We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Well Run Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our family called into Lync Haven to camp for a couple of nights. The moment we arrived you could tell that the property was well run. The owners were engaging, friendly, and nothing was any trouble. The camping has excellent amenities, clean bathrooms, immaculate grounds. The dinner and breakfasts we had were outstandingly good, and again the owner took the trouble to circulate and hear everyone's stories. the staff are well trained and friendly. Then the wildlife aspect of the property was brilliant, the Croc, Snakes and Roo's entertained our kids, and you can see the care and attention the owners have put in to make this a well rounded experience. I could not recommend Lync Haven more highly...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CraigSydney99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We went for dinner and were really impressed. We went back a second time and were very happy. Very friendly team and a great, simple and relaxed set up. You are in the daintree so everything is rustic. Don't expect 5 star luxury, but you just love the ambience.

We went back one morning for the crock feeding which is a great, small and personal way to see a crock.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our family started our three weeks in Queensland with two nights at Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat. Unlike anything we had ever experienced before, we were immersed in the rainforest immediately. Wallabys and kangaroos reside on the property, lots of different tropical birds and reptiles. We searched for the Cassowary on our walks but didn't find him. The owners Jody and Scott were fabulous and the food was the very best we had on the entire trip. Try the steaks! We would return to Lync-Haven were we to be back in this area again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had trouble booking our accomodation online and once we entered into the Daintree lost our phone reception. We arrived at Lync Haven after 5pm and they were more than helpful and very friendly finding us a cabin straight away. The food and drinks were very good and very reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and personable each time we saw them. Another bonus was that the bed was super comfy!! The experience of the park was incredible! We did the rainforest walk, saw the crocodile feeding and fed the kangaroos. It was a wonderful experience and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littletripper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stopped at this restaurant/ wildlife park/ hotel that's located on the south side of the Daintree Tea Farm, about 16km north of the river. After driving around for some time and not finding any where else that appealed to us for a meal, we stopped at Lync Haven. Both reasonable for prices of meals and accomodation, the portion sizes are also generous. The staff are the friendliest ive come across up here.

After being recommended to visit this place hidden in the rainforest, i would now recommend it to others. The food was fantastic and fresh and seeing the animals around the property was wonderful. It was great to see a modern place mixing with nature. All around, 5star and I intend to travel back to the area just for this place!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Along our drive in the Rainforest, we stopped at the Cafe twice on our trip. First on the way in to have a rest room break, and then an extended stop to have lunch cooked by our tour guide and served to us on the large picnic tables out back.

In addition to the cafe, there are some displays of birds, snakes, and kangaroos. It was quite wet the day we visited, and some of the walks to the animals were extremely muddy, and soaking.

Well worth a stop. I didn't stay in the rooms, so I will leave that to the other reviewers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeepBlueDives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stopped in last Saturday for lunch with our small white dog (who was on a lead) Before we could even get into the eating area (this was mostly outdoors with concrete floors and a pool sail) we got snarled at by a rude english accented waitress "no dogs"
So I took the dog and we went and sat at a plastic table out on the grass while my wife went inside and ordered. Not content with being rude once when our food came out we got snarled at again by a male waiter this time, apparently as we were sitting at the "no food" smokers table. We looked around and saw 10-15 people at most in an area that would hold over a hundred and no-one smoking. We gave up took the food (very very average) and went just up the road where we stayed at Thornton Beach. Lovely food on the beach at a cafe there and very sensible and welcoming. Lync Summary. Rude and unpleasant with poor food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JodieDiawan, Owner at Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Sorry to hear of your dis-satisfaction with your visit to our establishment, however our 20 years experience in hospitality has shown us that not all people think that dogs in a eating area is Ok so as to satisfy everone we dont allow dogs in the eating area we ask that you tie your dog to the trees infront of the eating area,so you can still see your dog and your dog can see you so it doesnt freet. this is our policy for dogs big or small.
As all eating areas are non smoking in Queensland we are by law obliged to surply a smoking area and by law no food is allowed at these smoking areas.
As to using obsene language infront off the 10 or 15 people at my restaurant and using gender derogated comments to my female staff is unacceptable.
After all it was just a simple request to leave your dog tied to a tree as this is our policy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
6.2 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
586 reviews
0.7 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
8.5 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#9 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
2 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
9.9 mi away
Cape Trib Beach House
Cape Trib Beach House
#2 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience

Address: Lot 44, Cape Tribulation Road, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Diwan
Price Range: £79 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lync Haven Rainforest Retreat is situated on 20 acres of pristine rainforest. With a natural board walk meandering along a peaceful waterway with fish, turtles and eels to find.Our cabin rooms are bright, fresh, fully air-conditioned and screened. We supply coffee, tea and milk in your room so you can make a cuppa then sit back and enjoy the rainforest outlook from your room and also pat the resident wallabies and kangaroos. You can also see our collection of endemic animals including snakes, crocodiles, lizards and birds.Our popular restaurant is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you'll find our prices affordable.We are a family owned and run business with staff that will always make you feel welcome.You will find us just 16kms north of the Daintree Ferry on the left hand side with beautiful tall palm trees in our front yard.We would love for you to experience the rainforest from Lync Haven Rainforest Retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience Daintree Region/Cape Tribulation

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing