We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place, people and food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Catalonia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrific place, people and food!”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Serendipity brought us to La Rectoria - and we are so happy it did. We passed this lovely masia and its romanesque church last autumn while walking on the Via Verde. As we had been looking for a place to celebrate a family birthday where we could relax, eat well and not worry about driving home, we decided to book. Roy and Goretti proved absolutely charming hosts - we had a really friendly welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Our rooms were warm, stylish and comfortable with lovely views over the surrounding countryside. The house is beautifully renovated with enormous care taken to preserve its original features. And the food? Roy is a brilliant cook - both our evening meal and the generous breakfast were delicious, using the best of locally sourced fare. He even made a birthday cake for us!
La Rectoria would make any overnight celebratory stay special, but its location right in the centre of so much excellent walking and cycling country makes it ideal for longer holidays. I would not hesitate to recommend it.
Thank you Goretti and Roy (and Sylvestre, Bismark and Dolly!!!) We will be abck.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceCatalonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Many thanks for taking the time and care to give us at La Rectoria such a warm and fulsome review. We greatly enjoyed having you stay with us and it is always a genuine pleasure to see our customers taking full advantage of what we seek to provide them with, a place in which to relax and enjoy themselves. Happy Birthday again and do come back for more cake! Many thank, it was a pleasure having you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
96
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Begur
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

If walking or cycling is your thing and a few days in the countryside is on the cards then you could try hard to find a better base than la Rectoria. The building is a converted rectory beside a lovely little romanesque church which is still in use today.
We went with friends who had recommended a weekend away and loved every minute of our stay.
The rectory was puchased by Roy and Goretti not long ago and has been completely refurbished to a very high standard so offers stylish, traditional Catalan architecture with all the modern comforts of home.
We found both Roy and Goretti to be excellent hosts, with a warm welcome and by the time we were leaving we felt as if we had stayed with friends for the weekend.
Roys food is excellent, we had a delicious supper followed by a welcome nightcap.
Goretti was very willing to share her local knowledge and supplied maps and suggestions on where to go and what to do tailored to our level of fitness an enthusiasm.
Breakfast was excellent a buffet of cold meats and cheese, fruit and pastries etc., with excellent coffe.
A major plus for us was that we could bring our dog. Our room was very comfortable and they had even supplied a bed for our dog and dishes for food and water. (Our dog of course ignored everything provided - spoilt - she likes her own bed best!) but we have to say a big thanks for making such an effort and making us feel so welcome with a pet in tow.
We would have no hesitation in recommending (and have done so) La Rectoria to our friends and hope this is the first of many visits to come. Thanks Roy, Goretti and Sylvestre.

Room Tip: We saw three of the rooms here and they were all great. The bathrooms are stylish with lots of hot w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBCBegur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Thank you very much for your warm and fulsome review. It was a pleasure having you and your friends stay with us and that you enjoyed some walking and the fine countryside we have around us here. Come back for some more mountain air soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calella de Palafrugell, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We booked a night away with friends. What a wonderful find. We arrived to a warm welcome from Goretti and Roy with fresh coffee and homemade cake. After a strenuous days walking in beautiful countryside we returned to our comfortable stylish rooms and had a well earned siesta before dinner.
The evening started with a pre dinner glass of cava in one of the two lounges and then a fantastic three course meal cooked by Roy and accompanied by good wines. The dining room was atmospheric and the service impeccable. After dinner we were joined by Roy and Goretti for a whisky nightcap. The perfect end to a perfect day.
Breakfast was served in the sunny dining room and set us up for another days walking. Freshly squeezed orange juice and a catalan style buffet with loads of fresh coffee. The hotel is stylish and well run, all you need for a great get away. We loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBSChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Many thanks for your kind and courteous review. The party involved enjoyed a good day's walking during their stay with us accompanied by some find winter sunshine. We very much look forward to welcoming them again at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed at La Rectoria over the weekend of Burns Night. Roy and Goretti had organised a wonderful house party with bagpipes, poetry, dancing and delicious, traditional Scottish cuisine. We had a great time, and once again enjoyed the impeccable service and beautiful surroundings of La Rectoria.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArranBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thank you for coming it was a pleasure sharing this celebration with you and all the ones at the party, we had great time and we will do it again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We had a fantastic weekend, and we discovered the Burns supper Scotish tradition, food was excelent, dancing and wisky tasting guided by Goreti was fantastic!! Apart from Burns supper, rooms were clean and confortable and the other meals cooked with great care by Roy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbalcells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thank you for coming it was a pleasure sharing this celebration with you and all the ones at the party, we had great time and we will do it again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

What a find! A chic country guest house with a professionally trained chef, locally sourced ingredients, and a warm, friendly welcome from Roy (the chef) and Goretti (his charming wife). We were walking the Via Verde from Girona to Olot and looking for a place to stay for a few days--we walked right by a beautifully restored stone building, La Rectoria, next to a 12th-century church. They showed us in and we booked a room for a few days later. I have celiac and can't eat any gluten--not a problem. Little did we know what we were in for: a wonderful, relaxing stay with excellent food, delightful hosts, and a night sky filled with brilliant stars. We'll be back as soon as we can find an excuse. On second thought, who needs an excuse?

Room Tip: Each room is different. All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeregrinaSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Dear Elyn & Gary,

It was a pleasure meeting you and it will be fantastic to have you back in the future.

Thank you,
G, R & S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Off a dirt road in La Garrotxa Natural Volcanic Park Zone, La Rectoria is a very special B&B. Goretti and Roy, couple who own and run the place, are extraordinarily thoughtful hosts, and it is evident from every detail how much care and thought they have put into creating this haven for travelers. The rectory has been restored with respect for the building's history but also with concern for comfort. We stayed in El Pou, which is one of the larger rooms upstairs. Our room was simply but elegantly furnished, with plenty of storage for clothes, a very comfortable bed, and modern, sleek bathroom fixtures. The common rooms similarly preserve the old structure and fittings but offer comfy leather sofas and chairs and a wood-burning stove (that I wish I had been better at helping to tend). Maps and pamphlets about the area are available in the common areas, and Roy and Goretti are very knowledgeable about the history and culture of the region.

La Garrotxa is a region with a lot to offer, combining stunning natural landscapes and beautiful medieval architecture and seemingly not that many English-speaking tourists. There was some bad weather while we were there but were still able to walk along one of the volcanoes and in La Fageda d'en Jorda (beech forest) and we spent a lot of time visiting some of the historic towns and villages in the region. We also made it out to Figueres (a little over an hour) to visit the Teatre-Museu Dali. The via verde path is just down the driveway from La Rectoria, so it's also possible to walk or cycle from there to the town of St. Feliu de Pallerols and further on. Gerona is a little under an hour away by car.

Perhaps best of all was returning from our ramblings each night to a wonderful meal. Roy is a chef and Goretti is a whisky expert and is also responsible for the fine selection of locally produced wine. Our dining experiences far exceeded our expectations and were an amazing value as well. The cuisine combines Catalan and Scottish tradition with French influences. If you are lucky, you will get the best sticky toffee pudding ever one night for dessert when you are there. There are also excellent restaurants in the region, and Goretti made a lunch reservation for us at a local place where we had a delicious and very hearty feast. But the food a La Rectoria was so good that we ended up coming back for dinner every night.

Breakfasts were hearty, with coffee, juice, cereal, cheese, sausage, and fruit on the buffet, and a generous basket of toast made to order. I think eggs and oatmeal are also available for an extra charge. Every morning, Goretti was sure to check in with us about our plans for the day and to offer suggestions. She and Roy (and their little boy Sylvestre) are warm, charming hosts who made us feel welcome in this extraordinary corner of the world.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dearest Smallfrog,

Thank you very, very much for your super review of our place. It was a real pleasure having you, we had lots of fun and we would much love having you back to stay with us in the future. We enjoy looking after our customers and making them feel at home, as La Rectoria is our home.

Lovely dog!! Bismarck keeps growing, or at least it looks like.
All the best for you from us three
G, R & S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Feliu de Pallerols
3.3 mi away
Finca El Ventos
Finca El Ventos
#1 of 1 in Sant Feliu de Pallerols
66 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vall de Bas
Hotel Vall de Bas
#2 of 2 in Joanetes
45 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cal Sastre Hotel
Cal Sastre Hotel
#1 of 1 in Santa Pau
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel can Garay
Hotel can Garay
#1 of 1 in Les Planes d'Hostoles
136 reviews
10.8 mi away
Parador de Vic-Sau
5.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Olot
Hotel Riu Olot
#3 of 6 in Olot
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda

Property: La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda
Address: Veinat de Sant Miquel de Pineda, 17174 Sant Feliu de Pallerols, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Sant Feliu de Pallerols
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sant Feliu de Pallerols
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda is a lovingly restored, family run, 12th century rectory set in La Garrotxa Volcanic Natural Park, on the southern edge of the Pyrenees 45 minutes north west from Girona. At La Rectoria we offer uncomplicated hospitality and comfort in the relative privacy, peace and quiet of our woodland setting. Our guest house is situated on the via verde cycle path 15km south of Olot and 85km from the Costa Brava and the town of Sant Feliu de Guixols. Set in a large garden with a swimming pool. There is also a small patio between the house and the chapel of Sant Miquel where you can sit, relax, read and enjoy an aperitif. The house has 7 ensuite (showers only) bedrooms, two lounges, one with a TV and two spacious halls. Free wifi is available. The dining room gives guests a wonderful view down the Vall d'Hostales where breakfast and dinner are served. At breakfast as well as teas, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice and the Catalan breakfast of 'pa i tomaquet' (toast with tomato), there is a buffet of local cheeses and cured meats, homemade sponge and cereals. All the jams and marmalades are homemade and there is the additional option of our 'Egg Menu'.....scrambled, boiled, poached and more! In the evening we serve a fixed 3 course menu (24€) using local produce where ever possible. All of the dishes are freshly prepared, reflecting a mix of the culinary styles of Catalonia and Scotland, the owner/chef's home, with a number of the desserts being classic puddings and all the ice creams homemade. All of our wines are Catalan. A bar menu is available and we stock a good selection of Scottish whiskies. We can arrange bike hire and for these to be delivered to the house and we are happy to assist our guests with advice on activities and things to visit, see and do in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing