We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, convenient, and economical”
Review of Royal Park Lodge

Royal Park Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Park Lodge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Greenlane
Dallas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nice, convenient, and economical”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Large, lovely looking, room with King or Queen and twin, two nightstands and a back patio (but it was raining). There was a large round table with three or four chairs for breakfast. The kitchen, with burners and pots and pans, refrigerator, toaster, electric kettle, microwave, dishes and flatware was great. The modern bathroom was stylized with no shower curtain or door, but arrangement worked well to keep water contained away from walkspace to toilet. Desk staff very helpful with city bus information and with restaurant information (both nearby and on the way to the airport!).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadrunner5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    19
    13
    2
    7
See reviews for
9
18
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I would recommend this Motel, but only if you want a cheap rate, and an excellent location. Handy to Newmarket, shops and buses. However, the room we stayed in, (Spa room) was very damp smelling, with tired decor and dirty carpet. The bathroom tiles were cracked, and dirt and mould was in the grouting. The shower made alot of noise, but produced very little water. There was no bar soap, and no shampoo accessories etc. The outside patio was a disgrace - overgrown with weeds, with the table and chair was covered in mildew. The garden needs a good weeding in and around the Motel - not that it bothers me particularly, but tidy presentation on arrival is always good business practise. In short, you get what you pay for. For $130 per night I suppose we got just that. Will not be staying there again - will pay a little more next time to get a cleaner and more convivial motel.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the front and traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Greenlane hotels

New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

If you want a reasonable motel but not in the city centre then this is your place, quite, clean spacious, cooking facilities and the staff are very helpful. Only 5 minutes to city by bus that stops by the motel. If you going to Asscot hospital like I was its just down the road (5 min walk) and is a better motel than the closer ones. Shopping center also just down the road and the maylasian resturant on the corner of Great Sth Rd and Market Rd is a good place to eat. This is our second time back at the Royal Park and will be back again.

Room Tip: further of the road is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Nice big spacious room. Nice decor and bathroom is pretty spacious as well. It is clean, neat & quiet. I'll want to stay here again when I am back in Auckland.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agathabryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Had a bit of trouble finding it as Great South Rd is rather long, went the other way instead which led us to an industrial area. Receptionist was nice, gave us a room in the back away from the road so we didn't have traffic noise (the road is jammed packed during rush hour), room was very big, nice big screen tv, nice little kitchenette, large windows that overlooked next door's garden, bathroom was decent but had a lot of soap scum that made it quite appealing. The only real problem was the air con was very old and didnt work, the room got very stuffy even with the fan on high, made it rather unpleasant at night as we couldnt keep the windows open when we could hear the people on the balcony below talking. Plus side is theres a supermarket and fast food restaurants a short walk down the road. Would stay again for that price.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

i stayed this lovely motel for a few day with my friends as holiday~~ everything was awesome. first day we arrived, we didn't have car. so we had to hire a fancy car for our holidayl. but if you don't have car or can't afford to hire car??? no problem !! bus stop is so close ( just 1 minute seriously!!!)and even lovely cafe also is located next to motel. it is very handy to access most famous place in auckland such as newmarket, asb showground, motorway, cornwall park etc. how handy it is~
staff is very helpful and friendly. king size cozy bed, sky tv, FREE internet, tiny kichen and even SPA( i'm so crazy about spa!! so nice , deep, big and HOT) i won't hesitate to book this motel for another holiday. i highly recomment this motel for ideal location and great facilities.!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hwasoozzang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miaoli
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2010

The service is good. Once I approached the counter asking about the local area, the clerk was so sweet. A map is basic and a lot of personal advices were provided. Of course, I encouraged her to do so. I loved the big bed the most. The sleep was very good considering my bad bed habit. Ha. Ha.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowardChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenlane
17.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
10.4 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
8.5 mi away
Grange Lodge Motel
Grange Lodge Motel
#3 of 6 in Manukau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie
1.0 mi away
Papakura Motor Lodge & Motel
13.8 mi away
Greenlane Manor Motel
Greenlane Manor Motel
#2 of 8 in Greenlane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Lodge

Property: Royal Park Lodge
Address: 159-161 Great South Road, Greenlane, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Greenlane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Greenlane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Royal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park Lodge Auckland/Greenlane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing