We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff & management could not do enough to please & always with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here initially for 4 nights in June 2014. We loved it so much that we extended to 5 nights. Staff & management really made our holiday. Always so polite & friendly. Nothing was too much trouble at all. Excellent buffet breakfast every morning. Beautiful clean beach & pool which we used every day. Lovely clean rooms. We had a sea view room with a balcony. Only minus is it is a bit far out but really only a short tuk tuk ride. We ate all meals here as they were reasonably priced anyway & food was good. Thank you to management, Roy & Patrick & all staff for making our holiday so special. They even helped us to find accommodation in Colombo when we were leaving. Highly recommend this resort. Not cheap but you certainly get what you pay for & more.

Room Tip: Ask for beach view room with a balcony at front of resort overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliefong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great food, lovely staff. Beach was amazing with beautiful white sand and really good for swimming. The hotel arranged a snorkelling trip to pigeon island where we saw turtles and reef sharks. Food was really good and breakfast was a feast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aedane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This poor resort seems to be running on its bare bones. We travelled as three couples - on day two our 3 rooms were cleaned without any toilet paper being replaced - hence 3 rooms with no toilet paper - we chased up a staff member for toilet paper, it took a while for him to return with it - we have a suspicion he had to go down to the shops to get some! Rooms are OK, but as per the rest of Sri Lanka they need a really really good clean, new towels, etc. On our last day we had an elaborate farewell bed decoration - towel elephants, 'goodbye' written in flowers, etc - would have been good if the resort put that level of effort into cleaning, maintenance and upkeep. You would always need to ask for towels for the pool, if you asked, they would bring one towel, even if there were two of you, so you'd need to ask for another. On our second last day they closed the pool, as it had turned green, we watched them add chlorine, but the next morning, didn't look like it was enough, pool still didn't look good.
We went out on a boat trip using the hotel's snorkels, they looked pretty tired - one leaked - time for a snorkelling equipment update.
A benefit of this hotel was the aircon restaurant section - like many hotels in this area they have made the restaurant a long way from the beach, which is a shame, but there is an aircon area. The aircon area is reassuring for the breakfast buffet, also lets you eat in the cool - this is uncommon in Sri Lanka. We also liked the egg chef, who would make you egg hoppers for breakfast.
Watch out for the monkeys - they are naughty, but cute - we lost TV channels one day cos the monkeys moved the satellite dish! and one of our companions caught them spying on her in the shower through the bathroom window! Very funny!
The resort is on a pretty beach, it really just needs some money injected for a freshen up.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SampaulMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Spent two nights with my mother in May.
Travelled on 4 hour tuc tuc trip from Passekudah.
This was a perfect end of our journey as I had wanted my mother to experience the quietness of NOrtheast Sri lanka and its most secluded beaches.
We found at this place an amazing beach. The little PIgeon Islands are right in front, about 1 mile away. It's a nice sight!
We were met by the very nice and attentive Dayan. He kept his good service and attentiveness throughout our stay.
Also we met Stef along the way, he was also veeeery attentive as we were trying to book flights, trains, checking buses timetables.
Manager Patrick was extremely corteous and efficient in providing us with a better room, after we found small issues with the room facilities. I simply directed myself to speak with the manager (Patrick) in order to address these small issues, and immediately Patrick provided us with different alternatives in order to make us happy and to make our stay in the hotel the best possible. We were very well impressed with his attitude and very happy with his offer for alternatives.
Mother had her birthday on the second day, the whole staff ensured her day was celebrated in a very nice way, a bday cake (very yummy) was provided and they made sure I made her a nice surprise.
The beach is amazing, you can spend the whole day relaxing, watching the sea, the water is crystal clear, with hints of grey blue... Ocean in May was very nice and quiet.
Watch fishermen collecting nets at dusk.
This is still piece of untouched Sri Lanka.
Food is very good, as it has been mentioned in past reviews. The maitre d' and the waiters deliver an impressively good service. The main chef is a very friendly gentleman. And so is the maitre d' and the remainder dining staff.
Try the tuna, definitely! So fresh, so tasty and cooked deliciously. Suggest a medium rare cooking point.
One can see the hotel management is trying to improve the hotel bit by bit, as it seems it has been purchased in recent times from previous owners. This is a positive note.
Above all, the attitude of staff is very positive and proactive, and this will greatly strengthen the hotel's success in the coming times.
First room we stayed was being renovated. Second room we later moved into was new and pleasant.
A final note to say that the people who work in this hotel are extremely hard working, they work long shifts and are still able to deliver good service and make a customer happy.
I reccomend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the beach, on the ground floor, they might be slightly pricier than the cheapes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eduardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This resort is in a fantastic location with it's own beach frontage. They have put a lot of effort into the gardens and it really shows. We only had 2days there but will book at least a week next time. Try their crab on the dinner menu, great value.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We found this hotel well maintained if not a little run down. It was well situated to go snorkeling at Pigeon Island National Park (where we saw a decent amount of fish and sharks). The food was good and well presented, the property was constantly being cleaned, and there are some lovely dogs hanging out on the beach in front ( cutest puppy ever...someone should adopt him or he newly born puppies at the hotel across the road!). The hotel is not well oriented to see the ocean except for a couple rooms in front but there is a bar near the beach so you can just grab a beer and go sit on the beach chairs. Linen is a little worn but clean, and wifi is a bit slow. All in all a solidly pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: For a sea view choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderingWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was at the Pigeon Island Beach Resort with my wife and two very good friends of mine from 20th (Lunch) to 23rd (Breakfast) of May, and we spent our best times at this hotel which was filled with brilliant set of people who were attending to our needs carefully and happily, we were so happy with the nice place and their service which made us feel like home. Being a vegetarian me and my wife had issues when checking the buffet but the chef of the hotel was good enough to prepare us special dishes everyday and we were really thrilled spend our honeymoon at a hotel like this. Apart from the food, the hotel has a nice pool and a good view for anyone to come and relax. We booked a boat ride to the Pigeon Island through the hotel and the guide who took us to the island was good enough to come and snorkel with us and even show us around for free. The manager of the hotel instructed us about all the facilities that we are getting from the hotel and what includes in the package that we booked and he was so helpful for us during our stay at the hotel, the hotel staff even arranged us a special candle light dinner on request and it has been an amazing feeling to be at the Pigeon Island Resort. So for anyone who's eying for a holiday Pigeon Island Resort is the best place to be in Trincomalee

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TharinduKande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nilaveli
0.6 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Nilaveli
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
363 reviews
7.0 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,346 reviews
10.8 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#6 of 10 in Trincomalee
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pigeon Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Island Beach Resort

Address: 11th Milepost, Nilaveli 31010, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
Price Range: £48 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pigeon Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pigeon Island is located north of Trincomalee, off Nilaveli, one of the finest beaches in Sri Lanka. It offers 43 rooms (A/C), including suite rooms all of which have mini bar, internet, satellite TV facilities as further entertainment. Some of its amenities include spa and fitness center for adults, and play area for children, reading corner, and a secure outdoor playground for children. Scuba Diving ,Snorkeling,Fishing, Trolling,Whale Watching, Dolphin Watching,Catamaran Yacht for daily rent out, Romantic Dinners organized by the resort on a yacht or at the Beach (through reservations) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pigeon Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pigeon Island Hotel Nilaveli
Pigeon Island Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Nilaveli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing