We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical paradise”
Review of Coral Sea Views

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral Sea Views
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tropical paradise”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This retreat is on the mountain side of the main road, and thus higher up enjoying an amazing view of the surrounding escarpment and mountains, abundant air and light. A morning read in the sun in one of the hammocks on the balcony is my idea of heaven. Vaughan was every generous with breakfast, including a platter of fresh tropical fruit and real coffee, and was an interesting and informative host. The only small drawback is no self contained cooking facilities, but Lync Haven about 5 mins away makes great meals. Their their beef salad is to die for, and so is barramundi and chips. Would definitely come back. Thanks Vaughan!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dincan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Thank you to our fabulous host Vaughan who made our stay wonderful! Vaughan has lived in the area for over 20 years and has extensive knowledge of the area that he is happy to share with you.

He was there when we needed assistance, but in no way intrusive. He was on the ball with breakfast and as soon as he heard your footsteps on the gravel path he was right down with all the breakfast goodies. He was also quick to point out the local wildlife - pythons, green tree frogs....

My husband & I stayed at Coral Sea Views for four nights and enjoyed the peace and tranquillity that the chalets have to offer. We loved the 'outdoor -indoor' verandah space and spent lots of time admiring Thornton Peak and the sea from the hammocks.

The chalets contain a fridge and in the common area there is a BBQ and access to crockery and cutlery if you wish to self-cater. If not, there are some great local restaurants nearby and Vaughan will quickly point out those that are best value for money!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Vaughan was a fantastic host in the most beautiful piece of the Daintree rainforrest. It was peaceful, relaxing and everything we wanted for a quiet Easter getaway. It was easy to find, close to nice restaurants and the Cow Bay community. A perfect location to escape and appreciate the surroundings and reconnect with nature. The facilities were very comfortable, my partner and I enjoyed the hammocks and the pool. Our breakfast each morning was fantastic with attention to detail impecable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

What a fantastic spot, tucked away on a hill in paradise. Beautiful views and the only sounds are the birds and insects. We enjoyed a night in one of Vaughan's chalets. We are regular campers at home in Tasmania but not often out in the open. Our daughters loved the open area of the chalet, one slept on the fold out sofabed, the other decided to snuggle up in a hammock on the deck - literally as snug as a bug in a rug, despite some tropical rain overnight! We used the fully equipped BBQ area to cook our dinner and enjoyed a chat with Vaughan and a couple from the UK who were staying in the other chalet. A continental breakfast was provided in the morning. This location was a highlight of our trip to FNQ!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFamilyTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Coral Sea Views is a must. There are only two chalets and the place is a little way from the main road. So I can highly recommend this to anyone who wants peace and quiet with amazing views of the rainforest and the sea. The chalets are very comfortable with an enclosed bedroom and an open verandah that does have a double sofa bed so could accommodate 4 per chalet. There is also a small swimming pool and a barbeque under the house. Breakfasts of fresh fruit and toast are included and the fruit is superb. Vaughn the owner is friendly and helpful. The setting is handy for all the main attractions on this part of the coast.
The main draw is however the view, which is amazing. My wife and I could have spent the whole time sitting in the hammocks and watching the changing light on the rainforest canopy. The sun rises were incredible. My only regret is that we did not stay longer

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank The_Healthy_Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Vaughn has two wonderful chalets in his beautiful garden close to the forrest. We spent the last three nights of our five week trip to Australia here and it was everything we wanted it to be. A fantastic breakfast and good personal service. Vaugn talked to one of his neighbours and arranged an exciting trip into the rainforrest just for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

What a fantastic spot!!! The views were amazing!!!! The cabin was clean comfortable and homely! The hammocks are fantastic but the best bit by far was the location right above the canopy which meant no Mosquitos evan when it was raining! The BBQ Facilities were great (very well equipt) we cooked both nights and there were plenty of pots pans and general cooking equipment to utilise! Vaughan was the perfect mix of friendly but respectful of your privacy!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
6.7 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
2.1 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.2 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
9.4 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Views? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Views

Property: Coral Sea Views
Address: 11 Mahogany Road Via Cape Tribulation Road, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Diwan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Coral Sea Views reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Views Daintree Region/Cape Tribulation

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing