We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour 2014”
Review of Anilana Nilaveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anilana Nilaveli
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tour 2014”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This a plush American looking modern property n excellent service by the staff!!! Our room(love the pool chalet)needed more furniture, the chef was accommodating but has some way to go! Just opened 3 months n if they get their act together by Dec they should be full. I will definitely come back 31st night should be a blast if no Rain!!! Pls get more AC in your dining cum pool cum lobby area!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TariqTrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHP9477, General Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for the feedback, we will certainly address the points you have raised.

Regards
Anilana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    105
    61
    23
    11
See reviews for
145
201
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Anilana Nilaveli is a brand new resort with a very nice team of people managing the property. The booking office in Colombo made a mistake when we reserved our rooms and we did not realize it until we arrived at the hotel. The resort manager Don Samarasekara did everything in his power to resolve the problem to our satisfaction. Joseph the chef was great, when we mentioned there were a few Sri Lankan dishes missing from the buffet, his team made them quickly for us.

The rooms are very nice and the two pools are perfect. We also took a boat ride to pigeon island for some of the best snorkeling we have seen in SL. We will definitely go back to Anilana Nilaveli during our next visit to Sri Lanka.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank The_Lankan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHP9477, General Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for visiting Anilana Nilaveli and for taking the time to provide such a positive review. Both Don and Chef Joe are very committed to providing warm and friendly hospitality as is the whole team. We have taken note of your comments and shared these with the team.

Thank you

Regards
Anilana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Great location and new modern hotel but it fell short. I think the hotel is still a work in progress. The spacious rooms only had a bed and probably need some lounge chairs. Not enough beach chairs or pool chairs. The pool is completely exposed and needs some landscaping including trees. The fresh custom cooked seafood with the dinner buffet was amazing but the other prepared items were average. Hopefully, with time this hotel will work it's way up to a 4 star standard.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canasean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHP9477, General Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for staying with Anilana and for taking time to provide us with a review.

We appreciate your comments

Regards
Anilana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel is directly located at the beach. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The staff is helpful and friendly. Most importantly the chef is very nice, generous, and always ready to cook any meal you want. We will definitely come back :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayousha85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHP9477, General Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for staying with Anilana Nilaveli and for taking the time to provide us with a review. The staff of the hotel have been working very hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and we provide them with service levels they expect, so such positive feedback is greatly appreciated.

We are indeed very fortunate to have Chef Joe and his culinary team with us, they have been receiving quite positive feedback about the high quality of food.

We will look forward to welcoming you back SOON!!!

Regards
Anilana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Brand new hotel with a very good location.
It is located in front of pigeon island (perfect for snorkeling)

Amazing swimming pools, spacious room with sea view.
The staff is very nice but some of them are not very experimented.

The restaurant has a good choice of Sri-Lankan food (and it is very tasty).

To be improved: develop and preserve the wild file in order to enjoy a stay closer to the nature.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHP9477, General Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Anilana Nilaveli and for taking the time to provide us with such a positive review. We are very happy to hear that your stay was a happy one. We endeavour to protect our natural environment, our menus feature sustainable sources of food items and fresh, healthy products. We work closely with the wildlife department to ensure the proper preservation of Pigeon Island, upkeep of the beach and surrounding areas.

Regards
Anilana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at Anilana Nilaveli during it's soft open period in May 2014 . It was a fantastic stay! Even though the resort was not fully operational at that point the staff were so attentive to our every need. The food - personalised by the chef and his staff- was also amazing, creating all kinds of delicious sri lankan meals for us ( the best of our trip actually). The pools were also nice - a little warm but long enough to do laps in of a morning. It looks like there will also be a great roof top bar and restaurant as well as a spa that we are looking forward to coming back and seeing in the next few years. The beach is also a lot nicer than some of the ones further down south in my opinion - clean and hardly anyone on it! Oh and if you get a chance it is well worth doing the trip over to pigeon island right out the front. A great variety of reef fish and friendly reef sharks to snorkel with :) thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themindfultraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHP9477, General Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for staying at Anilana Nilaveli, and for your positive review, we very much appreciate your kind comments. We have been working on producing authentic and delicious home cooked Sri Lankan food, so Chef and the culinary team will all be pleased to read your comment.

Come back soon to see the progress we have made since May!!

Regards
Anilana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

If you want total relax in a classy hotel on a beautiful beach this is the place to be.
We had lovely rooms by the pool and enjoyed our stay very much.
A very kind and proffesional manager paid attention to our well beeing.
Reccomended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwayMale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHP9477, General Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Anilana Nilaveli and for taking the time to provide us with such a review, we are very grateful. The entire team has been working very hard to position this new hotel properly and provide the level of hospitality we want to introduce for this hotel.

We would love to welcome you back to the hotel before too long so you can see the progress our team is making.

Thank you again

Regards
Anilana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nilaveli
1.0 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Nilaveli
157 reviews
6.5 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
460 reviews
5.6 mi away
Uga Jungle Beach
Uga Jungle Beach
#1 of 1 in Kuchchaveli
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anilana Nilaveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anilana Nilaveli

Property: Anilana Nilaveli
Address: Irrakkandy, Nilaveli 31010, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anilana Nilaveli 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Open land of the Moonshine, also known as Nilaveli. Located in one of the best beaches in the world, Our sophisticated and serene guests rooms feature colonial artifacts, white granite baths and candlelit corridors. Our tropical landscaped gardens feature 2 large swimming pools – each pool 21 meters in length, leading and directing you toward a tranquil beach with clear blue skies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Anilana Nilaveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anilana Nilaveli Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing