We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is amazing…..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prema Shanti Yoga & Meditation Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diwan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prema Shanti Yoga & Meditation Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Diwan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“This place is amazing…..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I have travelled the globe and what Prema Shanti offered me was such a unique holiday. Being in the heart of the rainforest with no hustle and bustle was so invigorating for the soul. The daily rituals of meditation and yoga classes, which catered for all levels, were of a high standard and completed this truly spiritual experience. I will definitely be going back there soon……..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    18
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
13
62
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Just returned from my 5th visit to my favourite yoga retreat.As always the hosts were warm and welcoming and catered to my needs as i expand my yoga practice. Its such a natural and environmentally conscious retreat and i always leave with wisdom and love in my heart. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Welcoming & blissful.
Easy & flowing...just follow the path set out by owners Mara & partner Jahgarten. Guided meditation & Yoga for beginners to more advanced...just ask.
Happy to be surrounded by rainforest & spectular water holes with love veggie meals. Expand the mind...very happy to have encounted this path...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrKarinaSpicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

A great place for a few days if you are looking to extend your yoga practice. Food was tasty and well prepared, rooms quite basic, but you only sleep in them, so ok. Visited by cassowary on site, so real bonus there. Look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I found this place on the net and thought it looked and sounded - from the descriptions on their own website - like a pretty up scale place to stay and get great yoga instruction there.
When I got there I found it to be a rather basic, if not to say austere place, which is more like an ashram in India. The rooms were very simple, not even a table inside or enough space to hang up ones clothes, they were dark, no towels were provided, water and electricity was supposed to be saved, no showers before breakfast and lights out at 9:30.....
The meals were very basic too. Nothing fresh except a little fruit at breakfast time, evening meals all cooked, mostly soup and rice......
The yoga instruction too was as basic as it gets. Taught rather lackluster and monotonous with little challenge for more experienced students.
What shocked me most was that twice in 5 days after about half an hour of yoga Asana a tape (or CD) was put on for Savasana and the teacher left the room and us to it. I think that's just not on ! A good teacher just would not do that !
Over all I did not feel welcomed or looked after. It felt like Prema Shanti is a place to make money in the most simple and quick way and with as little effort as possible for the owners/operators.
Sorry to say that, but I really was disappointed all around.
Ziggy

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ziggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mara Staffieri S, Owner at Prema Shanti Yoga & Meditation Retreat, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Hi Ziggy, dissapointed but not surprised by your negiitve review, as a yoga teacher you were unfortunatly not open in any way to being a yoga student, so we left you alone , we provide an authentic yoga experiance as is attested to by the overwheming positive,excellant testimonials provided by our guests!, we are an eco retreat, our website is very clear on what we do and the facilitys we provide, we do not avertise ourselfs as a resort or ashram, we strove in spite of your negitive energy to be hospitable and welcoming, we were in our integrity at all times. We did the best we could with what you allowed us to give.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Mara - the "Mother" of Prema Shanti gave me lots of tips and advice on how to get up to Prema Shanti so i felt really safe and looked after. Hired a cheap car in Cairns and an easy drive up. Loved the fact that the temple is deep in the ancient rainforest - nature is overwhealming, the peace is deafening - the trees are like works of art and I felt like a miniature person as giant palms towered above me in the garden. Greeted by beautiful statue of Ganesha as you walk up the path. The Temple is like a jewel with shining polished wood floor - a bit of a surprise to see in the jungle! I loved the "back to nature" eco lodge style - very peaceful and no grating TV, internet or anything - a real retreat from the world. I had a beautiful room on the ground floor with flowers and tropical slats and mosquito net - although there were no mozzies. The morning mediations were beautiful and that is followed by healthy breakfast and tropical fruits. Mara and wise Yogi Janhardan acted like travel guides suggesting trips like crocodile tours, sea kyacking or nature walks I might like and reccommended places to eat. I saw crocodiles and beautiful beaches. The afternoon yoga was great - very accomplished teaching with meditation and inspiring soul moving words and some guided deep relaxations and breath work. Yummy vegetarian dinners. Spiritual books to read. Sacred rocks to meditate on and a cool divine swimming hole a short walk away! The pool looked straight out of Tarzan movie so I went swimming there every day - a sacred site. It was nice being able to meet other spiritual people who were also staying there. I feel totally refreshed now. Reccommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DouglasVishalBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Have returned to the city for four days now and have been asked by my friends why I look so relaxed and happy all the time, well I insisted that they have to go to Daintree forest and stay at Prema Shanti and find out what I’ve experienced to be like me.

Even before I arrived, I got a friendly phone call from Janardhan & Mara guiding me on how to get there and helped me immensely. Upon arrival, greeted by their warm smiling faces and I instantly felt relaxed and felt like home.

Just read through the reviews written by previous visitors of Prema Shanti and you would get the idea of how convenient it was to get to all the treasures Daintree forest can offer and I can ensure that it was not exaggerating. Walking distance to the “not so hidden” treasure – the blue hole and the green hole, where I met several travelers who came all over the world for it. I just felt blessed to be staying merely 5 minutes walking distance from it and went there everyday like a local does.

My short stay at Prema Shanti was action packed, probably a little bit more action packed than I even planned for. Drove up to Emmagen Creek (approx 40 mins) and had a serene afternoon along the creek in the rain forest, then off to snorkel with the local operator for the first time and spotted the amazing giant sea turtles, later got a little bit carried away and did a 4.5hour hike up to the peak of Mt Sorrow.

The only regret I had for the stay is that I should have stayed a few more days longer at Prema Shanti so that I can spend more time there, reading about Amma and her wonderful spiritual strength or having a good conversation with Janardhan & Mara about spirituality and anything this wonderful rainforest can show us. Daily meditation and yoga sessions became my daily ritual during my stay, helped me with my sleep and always gave me a delightful start of the day. Will be learning how to chant like Mara for my next trip there!

At last, a big warm thank you to Janardhan and Mara for their wonderful hospitality during my stay, felt no less than part of the family and truly blessed. Their passion and loving of the rainforest has made Prema Shanti a blissful place and I feel honored to be sharing their heavenly life in the forest for a short while.

I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LazydreamerinMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
8.0 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rainforest Hideaway
Rainforest Hideaway
#1 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
6.6 mi away
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
#2 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prema Shanti Yoga & Meditation Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prema Shanti Yoga & Meditation Retreat

Property: Prema Shanti Yoga & Meditation Retreat
Address: 183 Turpentine Road, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Diwan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Prema Shanti Yoga & Meditation Retreat 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prema Shanti Yoga and Meditation Retreat, is situated in the heart of the worlds oldest rainforest, the magnificent World heritage Daintree rainforest in far North Queensland, Australia, where our program of yoga and meditation runs everyday.At our yoga retreat centre you never miss out on your yoga and meditation practice, our yoga and meditation program runs 7 days a week, all year round.With our stunning secluded beaches, only 2hrs drive north of Cairns, our crystal clear fresh water swimming lagoons, native wildlife, surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, you awaken to the sounds of the rainforest birds calling you to meditation, you practice yoga on our polished timber floor in our purpose built yoga retreat temple.The Prema Shanti Yoga and Meditation Retreat provides you with the perfect ambience, for a unique rainforest yoga holiday. We offer you the complete holiday experience with a full range of spa treatments and massage available for you to enjoy and indulge.The Prema Shanti Yoga and Meditation Retreats purpose built facilities, boutique rooms & unique location provides the perfect venue for an unforgettable yoga holiday adventure.The Prema Shanti Yoga and Meditation Retreat facilities are ideal for yoga & meditation teachers looking for that special place to hold their next workshop or retreat.The program runs 7 days a week , all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prema Shanti Yoga & Meditation Retreat Daintree Region/Cape Tribulation

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing