We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a location”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Spent two nights with my mother in May.
Travelled on 4 hour tuc tuc trip from Passekudah.
This was a perfect end of our journey as I had wanted my mother to experience the quietness of NOrtheast Sri lanka and its most secluded beaches.
We found at this place an amazing beach. The little PIgeon Islands are right in front, about 1 mile away. It's a nice sight!
We were met by the very nice and attentive Dayan. He kept his good service and attentiveness throughout our stay.
Also we met Stef along the way, he was also veeeery attentive as we were trying to book flights, trains, checking buses timetables.
Manager Patrick was extremely corteous and efficient in providing us with a better room, after we found small issues with the room facilities. I simply directed myself to speak with the manager (Patrick) in order to address these small issues, and immediately Patrick provided us with different alternatives in order to make us happy and to make our stay in the hotel the best possible. We were very well impressed with his attitude and very happy with his offer for alternatives.
Mother had her birthday on the second day, the whole staff ensured her day was celebrated in a very nice way, a bday cake (very yummy) was provided and they made sure I made her a nice surprise.
The beach is amazing, you can spend the whole day relaxing, watching the sea, the water is crystal clear, with hints of grey blue... Ocean in May was very nice and quiet.
Watch fishermen collecting nets at dusk.
This is still piece of untouched Sri Lanka.
Food is very good, as it has been mentioned in past reviews. The maitre d' and the waiters deliver an impressively good service. The main chef is a very friendly gentleman. And so is the maitre d' and the remainder dining staff.
Try the tuna, definitely! So fresh, so tasty and cooked deliciously. Suggest a medium rare cooking point.
One can see the hotel management is trying to improve the hotel bit by bit, as it seems it has been purchased in recent times from previous owners. This is a positive note.
Above all, the attitude of staff is very positive and proactive, and this will greatly strengthen the hotel's success in the coming times.
First room we stayed was being renovated. Second room we later moved into was new and pleasant.
A final note to say that the people who work in this hotel are extremely hard working, they work long shifts and are still able to deliver good service and make a customer happy.
I reccomend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the beach, on the ground floor, they might be slightly pricier than the cheapes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eduardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    156
    82
    38
    26
See reviews for
123
173
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This resort is in a fantastic location with it's own beach frontage. They have put a lot of effort into the gardens and it really shows. We only had 2days there but will book at least a week next time. Try their crab on the dinner menu, great value.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We found this hotel well maintained if not a little run down. It was well situated to go snorkeling at Pigeon Island National Park (where we saw a decent amount of fish and sharks). The food was good and well presented, the property was constantly being cleaned, and there are some lovely dogs hanging out on the beach in front ( cutest puppy ever...someone should adopt him or he newly born puppies at the hotel across the road!). The hotel is not well oriented to see the ocean except for a couple rooms in front but there is a bar near the beach so you can just grab a beer and go sit on the beach chairs. Linen is a little worn but clean, and wifi is a bit slow. All in all a solidly pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: For a sea view choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was at the Pigeon Island Beach Resort with my wife and two very good friends of mine from 20th (Lunch) to 23rd (Breakfast) of May, and we spent our best times at this hotel which was filled with brilliant set of people who were attending to our needs carefully and happily, we were so happy with the nice place and their service which made us feel like home. Being a vegetarian me and my wife had issues when checking the buffet but the chef of the hotel was good enough to prepare us special dishes everyday and we were really thrilled spend our honeymoon at a hotel like this. Apart from the food, the hotel has a nice pool and a good view for anyone to come and relax. We booked a boat ride to the Pigeon Island through the hotel and the guide who took us to the island was good enough to come and snorkel with us and even show us around for free. The manager of the hotel instructed us about all the facilities that we are getting from the hotel and what includes in the package that we booked and he was so helpful for us during our stay at the hotel, the hotel staff even arranged us a special candle light dinner on request and it has been an amazing feeling to be at the Pigeon Island Resort. So for anyone who's eying for a holiday Pigeon Island Resort is the best place to be in Trincomalee

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TharinduKande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashik, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We visited this awesome beach place in Srilanka in mid May. The place wasn't too hot or too cold. Just the beach weather.
The resort is on the beach and a very neat beach and stay place. They have very thoughtfully designed the place around nature(big banyan tree). The poolside bar was my favourite place under the tree! The staff is very nice and they all understand English! Rare for Srilanka....
The rooms are spacious and comfortable, but can get a bit too hot during the afternoon as they have large glass wall on both sides. We didn't stay in the ocean facing rooms, but they have some new ones facing the beach.
The food was very nice and breakfast was very filling.... The room service is also very prompt!
We went as a family with my mother and a 9 year old son, we all very much enjoyed our stay.
The resort is a friendly and very beautiful beach facing stay option.
I would also like to mention here about our very efficient snorkel guide. His name is Khalil and he was the star of our trip. A very friendly and hardworking person! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ocean facing new rooms with big sit outs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garifly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We wanted a few days to relax on the beach, do some diving and have some good seafood. We chose Nilaveli after reading reviews/forums but perhaps should have gone to Uppavelli.

The hotel pool and setting is beautiful- only a short stroll to the beach (nb hardly any rooms have a sea view). The pool/beach staff were v helpful.

Our a/c wasn't working to begin with (and it was BOILING hot) but the staff came and fixed it. It was then cool if you left it on but if you went out of the room (and took the key) it took over an hour to cool down again (they left us another key -thanks).

With regards to cleanliness- yes, there are some stains on the floor/bathroom but it is clean and towels/sheets are clean.

Food was good (agree a bit pricey compared to other places but limited places to chose from).

Nb- Nilaveli is extremely spread out with only large hotels (3 or 4) and no beach bars/cafés etc. I'd recommend Uppaveli instead where we went for a day trip. Pigeon island was really good for both snorkelling and (easy) diving.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CIW001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickrohan, Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feed back and we will make sure to attend.
thank you again look forward to welcome you'll in near feature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with family... I must say that I will never ever stay here again...We were a group so we had booked several rooms.
The rooms were dirty, the air conditioner wasn't working intone of the rooms. The laundry had charged me a total of 800/- extra.
They do not provide water at the restaurant.
The beach is beautiful...the room service staff was pleasant.
But the staff at the reception and the laundry staff were another story altogether.... Never have I stayed at a hotel where the management has been so unaccomodating.
Definitely not a place That I would visit again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TNMLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickrohan, Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

My apology for if any misunderstanding happened, FB (full board) means three meals only, All beverages, tea/coffee will be charged.

at the restaurant bottled water we charge if you don't want to pay, you can request for normal water where we don't charge.

Regarding the laundry: List is displayed with the prices and the express service policy also mentioned on the top of the page additional 50% will charged for quick laundry service, we don't want any customer to get cheated for few rupees.

feel disappointed after leaving the hotel and complaining on a travel guide,if you have a problem you should have contacted the manager and i would have given you free of charge.

because of freebies we would have got a very good comments from you on Trip Advisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nilaveli hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nilaveli
0.6 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Nilaveli
141 reviews
6.9 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
440 reviews
10.8 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#4 of 10 in Trincomalee
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pigeon Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Island Beach Resort

Property: Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Address: 11th Milepost, Nilaveli 31010, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pigeon Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pigeon Island is located north of Trincomalee, off Nilaveli, one of the finest beaches in Sri Lanka. It offers 38 rooms (A/C), including suite rooms all of which have mini bar, internet, satellite TV facilities as further entertainment. Some of its amenities include spa and fitness center for adults, and play area for children, reading corner, and a secure outdoor playground for children. Scuba Diving ,Snorkeling,Fishing, Trolling,Whale Watching, Dolphin Watching,Catamaran Yacht for daily rent out, Romantic Dinners organized by the resort on a yacht or at the Beach (through reservations) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pigeon Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pigeon Island Hotel Nilaveli
Pigeon Island Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Nilaveli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing