We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of On the Bay Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Providence Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
On the Bay Bed & Breakfast
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed in the Providence room, it was very clean and the bed was so comfortable! The deck off of the room was great too. The house is so close to the bay. Ingrid and Trevor were very sweet and Ingrid made a delicious breakfast!

Room Tip: The Providence room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaquieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East York, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Providence Bay is definitely the most beautiful bay on the Island. Around the bay, beyond the beach, beyond the boardwalk, beyond the marina (it's a long beach) is an amazing stretch of rocks that contain different rock formations, fossils and evidence of glacial movement. Very interesting if you're into that stuff. Staying at On the Bay, with Ingrid and Trevor, was a delight. They treated us very well. The room was large and clean, the bed firm and comfortable, the 'guest wing' provided plenty of space to spread out. Ingrid's breakfasts were delicious and featured local fare. Her understanding of the Island, and all it's businesses and sightseeing opportunities was amazing. Do yourself a favour and ask her where to go. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locarno, Switzerland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We recently traveled to Manitoulin Island/Providence Bay and had a wonderful experience at the "On the Bay B&B. Our room was superb with ensuite bathroom and quite large. Ingrid and Trevor were so welcoming, charming and helpful. The breakfasts were excellent, and more than sufficient. If we return to Manitoulin, we will not stay anywhere else. Highly recommened.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Some say the beach at Providence Bay is the best in Northern Ontario (why not call it - the best in Ontario). Our room (the Providence), has a beautiful deck with a view over the water. Breakfast is nourishing. Dinner is a fresh fish and chips shop run by two young guys or elegant dining at the School House. The B+B hostess will give you good tips for day trips. We extended our stay to three days, we liked the place so much- great for relaxing and reading books (even when it rains)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

We were traveling around Lake Superior and didn't have a set timeline, and therefore did not have reservations for most of the trip. We knew of the B&B and had the phone number and address. We pulled up unexpectedly and knocked on the door! Ingrid ushered us in immediately as if she had been waiting for us (this was on a weekday when most B&B's aren't expecting to have guests). Ingrid and Trevor (and Danny too!) are so warm and friendly. They were very forthcoming with info and advice about the area. Breakfast was wonderful and I tried peameal bacon for the first time .... yummy! The home was immaculate and beautifully decorated - just wanted to move in and stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Providence Bay
7.0 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
27.3 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
22.7 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Mindemoya Motel
Mindemoya Motel
#3 of 3 in Mindemoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cedarwood Lodge
Cedarwood Lodge
#9 of 28 in Manitoulin Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
22.5 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Bay Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Bay Bed & Breakfast

Property: On the Bay Bed & Breakfast
Address: 12 Mutchmor Street, Providence Bay, Ontario P0P 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Providence Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Providence Bay
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Bay is a family run Bed & Breakfast where you will experience the warmest hospitality and wonderful home cooked breakfasts. We are just steps from the longest sand beach and boardwalk on the Island that offers swimming, children's play ground, adult fitness equipment, fishing, bird watching, boating, star gazing, interpretive centre, hiking and more... We look forward to your many visits. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing