We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cockatoo Hill Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diwan
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at riverside retreat. With it's own private swimming hole, beautiful
Grounds and all the finishing touches this is a charming place to get away. It is close to the beach, close to many tourist attractions. It truly is a retreat and a charming place to relax. Carmen is very welcoming and helpful. In fact we couldn't have hoped for much more.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed in a "treehouse" in September 2012 and share others' views of this lovely place. Not really a treehouse, but the room has a wonderful view over completely untouched rainforest to the distant sea. You go to sleep and wake to the sounds of the forest and its frogs and birds.

Carmen and her husband (who has sadly passed away) had the confidence to keep things simple. Whilst finished to the highest quality the treehouse rooms lack such modernities as a TV, air-conditioning or a phone. The only concessions to the 21st century are a fridge, electric lighting and hot water. All is calm, still and relaxing, and fitting to an area where mobile phones don't have a signal.

Carmen was very helpful in making recommendations and arranging outings. Breakfast delicious as everyone says. Go soon and make sure you have a four wheel drive. The steep drive would be impassable for other cars in the rain.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Our stay at the Cockatoo Hill Retreat was one of our favorite parts of our honeymoon. The proprietor, Carmen, was an absolute delight! She was incredibly sweet and helpful with providing information on area must-dos. At her recommendation, we went on a nightwalk through the rainforest at Copper Creek, which was well worth it. We also had great success following some of her recommendations the day we departed Cape Tribulation, during our time in Kuranda. Carmen puts on a delicious breakfast spread ... complete with both traditional and local jams and fruits and fresh made pastries. We were charmed by her commitment to the little frogs that take up residence in the main lobby area. The property itself is situated to provide a wonderful view of the rainforest. We stayed in the left-most tree house and had a great view of the sunrise both days we were there. Very glad we stayed with Carmen at Cockatoo instead of one of the larger resort options.

Room Tip: We were very glad we had a four wheel drive car. While we may not have NEEDED it, we were much more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drea2399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the end of our 2 week honeymoon touring the East Coast - the relaxing part of our very active trip! It couldn't have been more perfect - the tree house was absolutely beautiful with the most luxurious bed in the world, and waking up to the sunrise coming up over the rainforest each morning was incredible. We were lucky enough to be the only guests for most of our stay, so we had the pool etc to ourselves when we wanted it, although it was a bit too chilly to swim at the time of year we were there!

Carmen really was the perfect hostess and such a lovely and genuine lady - the breakfasts were absolutely delicious and Carmen went out of her way to make sure everything was perfect for us. All the little touches - fresh flowers on our doorstep each day and lanterns guiding us back to our treehouse at night really made such a difference. We tried two of the local restaurants which we thought were very nice - the only drawback was having to drive everywhere as there isn't a local taxi service and it's not safe to walk very far at night in the rainforest, but it really didn't matter - we were quite happy to come back and enjoy a bottle of wine back in the treehouse. Definitely the place to stay if you're looking to escape for a few days - the perfect romantic retreat!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmandaJ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My husband & I have just returned from a wonderful 8 day holiday at Riverside Retreat. It was the most amazing environment, a lovely house in 20 acres of rainforest & we had it all to ourselves! Carmen is the perfect hostess, very knowledgable & friendly. It was a privilege to experience this beautiful area, we left rested but also invigorated. I would recommend Riverside for anyone who loves the natural environment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryRedshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in early June. Wow it was amazing. Carmen was absolutely beautiful, very hospitable and kind. We loved our chats. We stayed in one of the tree houses and were lucky enough to be the only guests. The rooms are very clean and tidy with a bar fridge, balcony and mega comfy bed. The only small downside would be the shower which ran a bit hot and cold but hey this is in the jungle!!!! Carmen invited us to have a look at her little cottage down the road a little. It is a self contained house in stunning surrounds and we had a swim in the river with the turtles and fish.....pure bliss.
Carmen is a wealth of knowledge on the local area and guided us to all the best restaurants and activities. Her breakies are legendary.(we could have eaten that fruit salad every day for the rest of our lives) and the super coffee hit every morning was just the ticket. : ).

The gardens and wildlife is exceptional...loads of birds, butterflies a few wee cassowarries and mitush.


If you love peace and quiet and a bit of romance you can't go wrong with cockatoo hill.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My girlfriend and I recently stayed in one of the Tree Houses (they are not really tree houses, but they may as well be with the view you get!) for 4 nights and had an amazing time. Carmen is the hostess with the most-ess and noting was too much trouble for her. From the tropical fruit salad breaky to the candles she lit each night so you could be guided back to your tree house, each part of the stay was very easy.

The rooms themselves are beautiful and I loved waking up to watch the dawn through the glass walls each morning. I was a bit worried about privacy when I first saw the room, but it wasn't a problem and I didn't really see any of our neighbours throughout the entirety of our stay.

Carmen also happily booked several adventures for us as well (River cruises, 4WD safari's etc), so the whole trip was extremely easy. I would definitely recommend a stay at Cockatoo Hill Retreat anytime!

Room Tip: There are only 4 tree house rooms on the property and all are fantastic, so you cant go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lanesend332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
6.7 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
570 reviews
2.2 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
19.4 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Cape Trib Beach House
Cape Trib Beach House
#2 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
566 reviews
1.2 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
1.7 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cockatoo Hill Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cockatoo Hill Retreat

Address: 2060 Cape Tribulation Rd | Daintree Coast, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diwan
Price Range: £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cockatoo Hill Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cockatoo Hill Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cockatoo Hill Retreat Daintree Region/Cape Tribulation
Cockatoo Hill Retreat Hotel Daintree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing