We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
leicester
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We had a great time here. The beach was beautiful and the sea was amazing. Once we got in we didnt want to get out. The staff are helpful and advised us on the places to visit.
The food was ok, the breakfast was better, lots of fruit and traditional sri-lankan food to try.
The rooms were great, we had a little balcony to sit on whilst the sun went down.
Finally it was also great to see local wildlife - monkeys would come around in the evening and cause chaos!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chez09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    170
    90
    43
    28
See reviews for
133
181
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

From the minute we hit this hotel we felt we were so well looked after. The Manager, Patrick, brough us to the most beautiful rooms. The staff right throughout the hotel could not have been nicer but especially Vera at reception who was so helpful. We also met the owner Nigel, and he was a mine of information on the area whic was invaluable to us in our travels.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We didnt stay here, but just went in for some coffee while walking on the beach. Me and my wife are avid coffee fans and can easily recognize the quality. To our disappointment they served us with a cheap, local brand of coffee (harishchandra)

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank joerajeev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nilaveli hotels

sydney, australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at this resort in January 2012. It is definitely not a resort. The beach which is about 2 mins walking distance fromt he hotel is beautiful but the hotel definitely needs updating. The rooms are very spacious, but the furniture is outdated. More like from a charity shop. The staff are polite and helpful. The food is good. Except for the suites, the rooms do not have views of the ocean.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasdea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

the rooms are small and the bed are shaking and not clean toilets are old food prices are expensive go out side to the next door and have your food very cheap

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasont837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2012

After a tiring journey (safari and road journey), arrived at the hotel around 7:00 PM and was pleasantly greeted by the manager.

We weren't expecting 5 star accomodations, as room prices were quite low. The rooms were clean, and airy, although it could do with a furniture + bedding upgrade. The bathroom was small, but clean. Had an issue with the shower regarding hot water, but after informing the reception, they quickly fixed it.

The pool was big, and the beach was absolutly gorgous.

The only complaint i had was on the food. Although there were many dishes, the taste was bland, which was a surprise becuase of the fresh and flavourful sea food that is plentiful in this area.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay depsite the food. And was worth for the amount paid.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RasJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We arrived at the Pigeon Island Resort following two long days in the car, after booking based on comments on Tripadvisor. We didn't really know what to expect but our minds were totally put at ease as soon as we walked in. Patrick and his team gave us a wonderful welcome, with cold face towels and a glass of fruit juice as we checked in. We were given a lovely room facing the ocean and friendly smiles from all the staff.

The hotel is small enough to feel very personal - everyone working there makes an effort to talk to you and offer great service and it feels very homely. While it's got 'resort' in its name, this is nothing like what you'd normally expect from a resort. Apart from the block of rooms there's just a pool (very nice), a pool bar (staffed intermittently) and the restaurant area. Upstairs there's a massage/spa which we didn't visit and a simple gym, although the running machine wasn't working when we visited.

It really feels very remote due to there being no neighbours on the beach. As far as the eye can see up and down the beach there's just palm trees with no buildings. Cows graze in the field next door and occasionally wander up the beach, and a big troupe of monkeys paid our balcony a visit one evening (though the management were setting off bangers to try and stop them making a habit of it!).

The area of beach in front of the hotel is lovely and clean but due to the lack of tourist industry in the area at the moment other parts of the beach are neglected and have quite a few bits of plastic and other debris dotted around, which is a bit sad. I'm sure once Nilaveli gets back on its feet there will be more of an effort to keep the whole stretch clean.

On the horizon up the beach one way from the Pigeon Island Resort you might see fishermen from a nearby village, and the other way there's the Nilaveli Beach Hotel about a 10 minute walk away. We went here for lunch a few times and it's also very pleasant - it has a different vibe though which, while lovely, made us glad we were in the smaller and quieter Pigeon Island Resort.

The staff organised us a boat trip to Pigeon Island one day - during the off-season the water is often too rough and the Navy stop people visiting, but it's worth the trip if you can do it. While there's sadly loads of dead coral following the 2004 tsunami there are also hundreds of colourful fish and even pretty big sharks to snorkel with.

We ate at the hotel every breakfast and dinner, and most lunchtimes, and had a great meal every time. The chef and staff were always attentive and interested in what we thought of the food, and even put on a special one day based on our conversation. The jumbo prawns from the nearby lagoon really are JUMBO!

As well as being able to walk down the beach to the Nilaveli Beach Hotel it's easy enough to get a tuk-tuk about 15 minutes down the road to Upuveli beach, which is also very pleasant. The flashy Chaaya Blu resort was very welcoming and did good food - they also do great cheap arrack cocktails! They have another big pool and a nice clean beach.

Our week spent at the Pigeon Island Resort was wonderfully relaxing and we found it hard to leave. Many thanks to Patrick and all his staff for their great service! We look forward to returning and seeing how the area develops in the coming years - it's had such a tough 30 years but deserves to become a very popular holiday destination.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nilaveli
6.9 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,296 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sea Lotus Park Hotel
Sea Lotus Park Hotel
#4 of 10 in Trincomalee
243 reviews
5.2 mi away
Uga Jungle Beach
Uga Jungle Beach
#1 of 1 in Kuchchaveli
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pigeon Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Island Beach Resort

Property: Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Address: 11th Milepost, Nilaveli 31010, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pigeon Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pigeon Island is located north of Trincomalee, off Nilaveli, one of the finest beaches in Sri Lanka. It offers 43 rooms (A/C), including suite rooms all of which have mini bar, internet, satellite TV facilities as further entertainment. Some of its amenities include spa and fitness center for adults, and play area for children, reading corner, and a secure outdoor playground for children. Scuba Diving ,Snorkeling,Fishing, Trolling,Whale Watching, Dolphin Watching,Catamaran Yacht for daily rent out, Romantic Dinners organized by the resort on a yacht or at the Beach (through reservations) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pigeon Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pigeon Island Hotel Nilaveli
Pigeon Island Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Nilaveli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing