We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
62
9
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
9
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coral sea bbq area bbq facilities beautiful spot self catering piece of paradise vaughan chalet hammocks host balcony mate accommodation forest privacy daintree ensuite
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This place has two bungalows with magnificent views overlooking Cow Bay and the ocean. We spent many relaxing hours just swinging in our own private hammocks reading books and whiling the hours away.

Don't worry about the location. At first it might appear to be a little bit south of the main Daintree area but it's still in the heart of the rainforest. And it's up the hill from the water - which means you can't walk to the beach - instead you can enjoy the amazing views. And then drive down to the Cow Bay pub for dinner which serves totally decent grub.

Vaughn was a great host, nice and friendly to chat to, but also gave us plenty of privacy to enjoy our little escape to the Daintree.

The pool was great to jump into. Breakfast was fab.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Both huts are identical - and share the same views.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The title says it all. We were supremely happy with our 2 night stay at Coral Sea Views B&B in late Jan 2012. We stayed in one of the two chalets. The chalets are about 30 meters away from eachother and seperated from the main house. They are nestled among tripical gardens which overlook spectacular views of mountains covered in rainforest and the sea beyond.

Our chalet was quite sizeable, with a spaceious open air deck and two hammocks, where we spent most of our time lazing around. Hours slipped by as we swayed in our hammocks. We talked. We sat in silence. We watched the birds return to their nests at sunset, and the clouds forming over the mountains, and when dark fell, we listened to the gekkos and the rain falling. A lull fell over us. I can't explain the feeling of relaxation, other than to say there is no better way to get back to nature and unwind without substituting comfort.

We brought our own seafood and salad from Cairns because we wanted to cook some of our own meals. When we arrived, we were delighted to find a covered open air kitchen, bbq and deck area attached to the main house for guest use. We did however take advantage of the tropical breakfast each morning. Vaughan cultivates some of his own fruit on the property. His pineapple is superb.

Coral Sea Views is conveniently located just beyond Cow Bay and a short distance off the main road to Cape Tribulation. It's very easy to find - take the first left after the Daintree icecream company sign.

Room Tip: The Cow Bay Pub serves generous sized meals at very reasonable prices. I also suggest taking some food supplies to make your own meal at Coral Sea Views as dining options in the Daintree area are few and often far between.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priscbazaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed with at Coral Sea views in December 2011 for a couple of nights with our three children and had a wonderful time. The location is stunning and the beautiful wooden bungalows really compliment the spectacular scenery. Our children loved the pool and the wildlife that was all around us. We had an amazing electrical storm which we watched from our hammocks. The breakfast was really nice with lots of local exotic fruit and our friendly host Vaughan. We all loved it here and he made us feel really welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

If you're going up to the Daintree/Cape Trib area (and you should). There are a lot of nice choices to stay. This is backpacker territory. However, Coral Sea Views is a phenomenal choice. The two buildings to stay in are incredibly private, the outdoor living room and deck offer some stunning views of the jungle then onto the Coral Sea itself.

Vaughn the owner is a great guy who despite being in the middle of house renos himself, accommodated our early breakfast one day (so we could snorkel the reef), and provided everything we could need and more. He knows the area well so can offer lots of ideas if you're short on any.

About the only thing you should know ahead of time is that he runs on solar and generator. Which means no hair dryers (we didn't care) or no Air Conditioning. We were there in 33C heat and 60% humidity so AC would have been very nice. BUT we'll go back and heartily recommend this place when in the area. The mountain breeze did cool things off a bit in the evenings but the pool did an even better job.

Room Tip: Book early, there are only 2 rooms!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My Partner and I stayed here earlier this year (Feb 2011) not long after the Hurricane had swept through...
Although missing the full force of the tempest, there was significant wind damage to the Daintree area.
However....Coral Sea Views was still standing as was the ever helpful host (Vaughan).

As we had gone in the wet season...the Daintree area was fairly deserted and we were alone at CSVs and it was fab ; the welcome and attention to detail was all we could wish for and the weather was at times wild and electric and sunny and sultry.....

We can only echo the earlier reviews and urge you to take time to find Coral Sea Views and stay there.
If you can visit it whilst there is a full moon (see pic)....the night views across the Coral Sea are just sublime.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nixstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews