We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hosts in the Soul of Bandhavgarh!”
Review of Monsoon Forest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monsoon Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Read the other reviews: none of the “Excellent” and “Very Good” ratings are an exaggeration.

Nestled in a rather large swathe of grassland, the cottages and tents evoke a wonderfully rustic ambiance with very tasteful decor. The three different dining areas (used according to occupancy levels and season) and the common area provide a very comfortable setting either for a quiet drink and meal if you’re a couple or a homely party experience if you’re part of a group.

The food we indulged in was perfect for our palate; their choices of using locally grown and seasonal produce made for tasty meals, and when we requested anything special it was delivered to perfection. The food was what I’d call “homely” – none of the overly rich fare that one often experiences during travels.

Much has been written in this forum about General Manager Abhimanyu and Guest Relations Executive Deepak. And none of that is hyperbole or embellished. They, along with their staff, provided service levels whose standards many resorts across the globe would do well to emulate. What really sets the team at Monsoon Forest apart is the feeling of personalised attention they bestow on their guests.

Perfect hosts in the Soul of Bandhavgarh!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RajeevDeRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

We recently stayed at Monsoon forest, on our quest to see tigers. The lodge comprises smart tented rooms, not brand new but very clean, well kept and of high quality. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms air conditioned and the bathroom has everything you need with a good shower. Meals are in the main lodge and the food is of good quality and plentiful, based on a set menu rather than chosen from a menu - special requests can be made.

As a group of four we all agreed that what made the lodge special was the quality of the staff and management, they went over and above to try to provide everything we asked for and also what we didn't know we needed.

The difficulty in obtaining the restricted park safari tickets at short notice (due to govt bureaucracy) makes booking tickets a nightmare and as we were last minute visitors internet tickets were sold out.The lodge organised for us to get tickets; this involved one of the party having to make an appearance to secure the tickets (around 4.00am.) for a Safari at 5.30am. The lodge staff, all put in maximum effort, to ensure we obtained the park day tickets and that we had a most enjoyable visit.

Overall I would highly recommend the lodge, and having observed other lodges in the area we were very happy with our choice.

Room Tip: The tent rooms are very good and all have AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhubarb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

It is a long drive from Chandigarh to Bandhavgarh but I guess it is worth all the trouble. Having experienced Asian Adventure's marvelous property in Jageshwar (Uttaranchal), I was determined to experience more properties in their bouquet. That the property is slightly away helps in getting a more authentic feel to ones jungle stay.
The oval shaped cottages are spacious and well designed. The grass and jungle around are left untouched and thus gives a feel of being in a jungle rather than in a resort. The dining area is fabulously designed with multiple choices of sitting. We spent hours there with the books that one can pick from the small library in the dining.
Though not elaborate, the food was good. And the kitchen staff is ever keen to dish out something of your liking.
The staff was kind and attentive. Local staff took pride in taking us on a walk to the local village.
Being January, the heavy fog that descended in the jungle hindered us in sighting the big cat. But being jungle enthusiasts rather than tiger centric, we enjoyed the animal and bird life during our three night stay.
Over all, a great experience and would love to visit again, hopefully in monsoon next time.

Room Tip: Both the cottages and tents are well designed and spacious. Choose any - you will not go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJAYSUD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

more than a review i call this a letter of appreciation for - abhimanyu, deepak and whole support staff of monsoon forest.

Apart from the great location and property, best thing about the monsoon forest is their hospitality with personal touch. Rooms were done tastefully. Abhimanyu and Deepak is a great team. While abhimanyu looks after all the things related to outdoor, Deepak make sure that every demand of a guest must be fulfilled with promptness inside the property. They along with the support staff make sure that there will be dull moment.

Now about the property:
overall very calm and serene place. You can see the bandhavgarh hill from courtyard. Place is frequently visited by birds like pond heron, kingfisher and occasionally by wild boars. A small library is also there, you can spend hours reading those books in complete calmness, while deepak and staff makes sure that you get tea at regular intervals. There are tents and cottages very tastefully done and WITHOUT television, so no artificial and electronic noise is there. Food served is very 'homely' with nice daal, chapatis and some regional/local delicacy (non-veg is served only in the dinner).

overall wonderful place and believe me whenever i go bandhavgarh next, i am going to stay there only.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiteshnigam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We spent 5 wonderful days here. The room was very comfortable and the service was very good. We asked for hot water bottles for the morning drives along with the rugs provided. We also got hot water bottles at night. Our driver and guide were both excellent at spotting wildlife, tigers, jungle cats and birds. Infact Sidh was a walking encyclopeadia with the books to match. The food was excellent. Had the most wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simmerdim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I booked my trip through Asian Adventures and at first wasn't sure what to expect from Monsoon Forest. The price seemed almost too good to be true. I learned though that the good price was true and a better deal than I expected. Once I arrived my uncertainty faded. The staff were professional, accommodations clean and comfortable, food tailored to your specific taste at your request, and the site manager, Deepak, was insightful and focused with precision to make sure the stay was enjoyable. The camp is only 6 minutes from the main gate of Bandhavgarh National Park making it an ideal location if you are planning tiger safaris. Swimming pools, birding opportunities at the location, heated shower, fresh cooked meals, educational videos, and internet access were just many of the amenities. I plan to return and will book my stay there. I HIGHLY recommend Monsoon Forest Resort as the place to stay when visiting Bandhavgarh!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We decided to visit the Bandhavgarh National Park for New Years and thanks to this hotel we have absolutely no regrets! Spotting the 6 tigers helped!

Recommended to us by a friend who lives in the area, we first checked it out on tripadvisor itself. Didn't have a high rating, but the reviews were great. The price was more than affordable and once we saw the hospitality meted out to us, I wouldn't have thought twice about paying more!

Abhimanyu and Deepak, who run the show are the most friendly and helpful people you would meet. Being a small hotel the property was wide spread, with the cottages being extremely spacious enough to fit 4. The location was lovely and it's right next to Tala zone, known for high tiger spotting.

The food was fantastic, they even made us little snack boxes when we sleepily walked to our 5.30 am jeep for the first safari of the day. The cherry on the cake was the beautiful, just gorgeous new year's eve they planned for the guests, with a bonfire, drinks and lovely kebabs. What a way to bring in 2014!

I'm at a loss for words on how perfect everything was - right from the rooms to the friendly staff to the beauty of the place. Abhimanyu and Deepak organized pretty much everything for us, even the playing cards we requested.

We have recommended this to our friends, and a few of them are making a trip there in March itself.

Bandhavgarh is lovely, we saw beautiful birds, deer, peacocks and yes of course tigers. You must book your safari and jeeps in advance. If you contact the hotel they can help you out as there are very limited safari jeeps allowed at one time in the park. The website on it is pretty helpful and self explanatory. So if you haven't done this already, please do. And stay here, it does not get better than this.

If you need any more details about the trip and how to organize please feel free to contact me here.

Room Tip: The cottage is definitely the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tala
0.8 mi away
Nature Heritage Resort
Nature Heritage Resort
#2 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wild Haven Resort
Wild Haven Resort
#1 of 3 in Tala
50 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tiger's Den Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aranyak Resort
Aranyak Resort
#1 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Syna Tiger Resort - Bandhavgarh
Syna Tiger Resort - Bandhavgarh
#14 of 34 in Bandhavgarh National Park
72 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pugdundee Safaris - Kings Lodge
Pugdundee Safaris - Kings Lodge
#4 of 34 in Bandhavgarh National Park
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monsoon Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monsoon Forest

Address: Tala, Bandhavgarh National Park 484661, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Umaria District > Bandhavgarh National Park > Tala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Tala
Price Range: £64 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monsoon Forest 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monsoons are considered sacred in India. At Monsoon Forest, we consider nature, the forests and its beings just as sacred. Experience this sacredness with us at Monsoon Forest, an oasis of serenity amidst acres of beautiful grasslands. It is the perfect base to explore the magic of the Bandhavgarh Forest, India's tiger haven. With breathtaking views of the forest, grasslands and Bandhavgarh Fort, our ten-acre resort is just a few minutes drive from the Bandhavgarh Forest area. We are a unique Indian luxury eco-resort with beautiful, air-conditioned cottages with modern en-suite facilities. Our indigenous design draws inspiration from the earthy mud houses. For guests wanting a real wildlife experience, we have beautifully crafted luxury tents and cottages set under the shade of glorious Mahua trees. Surrounded by grasslands, you can enjoy hearing various animal and bird calls and even spot them roaming within our premises. With us, you can enjoy personalized and experienced guided jeep and elephant safaris. Indulge in various other activities like Bandhavgarh Fort excursions, birding picnics, private dining, local village visits and reforestation project. Enjoy relaxing massages or a swim in our pool set amidst nursery and organic vegetable farm. We offer homemade traditional Indian cuisine and local delicacies at our multiple indoor and outdoor dining venues. On request we can also cater for specific dietary needs. We started out as a reforestation project on a piece of barren land, devastated by overgrazing and logging. We are a work in progress, determined to bring back the forest and to make it a sanctuary for the rare and endangered indigenous trees and plants of the central Indian jungles, one of the last remaining homes of tigers in the wild. Join us in promoting responsible and sustainable Eco-tourism. The park opens in mid October every year. This season the safaris will not operate in the park on every Wednesday afternoon but we will keep you busy with other activities and natural history experiences. Monsoon Forest will always be ready to receive guests and promise quality stay and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Monsoon Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing