We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality pub grub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chequers Inn

Chequers Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Well
Attraction details
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Quality pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Atmospheric old pub serving above average quality food. Not cheap but decent value. Mid week lunch parking OK, but could see a problem at other times.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bob3747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    16
    16
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Sutton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Huge parking problem, poor locals”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

A successful landlord, but also a greedy one. I feel so sorry for the local inhabitants of Well who are being squeezed by the uncontrolled parking all over the hamlet. Local landowner forbids the use of 'his' car park opposite, unless The Chequers pay a hefty fee, but still frequents the pub and thinks he owns the place. With the summer coming and more tables being made available in the garden, the roads in and out of Well will be completely blocked. Hope no-one needs an ambulance or a fire engine! There should be a limit to the number of patrons who can be accommodated at one time, bearing in mind the narrow lanes and lack of parking.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Meriel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not worth the effort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Ate here on Saturday 15 March 14. I did not realise at the time that the pub was now run by the Vienna Farnham owners. Service very sporadic, started off with only one menu between four. I guess the lady she who took our order was the owner who was abrupt to the point of rudeness, I nearly got up and walked out there and then. Food no more that satisfactory. I will not be going again.
It used to be a great county pub,with a superb pint of Badgers, now it feels very pretensious. They should look at how the Anchor, down the road in Lower Froyle, treats people.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Sheerline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Goodbye Chequers, you've blown it this time!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

That's it I'm afraid. We have persevered for years with the Vienna and now chequers. The food is always faultless which is why we have returned many times but feeling like an inconvenience to the owners especially the landlady has now worn a little thin. The eating out experience is about the food AND service combined so they need to wake up and make people feel welcome before the tables start to empty.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleet
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“most enjoyable lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

we visited on Thursday 13th as it had stopped raining for a while..The food and service were both excellent and chatty company on near tables made our lunch all the more enjoyable.
well done Chequers!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing