We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience! Must visit hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kasol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Himalayan Village
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great hotel with a different kind of concept. Very nice and spacious rooms. Restaurant is buzzing with non resident guests thronging to the place. It's very quiet and the service standard is at par with a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you sir for the great reviews. We are pleased the you loved the location , food , services and our hospitality. We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a belated review, but better late than never. Stayed here for a week in the off season (august 2012) - booked at the last minute over the phone and reached late in the evening - swift check in and off we go to our Machan room. the views out of the room were great, the overall ambiance of the room was very relaxing. the river was flowing full with water since it was just after the monsoon rains, and the roaring sounds of the river coming into the room was just great.

Most modern amenities are available that you would expect, but what stands out about this resort is the hospitality and service provided by the staff. The food was also quite good - but for vegetarians options are slightly limited.

We arranged a trek through the hotel - they provided us with an excellent local guide who had a lot of experience and knowledge of the entire region region. he even inspired us to visit chandratal - but thats another story.

The area surrounding kasol is very beautiful with some amazing nature - if you plan to stay in kasol then this property is your best option.

Room Tip: Chose the machan room if climbing lots of stairs is not an issue with you...views are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you sir for taking out time from your busy schedule and writing a wonderful review . We are pleased that you loved the architecture , ambiance , food ,services and our hospitality . We are glad that you enjoyed the treks around with our knowledgeable guides. We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Excellency at par ! Best place to stay. Cottages have spectacular view.Rooms, staff, food, location everything is just super & very fantastic.The owner of the hotel is very polite gentleman. The best part about staying at The Himalayan Village is the hotel staff's cultured behavior. The place is about 45 mins far away from Bhunter Airport. Hotel provides guide & car facilities for site visits to nearby places like Manali, Kullu, Manikaran etc. Looking forward to visit this place again...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paramita_Subhadeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for the Fantastic reviews . We are glad that we could make your honeymoon special . We are pleased that you loved the location , the views , the food and found our staff to be very cultured. We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Being the number 1 hotel in Kasol isn't quite a challenge, to be honest. However this hotel will easily make it in the top 5 all over the Indian Himalayas. During all my previous experiences in this region, I haven’t found anything that comes close.

The hotel seems to be brand new. My room was very spacious, so was the bathroom. They managed to combine traditional interior design with state of the art amenities.

The location in the Parvati Valley, ca. 6km from Kasol is great too. When you wake up in the morning the first thing you see are snow covered mountains and the wild Parvati river. I used the hotel as a base for some trekking in the mountains around Kasol. All was organized by the hotel, so was transportation to Shimla. I always had the feeling to be in good hands and if you are on a tight schedule, it is good to know that there are reliable people who can arrange guides, taxis etc. in advance, so no precious time of your vacation get’s lost.

Regarding food: Only when I arrived there I realized that I booked a breakfast/dinner complimentary package. I guess I’m a difficult guest when it comes to food, as I don’t eat animal or white flour products. It happens often in India that you ask for the ingredients, but once the food gets served you realize that the waiter gave wrong information. This was however not the case in this hotel and the people in the kitchen proofed to be very flexible. On top of it food was delicious!!

I can’t wait to come back to this hotel. For serious trekking March turned out to be a bit too early, even it was great seeing cherry blossom in the valley. Next time I will try to make it in September/October. Nearby remote villages like Malana or Rashol, with their tribal inhabitants, was some of the most impressive things I've seen in the Himalayas so far. The Parvati Valley is definitely a top destination in the Indian Himalayas and the Himalayan Village the best place to explore it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasOneGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you sir for the Aaaaaaamazing reviews . We are so glad that you loved the location and enjoyed the snow mountain views and the gurgling Parvati river by the resort. We are pleased that you loved the services , the food , the ambiance. The resort is 5 yrs old now but has been maintained to look brand new. We are happy that you appreciated the arrangements of you trek by our travel desk . We look forward to hosting you again in sept -oct for more treks in this beautiful Parvati valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hotel is one of the best I ever stayed in last so many years !
Great architecture, ambiance, food, staff, location, rooms, bathrooms, every, every thing is just great. The location is far from maddening crowd of Kullu and manali and from here you can visit sites of these towns and come back here.

Room Tip: choose cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vidhata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you sir for such encouraging reviews. We are glad that you found us one of the best hotels you have stayed in and you loved our location , services , cottages , ambiance and the offbeat location away from the maddening crowds. We look forward to hosting you gaian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Must stay at place! The owner is a really nice person! The place is so beautiful and close by to famous treks. The only issue is since its a little far away from kasol (5 min drive) you do need transport to get around. But still the place, the food, etc is all of top quality!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank deepbleusee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you sir for the wonderful reviews . We are glad that you found the place excellent , loved the location , food , our services . We look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

It was a wonderful experience stay at the Himalayan village property. Everything was great (Food, Service, Location & Staff). The nature walk on the last day was a great stuff. Looking forward for another stay soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIRahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you sir for the amazing reviews . We are glad that we could make your stay memorable and you loved the location , the ambiance , the services , our hospitality , the food. We look forward to hosting you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasol
7 mi away
Apple Valley Resort
Apple Valley Resort
#1 of 1 in Mohal
106 reviews
11.5 mi away
LaRiSa Resort
LaRiSa Resort
#1 of 3 in Haripur
280 reviews
11.6 mi away
Tall Trees Resort
Tall Trees Resort
#2 of 3 in Haripur
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Heritage Village Resort
1.6 mi away
Parvati Kuteer
Parvati Kuteer
#1 of 21 in Kasol
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parvati Woods Cottage
Parvati Woods Cottage
#2 of 21 in Kasol
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Himalayan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Himalayan Village

Address: Doonkara | Parvati Valley, Kasol 175105, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Kasol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasol
Price Range: £97 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made in very old architecture called Kathkunia style (without cement with mud plastered interiors). An eco-friendly resort. The resort is surrounded by pine and fir jungles, rivers. Has traditional Machans structures at 40-60 above the ground. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing