We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as great second time around!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Catalonia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just as great second time around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

La Rectoria is a gem. Our second stay here was just as magical as the first, with excellent hosts, a warm welcome, stylish comfort and wonderful food. It was a birthday treat and everything was lovely - including the special cake. Thank you again, Roy and Goretti. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceCatalonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
It was lovely to play hosts to you again and so happy that you enjoyed your birthday celebrations here. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
91
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

From the moment I called La Rectoria to make our reservation, I knew it would be a great experience and I wasn't wrong. Goretti and Roy are so welcoming -- even though I called last minute for a birthday surprise for my husband, Goretti arranged for us to have dinner at La Rectoria, which was amazing, and a balloon ride the next day. Goretti and Roy have done a thoughtful, excellent restoration--maintaining the rustic charm of the old rectory and giving the bedroom and bathrooms an almost boutique-hotel kind of feel. The common areas are warm and inviting, and it's worth seeing the lovely historic chapel that is part of the property. Roy is a fantastic cook and if you're lucky, you'll be there on an evening when there's toffee pudding for dessert! If you're a foodie, enjoy dinner at La Rectoria one night and dine at one of the area's Michelin-starred restaurants another...we really enjoyed Cal Enric in nearby Olot. You can work off your dinner with a bike ride or long walk on the path that runs alongside the property! A balloon ride is a fantastic experience and a perfect way to see the volcanic region. La Garrotxa is wonderful to explore and it's only a short and easy drive from Barcelona. Staying at La Rectoria makes it the perfect visit. Thank you, Goretti and Roy, and we will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review and that you found the walks around La Rectoria a good counterpoint to our Sticky Toffee Pudding. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had a lovely holiday at
Larectoria .. Firstly it does not feel like a b&b, it has a very homely atmosphere, a great house.Roy and Goretti are great hosts .We spent a week with them and they went out of their way to make us feel at home. Our 2 kids ( 7 & 4) had a lovely time.
The breakfasts and dinners
were amazing, it was lovely to sit down for a great meal after our activity filled days. Roy catered for our kids fabulously and they enjoyed the brilliant food n homemade ice creams!
The surroundings are beautiful , great place to relax.La Garroxta is great for cycling, walking with plenty of things to do for the young kids as well.

Thank you and hope to see you again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your most complementary review. It is great to know that you and your family enjoyed you time with us so much and that you found so much to do in La Garrotxa. We hope to see you all again at some time in the future. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My girlfriend and I went to La Rectoria with high hopes, and those were shot out of the sky and replaced with a reality that was ten times more beautiful! The house is gorgeous, designed to feel like a typical old, cool, Spanish home but with glistening clean and modern bathrooms, an amazing kitchen, and the most comfortable reading rooms/salons. It is close to some waterfalls, biking trails, and small villages that are nice to be in. Hands down the best part though was the food - dinners at Rectoria are INCREDIBLE! The cost is nothing for what you get - its like getting a Michelin-Star meal for the price of a highway-diner dinner. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Many thanks from both of us for your highly complementary review. We greatly appreciate customers such as yourselves and are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us so much. Please come back to see us and good luck to you both for the future. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Staying with Goretti and Roy has been the highlight of our holiday. We discovered the Rectoria by chance having never heard of the Garrotxa region and chose it because it sounded lovely. It exceeded all expectations. Goretti and Roy made us feel at home from the moment of our arrival. After our first dinner we immediately booked in to eat for our remaining three evenings. Roy is a fabulous cook, extremely talented, highly experienced and who obviously loves what he does. There is a small and good wine list from small vineyards in the region with excellent less well-known wines, which Goretti guided us through. The Rectoria is beautifully restored, making the most of original features, alongside the best of modern bathrooms etc, a project which they carried out with passion and attention to detail. The Garrotxa volcanic region is very beautiful, and good for walking. We also had bicycles delivered to the door and cycled one day along the via verde, (the converted railway line which runs from Olot to Girona), and the next did a circular route - there are Romanesque churches in every village and rivers to swim in. We also made good use of the new swimming pool. We wished we'd booked in for longer as it would work well to explore Bezalu, Girona, Barcelona, and the coast from here. Best of all though was the warmth and care Goretti and Roy took. I was lucky enough to celebrate my birthday here, and Roy baked me a wonderful birthday cake (he did train as a pastry chef) on top of the usual very fine meal. It does really feel as if we've made some very good new friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
My apologises for not replying sooner to your fulsome an highly complementary review. We are both very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found so much to see and do in the area. You found us as we are and hope to see you both again in the near future. Many thanks from us both. Best wishes, Roy and Goretti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Thank you for a wonderful time in August 2013. Great house, location,fantastic hosts, wonderful food & a special selection of Scotch to end the evening. Highly recommend a visit & we will be back. Great location for road cycling, mountain biking, hiking or just a relaxing time away in the La Garroxta region & Catalunya.Easy access to Girona/Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
So succinct! Thank you so much. We do what we do and we are what you see. It is as simple as that. Come cycling again please, look around the area or simply relax here. It was a joy to have you both stay and do hope that you choose to return. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

One of the best B&B's we've ever seen. We stayed here for 9 consecutive days and enjoyed every minute of it.Goretti and Roy are the perfect host and hostess. They make you feel like they've known you for a long time and it feels like you're staying with friends, not in a commercial B&B. Roy is an amazing chef, going the extra mile to cook for vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike. And they have an excellent choice of first rate single malts.
If there's one place we will go back to any time, it's certainly La Rectoria. We fell in love with the place, La Garrotxa and Catalunya. Thank you, Goretti and Roy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
It was a real pleasure for Goretti and I to have you stay with us. Our selection of Malt Whiskies will have to be updated before you return. It was an honour to host such discrete and yet friendly guests and ones who very much appreciated the relative peace and tranquillity of the place. It is a great pleasure that you left here with such great memories of your stay and La Garrotxa. Many thanks and please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Feliu de Pallerols
0.6 mi away
Finca El Ventos
Finca El Ventos
#1 of 1 in Sant Feliu de Pallerols
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vall de Bas
Hotel Vall de Bas
#2 of 2 in Joanetes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
4.5 mi away
Can Blanc
Can Blanc
#2 of 6 in Olot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Olot
Hotel Riu Olot
#3 of 6 in Olot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel can Garay
Hotel can Garay
#1 of 1 in Les Planes d'Hostoles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Mas Pere Pau
Hotel Mas Pere Pau
#1 of 7 in Besalu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda

Property: La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda
Address: Veinat de Sant Miquel de Pineda, 17174 Sant Feliu de Pallerols, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Sant Feliu de Pallerols
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sant Feliu de Pallerols
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda is a lovingly restored, family run, 12th century rectory set in La Garrotxa Volcanic Natural Park, on the southern edge of the Pyrenees 45 minutes north west from Girona. At La Rectoria we offer uncomplicated hospitality and comfort in the relative privacy, peace and quiet of our woodland setting. Our guest house is situated on the via verde cycle path 15km south of Olot and 85km from the Costa Brava and the town of Sant Feliu de Guixols. Set in a large garden with a swimming pool. There is also a small patio between the house and the chapel of Sant Miquel where you can sit, relax, read and enjoy an aperitif. The house has 7 ensuite (showers only) bedrooms, two lounges, one with a TV and two spacious halls. Free wifi is available. The dining room gives guests a wonderful view down the Vall d'Hostales where breakfast and dinner are served. At breakfast as well as teas, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice and the Catalan breakfast of 'pa i tomaquet' (toast with tomato), there is a buffet of local cheeses and cured meats, homemade sponge and cereals. All the jams and marmalades are homemade and there is the additional option of our 'Egg Menu'.....scrambled, boiled, poached and more! In the evening we serve a fixed 3 course menu (24€) using local produce where ever possible. All of the dishes are freshly prepared, reflecting a mix of the culinary styles of Catalonia and Scotland, the owner/chef's home, with a number of the desserts being classic puddings and all the ice creams homemade. All of our wines are Catalan. A bar menu is available and we stock a good selection of Scottish whiskies. We can arrange bike hire and for these to be delivered to the house and we are happy to assist our guests with advice on activities and things to visit, see and do in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing