We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort, quite a mission to get there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zitundo
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
820 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Lovely resort, quite a mission to get there!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Ponta Mamoli lives up to expectations, it is as beautiful as the White Pearl Resorts indicates. The food is also excellent, as is the service from Paulo, our waiter for 3 days. The management team (Jeremy and Joanne) are committed and nice people, do a great job without being over-bearing, they know that people come here for privacy and relaxation.

The spa is housed in a converted guest bedroom, this can be improved. They are building a fitness centre. As far as leisure is concerned, there is really no reef for snorkeling or anything to see in the water, rather go for a walk on the lovely beach.

They should consider having Nespresso machines in the bedrooms, as one is quite far from the restaurant, and it is not practical to order an espresso the bedroom.

At Ponta Momoli, they use the best peri-peri we have ever tasted. Wine prices have also improved since earlier reviews.

The only thing one has to warn people about, is the incredibly bad road from Kosi Bay to Ponta Mamoli, it is a horrible sandy road, and it takes an hour from Kosi Bay, very bad signage as well. We have never seen anything like this, fortunately were in our 4X4. Unless you know what you are doing, arrange to be collected at the border or air-strip.

Room Tip: Chalet 6 most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooggenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    47
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
78
189
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

White Pearl is the best beach resort in southern africa. Tucked away in an idyllic bay, it has everything you ever dreamed of. The cuisine is outstanding, the service is exceptional. Can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Living in Cape Town makes is very difficult for any other destination to compete...
But being picked up from Maputo with a helicopter made a very special difference. Arriving at the hotel the staff was already waving at me and gave me a warm welcome feeling. The long beach, the light furniture, the beachy rooms, the private pool it all made me feel at home immediately. The restaurant is very romantic with all the candles and luckily does not have a stiff fine dining atmoshpere. BUT - not comes the best - THE FOOD IS ABSOLUTELY PHENOMENAL. I woke up in the mornings looking forward to the dinner. Everything really everything is a new sensation for your taste buds. A simple tomato soup is just clean, fresh, and yet special. Starters, main course , desserts - everything tastes like sent from heaven.
The staff know your name from the very beginning and as my partner only arrived a few days later, they would count down the days with me until his arrival. I did not ask for anything but after we had our first dinner together and returned to our room they had lid a lot of candles, filled the bath with water and flowers and made a huge heart out of little flowers on the bed. Very sweet and a really nice surprise for my partner (and for me). To have a private butler is also very nice - you get a mobile phone with his number on and whenever you have a wish you simply let him know - but mostly he has already read them all from your eyes. I also had a pedicure at the SPA - overlooking the loooooong beach. Very relaxing. When I was there the gym was not ready yet- but I believe it is a good idea to have one there. There is not really much to do but to relax, go for a swim in the wonderful warm water and eat the most wonderful food. For honeymooners who need a bit of a romantic silence certainly one of the best spots to go to :0)

Room Tip: the rooms are all beautiful and they take you to your room and pick you up whenever needed with litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A wonderful stay at the White Pearl. Very friendly staff with a wonderful service
Own Arrival by car, 4x4 is required. The drive from Kosi Bay is already a little experience. Every day we were diving and the personal is very competent and friendly.
Thanks for this nice stay and we will definitely come back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durban
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

To travel to White Pearl Resorts by road from Kosi bay is very easy. We traveled there in March 2014 and found the border crossing a pleasure. Contrary to reports we had no difficulty in crossing the border. No fees had to be paid to stamp our passports and for temporary importtion of our vehicle.
Our advise to travelers to White Pearl not to worry about the border crossing, it is simple and costs nothing.
The stay at the resort was absolutely magnificent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy C, General Manager at White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review White Pearl Resorts. I am delighted you and your family had an excellent experience.

As you mention the border crossing is a relatively easy process and my team and I are always available to assist should it be required. You are correct in saying that no fees are payable at the border (for South African guests) except for the compulsory third party vehicle Insurance which costs R150.00 and is valid for 30 days from date of entry into Mozambique. The recent negative reports in the newspapers were outdated occurrences and things have changed dramatically since those reports were written. None the less we are conscientiously working with border officials to ensure on going high service ethics for all our guests transitioning through the Kosi Bay border.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the resort in the near future

Kind Regards
Jeremy Clayton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had a fabulous 4 nights at White Pearl. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The suites and public rooms are beautiful.. All the suites overlook the beach and the sea is warm and clean. Great



  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Did not get to go to this wonderful place as the reservations team acted in a very dishonest manor. We were looking at over 13 pax visiting from Zimbali and were given a rate for 3 nights or more. We changed our Phinda booking so the group could all go together only to be told that the rate had now changed for half the party who had not paid and we had to stay MORE than 3 nights! Very upset and recked our holiday plans! Thanks White pearls!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyZimbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD White Pearl R, Manager at White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is unfortunate to hear that you had an unpleasant reservations experience.
The team at White Pearl pride ourselves in going the extra mile for our guests, which was exactly what occurred during your initial enquiry. Unfortunately as your group shortened the original stay, you no longer complied with the original terms and conditions of the special offer with regards to minimum stay.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused and hope to still welcome you to White Pearl Resorts in the near future.

Regards

White Pearl Resorts Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zitundo
10.1 mi away
Gala Gala Eco Resort
Gala Gala Eco Resort
#1 of 4 in Ponta do Ouro
52 reviews
9.2 mi away
Devocean Resorts
Devocean Resorts
#2 of 15 in Ponta do Ouro
71 reviews
9.6 mi away
Ponta Gamboozini Lodge
Ponta Gamboozini Lodge
#3 of 15 in Ponta do Ouro
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Just in Time Prime Holiday Resort
6.6 mi away
Vista Alta Lodge & Spa
Vista Alta Lodge & Spa
#2 of 3 in Ponta Malongane
9 reviews
16.2 mi away
Chinderera Eco Lodge
Chinderera Eco Lodge
#3 of 6 in Kosi Bay
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli

Property: White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli
Address: Zitundo, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Zitundo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zitundo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli, offers the ultimate in barefoot luxury in Africa. Experience elegant simplicity at this exclusive beach resort set in the dunes of the untouched shores of southern Mozambique. On a magnificent stretch of coastline, tucked behind casuarinas trees, White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli promises to earn the reputation for being the jewel of the Indian Ocean. Stay in one of 16 exquisite private pool suites. All suites are ocean-facing with a private plunge pool, covered deck and outdoor shower. Inside you will find a living area, personal bar, stylish bedroom with king-size bed and luxurious en-suite bathroom. All suites are equipped with air conditioning and an iPod docking station. A room with a view! Stay in one of 6 exquisite private beach pool suites. These units are located on the beachfront with direct access to the beach. All suites are ocean-facing with a spectacular view, private plunge pool, covered deck and outdoor shower. Inside you will find a living area, personal bar, stylish bedroom with king-size bed and luxurious en-suite bathroom. All suites are equipped with air conditioning and an iPod docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli Hotel Zitundo
White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli Mozambique/Zitundo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing