We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sheer Relaxation”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

For someone who enjoys unspoilt beaches and pampering, Nilaveli Beach Hotel is the perfect destination.

I visited this hotel with my family and some friends from 4th to 7th April and had the most relaxing holiday.

From the very prompt and efficient check in which was handled by Mr Sudha, We were escorted to our rooms by Mr Fareed who has has been employed here since the 1970s

We chose the sea facing delux rooms which are tastefully decorated and is equipped with a very powerful air conditioner, minibar, satelite TV, coffee and tea making facilities etc.

The white sandy beach is perfect for children to play and the ocean was very calm with life guards on duty. One can not resist the turquoise blue water afterwhich a tropical cocktail at the beach bar is a must.

The very efficient and freindly staff were always at our beck and call and very accomodating of all our needs inclduing our children's eternal demands for snacks and soft drinks.

Special mention must be made of Mr Siva the restaurant captain who was always around to serve us with a smile.

We decided to stay on half board basis and asked the chef to surprise us with his pick of sea food specialities for lunch which he did to our complete delight.

Dinner was a set menu comprising fusion cuisine both eastern and western including fresh sea food and all prepared with attention to detail which is something that is lacking in many larger hotels.

The hotel has tennis and vollyball courts. A fully equipped scuba diving centre is loated within the premises which seemed quite busy with guests clammering to sign up for courses and to go on the two scheduled dives for the day.

We enjoyed our excursion to Pigeon Island which was arranged by the hotel in their modern passenger craft and snorkelling was very good with sightings of reef shark and turtle.

The only area which the hotel is lacking is a spa, however the manager assured me that the this too would be available the next time we visit the property.

Room Tip: Deluxe Sea Facing Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vish_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    177
    78
    32
    25
See reviews for
159
146
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
130 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

My first visit to this hotel and I was not disappointed. It had been rebuilt after the Tsunami and had clean and confortable rooms with all the required amenities (T.V, A/C, Mini bar etc) and in a great location with an absolute beach frontage.
This is one of the oldest hotels in the area and appears to be often overlooked in favour of other newer hotels closer to Trincomalee town.
It is a great place to unwind and the food and customer service is faultless. Hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roamingspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from 9-12 may 2013. Its bu far the nicest and affordable beach hotel in nilaveli. Staff is Nice and helpfull. Rooms are very basic, shower doesnt get very warm, there is a small fridge in the room, no mosquito net! The pool, and beach are just amazing and a very nice beach bar. Pigeon island view is beatiful. Watch out though for guys on the beach who will try to get you in to any trips( lagoon sunset, bbq on the beach) They dont deliver!!!! Just arange it with the hotel. Wifi is not included and costs 1000 roepees per day!!!! Thats ridiculous!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RensenEefje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Nilaveli beach is superb beach and the hotel is right on the beach. This is one of the best beaches in Sri Lanka and frankly one would have to try hard to spoil the experience. The hotel is a 3-star property on a 5-star beach, something that you do not find very often in this world these days. The rooms are nice, but bathrooms could use an upgrade. We always travel on B&B basis to try out the menu and we were not disappointed. The food and drinks were very good. But even as you enjoy the food, around 9pm comes a guy throwing clorine into the swimming pool just to remind you that this place needs some extra effort. We found the pool too heavy on chlorine, but neither did we understand anyone who prefered the pool to the beach. If you take the trip to Pigeon Island, do take hotel boat, slightly more expensive but the guys will show you where to look. You will be approached by locals who will do the thing for $3 less but they will only drop you off at the island and give you some very depreciated rubber masks to explore the amazing reefs. Our suggestion is actually to buy your own snorkeling gear in Trinco or elsewhere. The hotel snorkelling offering is just as bad.

The staff is very nice and helpful. Checkin and checkout not as quick and smooth as on the Negombo coast, checkout actually involved 4 people talking for 7 minutes to each other until we had to ask if there was a problem. There wasn't. Our understanding is that Tangerine Tours is now in charge of the property and is doing a lot to upgrade it. The beach restaurant is a most welcome addition.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The range of reviews of the Nilaveli Beach made me a bit nervous but in the event we enjoyed every aspect of this lovely place. From our rooms all we could see was the beach and sea through the trees - and the Beach Restaurant in the distance. The staff - from the room cleaner to the pool attendant to the waiters in the Beach Bar and Restaurant - were almost faultless. Responsive, kind and a bit fun too. The Reception staff very helpful and friendly - be it finding a doctor or booking a tuk tuk or joining us for a trip to the lagoon which was quite lovely. Thanks to Raj and Suda! They also boast the only female waiter we saw in our three week, six hotel, stay in Sri Lanka!
We ate and drank each lunch time and evening in the Beach Restaurant and the food - either European or Sri Lankan was very good. Big enough menu for our six night stay and freshly prepared and well served. Prices reasonable - and menu list them inclusive of service and all taxes - a big help. And they were always prepared to turn the music right down when asked!
The hotel grounds are very large so whether you want to lie by the pool or looking out to sea lots of sunbeds giving you plenty of options. Cushions and towels generously supplied! As everywhere dogs, and one spoilt cat, were in evidence - a delight to watch and they never bother you. The number of chipmunks (?) another delight - they are such fun to watch. There are monkeys but the hotel staff are adept at scaring them off.
Our rooms (1 + 2) very comfortable - armchairs and a sofa in each - and the option of a fan or a/c. Terrace chairs and tables too.
Getting to the Nilaveli Beach is a bit of a trek - but the road from Dambulla to Trinomalee is new and good so well worth it for being in a hotel which is unpretentious, well designed (in places built round mature trees) and so peaceful and lovely.It's not high end luxury - no spas or fitness rooms - but similarly it's not one of those standard, 'international' hotels either. Many of the guests while we were there were Sri Lankan which made for some more interesting chats than you tend to have with fellow foreign tourists.
We'd go back very soon if we could.

Room Tip: 1 and 2 were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2013

It was a wonderful experience, but seriously if you want great sea food srilanka is the place to go, the beach and the pigeons island was amazing.I did alot of snorkeling, the food was awesome and a great place for a bonfire under the starry nights,caught a few shooting stars.

Room Tip: The rooms just above the restaurant, has a beautiful view! specially the early morning sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wathma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This hotel is located along way from Trincomalee town and very close to the beach. It has some good rooms and great facilities. I have to say the quality has decreased since I last visited, before the tsunami, in 2003. You'd think it should be better but the the food variety and choices have decreased. Maybe it's because of the Sinhala New Year but I was not pleased. There are some serious cost cutting measures, such as how they serve the sausages, bacon and prawns in a separate place away from the buffet. They take use of our timidness and shyness to cut prices. But you'll have to agree what they have done is good for our health.

Let's forget about that, the rooms are really good, the pool is amazing and the beach, awesome! The staff is very friendly and helpful (yet a bit forgetful) at times. They also provide boat rides to Pigeon Island( a place that is a total waste of money).

If I was to start from the time I entered the hotel it goes like this;
You enter and see if your booked room are available. Then accept the welcome dink, an ice tea which I totally hated (there was an ant in one of our glasses + Nobody drank the tea to the end).
Then you are led to the room, which is really good, and the staff bring our bags to the room.
In the evening you go to the pool and enjoy your self until you begin to wrinkle and come out.
Wait till dinner.
Dinner is opened and the least expected arrives, a dreadful choice of food! In-fact I heard many people complaining to them self what a small choice it was.
Eat your dinner and go to the room, watch some Cable TV and set off to a great undisturbed sleep!
At 7:30 in morning breakfast starts. You go to dining hall and again a limited breakfast. (there wasn't even baked beans. Sausages and bacon as I said before served outside)
Then take part in their great choice of activities!

So now I've given a time table of the Nilaveli Beach hotel. I've given the 4**** star rating for other factors such as staff and facilities.

Room Tip: Select Deluxe room type 2 for great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thisath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nilaveli
1.1 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Nilaveli
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
431 reviews
6.4 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
6.4 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nagenahira Beach Villas
Nagenahira Beach Villas
#1 of 24 in Nilaveli
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nilaveli Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nilaveli Beach Hotel

Property: Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Address: Nilaveli, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nilaveli Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Nilaveli Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilaveli Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing