We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay and Generous Hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cockatoo Hill Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diwan
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We had a fantastic time at Cockatoo Hill! My wife and I stayed for four nights. Our 'tree-house' was delightful, clean and comfortable with breathtaking views across the rainforest and down to the ocean. The gardens were immaculately maintained and, although it wasn't the best weather, the pool was so inviting we couldn't resist taking a dip most mornings. With birdsong filling the air and butterflies fluttering around it was a wonderfully relaxing place and really felt like a little bit of paradise. Breakfast was delicious and abundant. A big bowl of carefully selected fruits, cereal, sweetbreads, homemade jam and other locally produced goodies, was perfect to keep us going until lunchtime. But the best thing about Cockatoo Hill was Carmen herself. She is such a genuinely warm and generous person. She is friendly without being overbearing, attentive without being annoying, and is extremely helpful when in comes to planning your days or booking a trip. On a couple of occasions we had been chatting with Carmen, only to look at the time and realised over an hour had passed. She is an interesting lady and, more importantly seems genuinely interested to know her guests. And her incredibly handsome cat Mitusch is very hospitable too! We couldn't recommend Cockatoo Hill highly enough and would definitely return should we manage to get up that way again. Thanks Carmen, Joel and Kate

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SterlingFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

My husband and I stayed for 1 week at the Cockatoo Riverside cottage during our honeymoon. We can't recommend this place highly enough! The house was perfect - beautiful, clean, comfortable; with everything we needed to cook for ourselves, which we both enjoyed. The grounds were stunning, and included our own idyllic rainforest pool! Our host, Carmen, was one of the loveliest people we've met, and made us feel right at home. She was extremely helpful in providing local information, yet gave us plenty of privacy.

As for the rainforest itself - stay as long as you can because there is so much to see and do! And if you're looking for a piece of paradise to call home during your stay then this is it! While we loved the many walks and activities we did during our stay, it was hard to beat simply relaxing on this beautiful property with glass of wine! Thanks again Carmen!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElanorMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

This fabulous property was the cherry on the top of our 3 week journey around Australia. As seasoned travelers we were blown away by the awe-inspiring views of the rainforest trees and ocean from our romantic tree house. The beautiful landscaping and quiet pool made for a very special experience for my wife and I and our two 18 year old girls. In no time Carmen felt like an old friend. She was so helpful when serving as our tour guide and our morning breakfast of fresh fruit and fresh jam for our warm croissants was delightful. Thank you Carmen!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougGreenhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

It certainly is everything other reviewers say - wonderful views, idyllic setting, peaceful and a wonderful host.
But there were a few minor quibbles - it really needs fly (mosquito) screens - the mozzies were unbearable, the rooms are quite small and I missed the bird and animal interaction we had found in the Atherton tablelands.
Carmen prefers not to encourage them and as such it is a very quite and peaceful atmosphere.
The main problem in the area is not so much Cockatoo Hill but the lack of quality restaurants within a reasonable distance.
The closest ones where we had lunch and dinner were absolute shockers and when you are paying the tariffs at Cockatoo Hill, you would normally expect to find reasonable restaurants nearby.
Cockatoo Hill does not have any cooking facilities such as we had in the Tablelands so you are forced to suffer with very ordinary local cafes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Best holiday we have ever had. Carmen is a knowledgable and gracious hostess who is very giving of her time and expertise. This made our trip much more enjoyable as she directed us to the best things to see and do in the area. We stayed at the Riverwiew cottage which is totally private and very picturesque. Abundant with wildlife( Cassowary, tree frogs, jungle perch, turtles, fireflies etc.) and the most gorgeous gardens. There is a stunning private creek running through with crystal clear fresh water and playful fish and turtles that we swam in at least 3 times a day. All necessray amenities were there for a comfortable stay and Carmen is always happy to attend in her warm and generous way for anything required. Thanks Carmen for sharing Riverside with Ben and Kelly, see you next time!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

First the adventure of driving up the driveway is always fun and then when you reach the top you are met with gorgeous balinese inspired huts looking out over the canopy of trees to the wetlands.Carmen greets you as though you have known her forever and you will instantly fall in love with her and her passion for the rainforest,people, her gardens and life itself. The huts are perfect for a couple looking to just be with one another within the silence of the rainforests edge. Staying here for atleast a few days is important to begin to understand how the rainforest survives and watch the weather move in from your balcony and breathe in the fresh air. Cockatoo Hill retreat is a great location to see all there is in the Daintree. Of an evening after day triping relax in the beautiful pool with a drink in hand and watch the Ulysses butterflies feed amongst carmens gardens. Will definately be back to stay with our new friend Carmen.

Room Tip: it does not matter which rooms you choose they are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamaraandphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We spent three wonderful nights at Cockatoo Hill Retreat. Each of the four tree houses has amazing views of an endless rainforest canopy with a view of a sandy beach in the distance. Coming from the city, this is a perfect getaway to relax in a majestic rainforest and waking up to the sounds of the rainforest every morning was absolute bliss. Breakfast is included and expect an array of a fresh fruits (including some delicious exotic fruits) and some very unique and interesting homemade jams. The owner, Carmen has an extensive knowledge of the area and is always on hand for any queries. Her personality and enthusiasm is infectious and made our stay that much more special. Be prepared to get bitten by mosquitos which is not unusual so insect repellant is a must.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
6.7 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
572 reviews
2.2 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
19.4 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Cape Trib Beach House
Cape Trib Beach House
#3 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
568 reviews
1.2 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
1.7 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cockatoo Hill Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cockatoo Hill Retreat

Address: 2060 Cape Tribulation Rd | Daintree Coast, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diwan
Price Range: £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cockatoo Hill Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cockatoo Hill Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cockatoo Hill Retreat Daintree Region/Cape Tribulation
Cockatoo Hill Retreat Hotel Daintree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing