We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Happy Customer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Nilaveli
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was at the Pigeon Island Beach Resort with my wife and two very good friends of mine from 20th (Lunch) to 23rd (Breakfast) of May, and we spent our best times at this hotel which was filled with brilliant set of people who were attending to our needs carefully and happily, we were so happy with the nice place and their service which made us feel like home. Being a vegetarian me and my wife had issues when checking the buffet but the chef of the hotel was good enough to prepare us special dishes everyday and we were really thrilled spend our honeymoon at a hotel like this. Apart from the food, the hotel has a nice pool and a good view for anyone to come and relax. We booked a boat ride to the Pigeon Island through the hotel and the guide who took us to the island was good enough to come and snorkel with us and even show us around for free. The manager of the hotel instructed us about all the facilities that we are getting from the hotel and what includes in the package that we booked and he was so helpful for us during our stay at the hotel, the hotel staff even arranged us a special candle light dinner on request and it has been an amazing feeling to be at the Pigeon Island Resort. So for anyone who's eying for a holiday Pigeon Island Resort is the best place to be in Trincomalee

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TharinduKande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We visited this awesome beach place in Srilanka in mid May. The place wasn't too hot or too cold. Just the beach weather.
The resort is on the beach and a very neat beach and stay place. They have very thoughtfully designed the place around nature(big banyan tree). The poolside bar was my favourite place under the tree! The staff is very nice and they all understand English! Rare for Srilanka....
The rooms are spacious and comfortable, but can get a bit too hot during the afternoon as they have large glass wall on both sides. We didn't stay in the ocean facing rooms, but they have some new ones facing the beach.
The food was very nice and breakfast was very filling.... The room service is also very prompt!
We went as a family with my mother and a 9 year old son, we all very much enjoyed our stay.
The resort is a friendly and very beautiful beach facing stay option.
I would also like to mention here about our very efficient snorkel guide. His name is Khalil and he was the star of our trip. A very friendly and hardworking person! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ocean facing new rooms with big sit outs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garifly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We wanted a few days to relax on the beach, do some diving and have some good seafood. We chose Nilaveli after reading reviews/forums but perhaps should have gone to Uppavelli.

The hotel pool and setting is beautiful- only a short stroll to the beach (nb hardly any rooms have a sea view). The pool/beach staff were v helpful.

Our a/c wasn't working to begin with (and it was BOILING hot) but the staff came and fixed it. It was then cool if you left it on but if you went out of the room (and took the key) it took over an hour to cool down again (they left us another key -thanks).

With regards to cleanliness- yes, there are some stains on the floor/bathroom but it is clean and towels/sheets are clean.

Food was good (agree a bit pricey compared to other places but limited places to chose from).

Nb- Nilaveli is extremely spread out with only large hotels (3 or 4) and no beach bars/cafés etc. I'd recommend Uppaveli instead where we went for a day trip. Pigeon island was really good for both snorkelling and (easy) diving.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank CIW001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickrohan, Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feed back and we will make sure to attend.
thank you again look forward to welcome you'll in near feature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with family... I must say that I will never ever stay here again...We were a group so we had booked several rooms.
The rooms were dirty, the air conditioner wasn't working intone of the rooms. The laundry had charged me a total of 800/- extra.
They do not provide water at the restaurant.
The beach is beautiful...the room service staff was pleasant.
But the staff at the reception and the laundry staff were another story altogether.... Never have I stayed at a hotel where the management has been so unaccomodating.
Definitely not a place That I would visit again.

Stayed: May 2014
4  Thank TNMLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickrohan, Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

My apology for if any misunderstanding happened, FB (full board) means three meals only, All beverages, tea/coffee will be charged.

at the restaurant bottled water we charge if you don't want to pay, you can request for normal water where we don't charge.

Regarding the laundry: List is displayed with the prices and the express service policy also mentioned on the top of the page additional 50% will charged for quick laundry service, we don't want any customer to get cheated for few rupees.

feel disappointed after leaving the hotel and complaining on a travel guide,if you have a problem you should have contacted the manager and i would have given you free of charge.

because of freebies we would have got a very good comments from you on Trip Advisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We arrived at pigeon island beach resort from madulkelle with a brief stop at Sigriya.. We took a nano taxi which charges by the meter.. Drive was really long .. We arrived at pigeion island beach resort at around 5pm.. There is a muddy road that leads to the hotel.. There is no sign at the enterance of the hotel.. As we walked in i looked for the reception.. And then was directed towards a small table with 2 chairs.. The receptionist was too cold when he spoke to us..
We were quite excited to stay at pigeon island beach resort because of the good reviews.. We had booked for 6 nights ..But regretted ..
We were given room 308(as requested).. We were then taken to our room.. As we entered we were truely disappointed... We expected alot from the resort considering the fact that we are paying quite alot of $$$$..
THE ROOM was quite spacious with to simgle beds pushed together.. The room had a fan as well as an AC.. The room had a lovely balcony that had a partial view of the ocean and was pool facing..
The furniture in the room was bad there was a small little wardrobe at the side and a 6 shelved wodden rack next to it.. The TV was old school.. Infact all the furniture in the room was old school and distasteful.. The wood from the furniture was falling apart.. The fan made so much of noise when turned on that we had to keep it off..
The flooring had some terrible permanent marks that looked terrible..
Only the lenin on the bed was clean.. I do not understand why no blankets were provided .. I have travelled all over the world.. But was amazed that pigeon island beach resort called themselves a 3 star hotel and do not live up to the standards ...
We asked for extra pillow and a blanket twice as only 1 pillow was provided per bed and it took ages to come..
THE BATHROOM was even worse ... The floor was stained very badly .. It looked like foot prints.. I called for housekeeping to come immidiatly to clean it.. And they tell me its permanent stains that cannot be removed.. I dont think they ever clean the shower area and the area around the toilet.. So much of dirt and rust.. The sink had a big hole as drainage.. No proper amenities in the bathroom.. The toilet seat had turned from white to yellow..
However there is hot and cold water and the shower was quite strong..
THE BALCONY was never cleaned ever.. So dirty.. Usually when i stay with a hotel for more than 2 days.. I prefer housekeeping to come every alternate day to clean the room and replace the lenin so as to be a little enviorment friendly.. But at pigeon island resort i cud not do that because of the low hygeine standards.. I made them clean the room everyday...
The housekeeping would clean the room but would never bother to clean the balcony.. I had to always request them to clean the balcony floor..
We had asked for a small coffe table to be placed in our balcony and that never came and we didnt even hear from the staff about that..
The best part... THE BUGS.. The bathroom and the bedroom had huge RED ants.. Not to forget the cockroaches in the bathroom and in the rickety old so called wardrobe.. I opened the wardrobe and an ugly looking cockroach was there..
I thought of changing my room but all their sea view rooms were full and only the corridor rooms were available and they did not have a balcony.. And there is not gaurantee that the new room will be bug free..
THE HOTEL corridors were seldom cleaned.. And room service seldom cleared.. Our neighbours ordered room service everyday and left the dirty plates near the corridor and no one bothered go clear them.. They piled up for 3 days and became a huge mess.. There were cockroaches and squirrils.. Eating from there and dirtying our balcony.. There were even huge army of red ants in front if almost every room on the corridor...
THE POOL was huge and lovely and luckily cleaned everyday..
THE BAR was a joke .. It looks terrible.. And the drinks expensive..
THE RESTAURANT was ok..the food extremely over priced.. And not that fantastic.. The breakfast was average.. The service slow.. I had heard alot of the Sri Lankan ling coconut.. And thought i could get 1 there.. But i was wrong they never had any coconuts.. I asked everyday and the staff kept saying tomorrow it will come but it didnt.. How difficult it is to get a coconut in sri lanka???? They sell it just outside the hotel on the main street.. We had to go buy them ourselves..
The room service is even slower..
THE BEACH is well maintained and clean.. The water is clean as well... Very isolated only hotel guests cud be seen on the beach.. It had a good view of pigeon island..
THE LOCATION .. The hotel is quite remotely located.. Nothing nearby.. However you can walk to the main street to get a tuk tuk to explore the area.. The hotel also can call one for you..
The hotel provides bicycles as well.. We requested for for the bicycles so that we cud explore the area.. We were asked to wait so that they cud clean the bikes .. And we waited and waited and waited.. Until we got fedup and walked to the main street.. When we came back after an hour the bikes were still like that and not cleaned..
Anilana and nilaveli beach resort located within a short walk along the beach.. I would highly reccomend ANILANA.. Beautiful new hotel.. A little expensive though.. We wanted to move there.. But then our card had already been charged by the hotel and there was no refund..
Ther are quite a few new chalets being constructed as well nearby..
No much amenties nearby..
We had asked the staff to book us for whale watching and you have to keep reminding them.. They dont get back to you .. Atleast give us a response whether it is positive or negative it does nit matter ..
There is an open space next to hotel with lots of peacocks.. That was beautiful
PIGEON ISLAND is a must go when your in nilaveli.. Its a beautiful island with lovely corals just at the beach ..defintitly worth a visit.. Even though its so expensive..
The diving is not that great in nilaveli and quite $$$$
THE STAFF are nice but a bit too laid back and slow.. Alot of communication problem .. The assistant manager Roy is quite efficient and the only staff that is good .. But he cant be doing everything.. Even the head chef was very good.. These are the only 2 staff members really on their toes..
This rooms definitly needs a revamp and good cleaning.. And the staff some motivation..The resort shud not charge such high prices when they cannot deliver.. The higher the room rates the higher the guest expectations and if you cannot meet the expectations do not charge such high rates.. The hotel is not worth your money.. We will definitly not come back.. And will advise our friends not to stay here as well when they visit.. Very bad resort.. We stayed in b&b in sri lanka that were cheaper and cleaner than pigeon island resort.. With better service as well..
P.S.. We found this lovely small restaurant called cafe nilaveli just 10 min by tuk tuk.. The best sri lankan food i have ever eaten.. A must visit..

We then took a hotel taxi to negombo which was expensive too.. If time permits please take the inter city luxury buses or the express train that departs at night..

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Merleloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickrohan, Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

we are really sorry that if we have spoiled your holiday, after reading you review on trip advisor i felt sad that why you have not contacted one of our managers to attend your problem.
i am sure one of us would have taken action to solve your problem either to change the room or to attend to your needs. Now you have left the hotel as a unhappy guest. after leaving the how can we help out saute your problem!
next time please approach a manager, in-charge they will full fill your problems sorry to say
you have never approached us to inform your problem in the end left with a bad feed back.

Food: when you compare to other hotels we are the cheapest among others. you can't compare us with road side cafe of-course cheap and soon you can get sick.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Off season offer priced at rs 7750 F/B was a real value for money deal. Though it is the tourist off season the sea bathing in this area is coming on to season.
Place is clean with obliging staff & good food.whatever is lacking is made up by the effort to make things right & comfy.
The hotel is on a narrow strip of land & only the suites have a sea view.
Rooms r clean bathrooms clean except for the plumbing designs that should be re thought when the next refurbishment is done. The bidet shower should b fixed on the left side, tap under shower height is too low shower cubicle is not sealed well enough allowing water to escape .stray dogs on the beach might have to be addressed though at present it is not a huge issue. Would be good if covered parking is available.
On Hot days the blinds r not enough for cutting out the sun. However those looking for sun bathing this might not b a problem.
Boat service to pigeon island very good & reasonable.For those who love snorkelling taking a picnic snack might b a good idea. The oldest Buddhist structure is within 40 mts drive. & many more other sites of interest.
Definitely value for money mid range hotel that can be recommended.

Room Tip: If suites are too pricy ,Upstairs rooms close to staircases leading towards pool ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chand_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Having stayed at both neighbouring hotels I definitely think that Pigeon Island was the better of the two hotels. We had booked for 3 days initially and ended up staying an extra day because we were so relaxed here.

The pool is very clean and a great place to chill and the beach is unrivaled in Sri Lanka. There is very little development directly on the beach and there is also very little litter which makes the beach stand out for me better than Passekudah, Mirissa, Unawatuna (all overdeveloped).

Rooms are spacious. The TV is rubbish, we struggled to get any reception but it didn't matter so much because it was too nice to stay in watching the box.

Food was excellent. Breakfasts in particular were brilliant. Dinner was a little bit samey but generally good quality. Alcohol very reasonably priced for hotel standards.

If you plan to go out to pigeon island a 5 minute walk down the beach will save you a few rupees.

Overall an amazingly relaxing holiday. We booked directly through the Colombo office who were ok if lacking in knowledge of the Nilaveli/Trinco area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LankaManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nilaveli
0.4 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 6 in Nilaveli
473 reviews
7 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Nilaveli
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Nilaveli
500 reviews
1.6 mi away
C Beyond
C Beyond
#4 of 6 in Nilaveli
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pigeon Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Island Beach Resort

Address: 11th Milepost, Nilaveli 31010, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Nilaveli
Price Range: £38 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pigeon Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pigeon Island is located north of Trincomalee, off Nilaveli, one of the finest beaches in Sri Lanka. It offers 43 rooms (A/C), including suite rooms all of which have mini bar, internet, satellite TV facilities as further entertainment. Some of its amenities include spa and fitness center for adults, and play area for children, reading corner, and a secure outdoor playground for children. Scuba Diving ,Snorkeling,Fishing, Trolling,Whale Watching, Dolphin Watching,Catamaran Yacht for daily rent out, Romantic Dinners organized by the resort on a yacht or at the Beach (through reservations) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pigeon Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pigeon Island Hotel Nilaveli
Pigeon Island Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Nilaveli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing