We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
62
9
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
9
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoral seabbq areabbq facilitiesbeautiful spotself cateringpiece of paradisevaughanchalethammockshostbalconymateaccommodationforestprivacydaintreeensuite
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. A different way to experience the Daintree, absolutely beautiful views a great place to just chill out. And those hammocks, I need one at home. Thank you Vaughan and special thanks to your Dad for his delicious breakfasts.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This retreat is on the mountain side of the main road, and thus higher up enjoying an amazing view of the surrounding escarpment and mountains, abundant air and light. A morning read in the sun in one of the hammocks on the balcony is my idea of heaven. Vaughan was every generous with breakfast, including a platter of fresh tropical fruit and real coffee, and was an interesting and informative host. The only small drawback is no self contained cooking facilities, but Lync Haven about 5 mins away makes great meals. Their their beef salad is to die for, and so is barramundi and chips. Would definitely come back. Thanks Vaughan!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dincan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Thank you to our fabulous host Vaughan who made our stay wonderful! Vaughan has lived in the area for over 20 years and has extensive knowledge of the area that he is happy to share with you.

He was there when we needed assistance, but in no way intrusive. He was on the ball with breakfast and as soon as he heard your footsteps on the gravel path he was right down with all the breakfast goodies. He was also quick to point out the local wildlife - pythons, green tree frogs....

My husband & I stayed at Coral Sea Views for four nights and enjoyed the peace and tranquillity that the chalets have to offer. We loved the 'outdoor -indoor' verandah space and spent lots of time admiring Thornton Peak and the sea from the hammocks.

The chalets contain a fridge and in the common area there is a BBQ and access to crockery and cutlery if you wish to self-cater. If not, there are some great local restaurants nearby and Vaughan will quickly point out those that are best value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Vaughan was a fantastic host in the most beautiful piece of the Daintree rainforrest. It was peaceful, relaxing and everything we wanted for a quiet Easter getaway. It was easy to find, close to nice restaurants and the Cow Bay community. A perfect location to escape and appreciate the surroundings and reconnect with nature. The facilities were very comfortable, my partner and I enjoyed the hammocks and the pool. Our breakfast each morning was fantastic with attention to detail impecable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

What a fantastic spot, tucked away on a hill in paradise. Beautiful views and the only sounds are the birds and insects. We enjoyed a night in one of Vaughan's chalets. We are regular campers at home in Tasmania but not often out in the open. Our daughters loved the open area of the chalet, one slept on the fold out sofabed, the other decided to snuggle up in a hammock on the deck - literally as snug as a bug in a rug, despite some tropical rain overnight! We used the fully equipped BBQ area to cook our dinner and enjoyed a chat with Vaughan and a couple from the UK who were staying in the other chalet. A continental breakfast was provided in the morning. This location was a highlight of our trip to FNQ!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BFamilyTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews