We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
1 review
“Wonderful campground”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Lovely grounds, very green, and with some screened of private sites surrounded by the rain forest with all the amazing tropical birds flying over and calling out. Especially enjoyed seeing the bats fly out at night and hang in the tree in the middle of the campground in the day. We also enjoyed visits of the cassowara bird with it's young! only pity is you can hear the road, but no traffic at night.The staff was friendly and helpful, clean amenities and the restaurant enjoyable with outdoor tables and good food.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJPhillips2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JodieDiawan, Owner at Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed all the wildlife hear at Lync Haven. We love hearing that people have sighted, birds, butterfly's, reptiles and even the Cassowary on our property . Hope you can return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    70
    20
    5
    9
See reviews for
99
114
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

One of only 2 campgrounds available in the Daintree with powered sites. Really nice spot within the rainforest with a a number of very pretty walks through the forest. Very friendly staff. Will definitely stay here again on our next trip to the Daintree.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JodieDiawan, Owner at Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thanks for your review, It makes it pretty unique with only generated power to rely on in the Rainforest, we think were pretty lucky to live hear.
Thanks guys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

A nice caravanpark with absolutly friendly and helpful stuff.
If ya stay over night you can join the croc- and kangaroofeeding on the next morning :)
And i would highly recommend to eat a burger at the restaurant :)

Enjoy your stay and if you lucky meet the cassowara if you walk on of the rainforestwalks arround the camp :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank maralchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JodieDiawan, Owner at Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We look forward to you coming back.
Lovely to hear you enjoyed our camp ground and Hamburgers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We've just returned from a one night stay at Lyn Haven Rainforest retreat.
We stayed in a room (cabin, really) that contained a queen bed plus a single, perfect as we were two adults and our 15 yr old son. The room backed onto the kangaroo and wallabies enclosure, and we were able to feed these through the fence.
The property is set on approximately 20 acres and has some nice walking trails, with a meandering creek. The creek is home to plenty if fish, and we also saw some turtles.
Inside the reception area there is a display with live snakes (thankfully in enclosures!!)
There is also a crocodile on the premises, and she gets fed in the morning, which is nice to watch.
The licensed restaurant/bar serves up great meals at terrific prices. (We did hear some guests grumble about the price of the food, but bear in mind your location, there's no supermarket around the corner, power is provided through generators, every single supply has to get brought in via ferry to access the Daintree Cape Tribulation area)
There is (paid) wifi available, however, it doesn't extend to in room service, but it's lovely to sit on the large restaurant balcony with a cold beer and use the internet
We really enjoyed our stay, and will definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okkie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edithburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I are very well travelled particularly in North Queensland. I have to say that Lync Haven was without a doubt one of the best places we have stayed. It met every one of our needs. We found that it was very affordable, friendly staff and atmosphere, gorgeous surroundings, beautiful walking tracks, a gorgeous little cafe/restaurant, nice food and great coffee and wonderful facilities for campers. Even though the weather was not all that kind to us (it poured with rain in the dry season) we still had the BEST time ever. Oh and how could I forget - the wildlife is fabulous. It is so kid friendly with the kangaroo feeding and watching the crocodile feeding. I can't wait to go back and we would certainly have stayed longer if I hadn't already paid for a night at Green Island for the following night. I definitely recommend this accommodation and we can't wait to go back - 4 very happy customers - Sally, Mark, Millie and Harry. SA Edithburgh

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank SalWilkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
224 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

From the moment we arrived late and were warmly greeted by Scott, we knew we had found the right place to stay!! The cabin was very comfortable for the 4 of us, and it looked onto the kangaroo enclosure. Breakfast is really good and the service is quick. We also saw the 9am croc & kangaroo feeding twice (Scott feeds the crocs, we get to feed the kangaroos). Ate dinner there each night - some of the best meals we had on our entire trip!!
There is also a rainforest trail on the property that we went on several times. Saw a cassowary there once, as well as seeing one on their front lawn one afternoon.
Food and the room are an amazing value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

On my first visit to the Daintree, this was a great spot to stop for lunch. The food, service and environment was outstanding. However I was saddened to see wild life caged in such ordinary facilities. In particular there are wonderful birds in very small cages and reptiles in very sterile living conditions. It seemed quite out of place in such a wonderful rainforest.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Creekie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
6.2 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
2.6 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
0.7 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
8.5 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.4 mi away
Daintree Crocodylus
Daintree Crocodylus
#1 of 2 in Cow Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience

Property: Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Address: Lot 44, Cape Tribulation Road, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Diwan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lync Haven Rainforest Retreat is situated on 20 acres of pristine rainforest. With a natural board walk meandering along a peaceful waterway with fish, turtles and eels to find.Our cabin rooms are bright, fresh, fully air-conditioned and screened. We supply coffee, tea and milk in your room so you can make a cuppa then sit back and enjoy the rainforest outlook from your room and also pat the resident wallabies and kangaroos. You can also see our collection of endemic animals including snakes, crocodiles, lizards and birds.Our popular restaurant is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you'll find our prices affordable.We are a family owned and run business with staff that will always make you feel welcome.You will find us just 16kms north of the Daintree Ferry on the left hand side with beautiful tall palm trees in our front yard.We would love for you to experience the rainforest from Lync Haven Rainforest Retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience Daintree Region/Cape Tribulation

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing