!) the well appointed design and layout of space, the cleanliness and the sense of abundance with the cupboards full of everything you will need.
We were there for a special party and a Chef was hired. He knew the venue well and was therefore respectful of the kitchen and space. All the technology was up to date and we were able to play music, a tribute DVD and even hook up the 'sing-star' gear we brought.
The next day the owners came and were very friendly as we were making our way out of the premises.
The only downer was that one of the spas was not working and a well orchestrated spa-plan was put into disarray because we were not informed before hand.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank FrequentTravellerSDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We booked Eagle Nest II for a girls weekend, six of us in total, and had a wonderful time.

From the initial booking with Des it was very relaxing, which was the purpose of the weekend.

They really have thought of everything. On our arrival at the property we were greeted by Des, who showed us around the property and how to operate the various spas (and there are many).

The breakfast and treats they provide you are plentiful, with bread, yoghurts, jams, chocolate, eggs, bacon and numerous cereals.

The kitchen is well stocked, with lots of cutlery, crockery, different dinner sets and even herbs and spices.

Even though it was the middle of winter it is very well heated with floor heating and a wonderful open fireplace in the main loungeroom, together with two of the three bedrooms. There were also electric blankets on two of the beds.

The beds were very comfy. Initially were were a bit spooked with the idea of having no curtains in the bedrooms or loungeroom however once we turned off the lights it was amazing to see how bright it was outside and how much we could see! It looked wonderful. The bedrooms are also well stocked right down to two different types of dressing gowns. Usual bathroom amenities are also provided.

Outside there were numerous areas where we could sit and relax however it was a tad too cold outside for that. I can just imagine in the summertime it would be absolutely wonderful though. We did however manage to fit all six of us into the outside spa! We didn't get time to try out all of the other spas, although the spa in the Asia Room (where you basically get to sit as if you were seated on a chair) looked fantastic.

Great for wildlife watching as we were able to watch the platypus and other animals around the property.

The only thing I would warn visitors of is the very muddy road leading to the property in winter (due to the weather). We had two 4WD's which were fine. Other cars would also be fine but could get very muddy.

I would definitely recommend a stay at Eagle Nest Retreat. In fact, I am looking for a weekend when I can go with my husband.

Room Tip: In Eagle Nest II both the Asian and African rooms are outstanding!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews