We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it”
Review of La Baleiniere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pargny Les Reims
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Baleiniere
Reviewed 16 August 2013

As other reviewers have confirmed, this is a wonderful place to stay. I stayed with my 2 teenagers. We had the suite Slany-with a connecting smaller bedroom that had 2 single beds. The room was large, with many antiques and had a lovely view. The parking was safe and just outside. Note- there is a flight of stairs to the bedrooms, no lift. Breakfast was excellent-fresh bread, croissants,pain au chocolat, meat, cheese, cereal, yogurts, large choice of tea.. It was a 10 minute drive into Arras (a picturesque town to visit) and not far from Vimy Ridge (WW1 memorial). I'm not sure whether the small swimming pool can be used as there was a sign saying private. We didn't meet the owners-just one of the daughters.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwissW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

I spent 1 night in the Slany room: very comfortable and huge. What a good surprise. The bathroom includes bath and shower. There is a bottle of water on each room. Patricia and her husband are great hosts and very friendly. I highly recommend spending one night is this quiet house. I enjoyed the glass of champagne in front of the fire. However, I was a bit dissappointed by the dinner which was not totally homemade (only the meat (too much done) and its maroilles sauce which was very good were homemade - starter, potatoes and chocolate cake were frozen or already prepared food). The quantities were huge even too much so I think it would be better to lessen the quantities and highen the quality. The breakfast was good. I definitely recommend staying there but maybe not dining there!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASetTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boubou H, Propriétaire at La Baleiniere, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013
Google Translation

Chère A.S, Juste un petit rappel concernant le dîner nous ne sommes pas restaurateur il n'y a pas de menus dans les chambres d'Hôtes il y a des restaurants pour ça et c'est leurs métiers! La table d'Hôtes est un dépannage pour ceux ou celles qui ne veulent pas ressortir jusque là nous avons été que complimenté aussi bien sur la quantité (car certains en redemandent un peu plus!) que sur la qualité. Effectivement notre cuisine est aussi agréementée avec du congelé surtout en hiver il n'y a aucune honte à ça car ce sont de bons produits mais en saison quand le potager a poussé les légumes viennent du jardin. La viande dans ce dîner un filet mignon pouvait être trop cuite cela arrive, nous évitons les viandes telles que l'agneau, le gibier les fruits de mers qui ne conviennent pas à tout le monde. Nous sommes désolés que vous n'ayez pas aimé notre diner car les autres convives ce soir là l'ont apprécié comme quoi les gouts et les couleurs appartiennent à chacun
Mais nous sommes ravis de vous avoir satisfait dans ce qui est notre activité les chambres d'Hôtes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Great welcome, great property, great food, great rooms (specially the Suite Slany!), fantastic lounge to relax around the fire place with a bottle of champagne included in the price.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Suite Slany is fabulous and has a communicating door to a small single room. Mum stayed in Room Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virginie_laplanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Great place. Close to Reims and on the Champagne trail. Owners are wonderful. Gave a great restaurant recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ralcrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Beautifuly restored family manor house set in a large, established garden. The manor house is nestled between the vineyards on the edge of a small village about 15 minutes outside of Reims. The grand old house has been in the family for several generations and is run by a lovely couple. The rooms are hugh with tall ceilings and framed by large windows with fantastic views over the garden. The bathrooms are large, bright and new.

The garden also includes a swimming pool.
The house is very child friendly.

I highly recommend La Baliniere and will return when we are back in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGS-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hervé K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Anne Laure F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pargny Les Reims
Chateau de Sacy
#1 of 1 in Sacy
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hincmar
Maison d'Hotes La Demeure Des Sacres City Break Luxury
Les Suites Champenoises
#1 of 1 in Tinqueux
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baleiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baleiniere

Address: 1 rue Saint Martin, 51390 Pargny Les Reims, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Pargny Les Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pargny Les Reims
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing