We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the rainforest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cockatoo Hill Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diwan
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

It was pouring in the daintree - well it is rainforest !- but driving up the hill thro the clouds to arrive at Cockatoo Hill Retreat was amazing. A beautifully designed lodge & individual chalets set in a garden alive with flowers, birds & butterflies. High up with views across the Forest to the sea - cooler & with less mosquitoes than most of the area - a big bonus. The chalets are cool & calming, beautifully furnished with attention to detail like flowers, complimentary wine that means memories to cherish. Breakfast is taken in the main lodge - open plan of Balinese design. Carmen provides a delicious array of local fruit - we loved trying all the unheard of forest fare - breads & pastries with home made preserves. Carmen is a mine of information & advice, has some wonderful books to browse & does everything she can to make your stay special. She is one of life's special people herself. Cockatoo Hill is a long way from our home in UK so if we don't visit again I hope my review will encourage other readers to stay in this very special place.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CathyWinchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Cockatoo Hill Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

We came here to escape the busyness of Port Doulas having made the mistake of booking our stay over school holidays. We spent a lot of time considering options as we wanted a true escape. Cockatoo Hill was a fortunate choice. The location is secluded, peaceful with magnificent views from our ' tree house' across the forest to the coast.

Accomodation: there are only 4 units, well spaced so privacy is maintained, they are set in lovely gardens and face the coast to catch the breezes and views - no need for air-con. Decore is minimalist elegance with open storage to accommodate the tropical climate and clear Balinese influences. We slept with the doors open and spent late afternoons on our verandah, enjoying nature and a glass of wine. Beautiful!

Food and service: breakfast was served from the main lodge and offered a range of fresh fruits, cereals, good coffee. We don't eat hot breakfasts so cannot comment further. Rooms were very clean and we were provided with everything we needed. Very friendly, yet discreet we were provided with great service and assistance

Activities: our host helped us to make the most of our stay with good advice and recommendations on local dinning. We also did a couple of the nature walks which were excellent. The garden is full of butterflies and birds so just sitting and watching is a great pass time. Those who cannot live without teçhnology should beware; no TV and limited phone, Internet connection!

this is a special place that will always be a highlight of our travel experiences. We have stayed at some of the most beautiful places in the world but the elegance and simplicity of Cockatoo Hill makes it a standout. Will definitely go back next time we head up to far North Queensland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oh-so-relaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is a bit of a cheeky review as we stayed here a few years ago, but having checked it's just the same......unbelievable .....wonderful hosts providing wonderful home cooked food for dinner and breakfast. Our tree house was amazing like floating in the trees with amazing birds and wildlife.Cockatoo really is a special place, possibly one the best places on earth you could ever stay ......don't think about it just go .

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick7p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at Cockatoo Hill for 2 nights at the start of our honeymoon and it was perfect! Carmen was very warm and welcoming and we really got personal service - she had left a little box of chocolates and a bottle of champagne as she knew it was our honeymoon.
The room was wonderful and felt very private. It was clean and beautifully presented. We loved how open it felt - and we were lucky enough to have no mozzies around at all. We could hear all the birds in the morning and we really felt part of nature.
When we were in the communal area for breakfast or to ask Carmen a question, she often pointed out the "locals" i.e. the frogs that visited.
Breakfast was lovely and fresh - full of local produce, home-made jams, croissants, cereals, fresh fruit, locally-produced yoghurt etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 days at Cockatoo Hill Retreat. With only four rooms (which are actually detached huts with thatched roofs) we were made to feel at home from the minute we arrived. There is only patchy mobile phone coverage on Telstra and virtually none on Optus but Carmen was a great help with booking tours and sorting out dinner reservations. You do need to be prepared to eat early (generally before 7:30 pm) and drive to dinner. We took the advice of previous reviewers and on our first evening bought some cold food and wine with us. The small fridge in the room was very handy. We chose to rent an AWD car for our trip. You probably could make it up the driveway in a 2WD (depending on the weather) but we felt much happier with our car.
Cockatoo Hill Retreat is not a resort style hotel, no television, no WiFi or internet and as a couple who both work in the city we thought this was brilliant! There is also no air conditioning but we found there was a very pleasant evening breeze. Our only regret was that we didn’t have more time to spend sitting on our balcony enjoying the tranquillity as we packed in so many activities, next time we’ll have to stay for longer!

Room Tip: Make sure you book your stay direct with Carmen, the 3rd party booking websites don't seem to di...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We are just home from a delightful four nights at Cockatoo Hill. Who could imagine that in just four days we would become so attached to our lovely host Carmen and her beautiful surroundings.
When I say "want for nothing" I mean it! In fact, Carmen anticipated half our needs before we even knew we had them!
In the weeks leading up to our visit and on arrival, Carmen was a host of information on local attractions, walks, places to play and restaurants and what a surprise on our son's birthday to find she had made him feel so special.
The breakfast each day was delicious local fruit, cereals and yoghurt (oh man, that yoghurt!).
Our rooms and the pool were lovely without being too "precious" for the kids to relax.
Carmen took the kids frog spotting each night and told us all about the local environment she clearly loves so much, often going to the trouble of looking up our questions and finding answers for us by the time we saw her next.
All her local recommendations were spot on. Even on the day we left she recommended sights and a fabulous little lunch spot for our trip back to the airport!
We jammed way too much in to our five days, and all agreed that next time we will be spending more time sitting by the lovely pool (Carmen might laugh if she reads this...because we just didn't sit still!).
Without such a warm and gentle host, Cockatoo Hill might be just another environmentally conscious eco-retreat in a stunning setting...and without Cockatoo Hill, Carmen might be just another kind and warm, thoughtful and interesting host...but the two go together so well, that it's hard to imagine one without the other!

Room Tip: there are only four and the view is stunning from sunrise to moonrise!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank legs174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Our third trip in 9 years and always such a beautiful, peaceful and unique stay. Carmen is the most genuinely lovely and attentive host - feels more like visiting with family than staying in a hotel.
Cockatoo Hill is isolated, quiet, small and set in amazing tropical rainforest. You need to be ready to relax and get away from it all - no TV, turn the phone off and let the silence and peace envelope you. The 'huts' are simple and elegant and suited to the environment. The beds, in-floor lighting and mosquito nets so pretty and romantic. An amazing wet edge pool and beautiful breakfasts with tropical fruit and home made jams.
Carmen's in depth knowledge of her little piece of rainforest, as well as things to do in the area make her so well suited to engage guests in this amazing part of the world.
In a perfect world we'd visit every few months to unwind!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reb_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
6.7 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
557 reviews
2.2 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
19.4 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
551 reviews
2.3 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
0.5 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cockatoo Hill Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cockatoo Hill Retreat

Address: 2060 Cape Tribulation Rd | Daintree Coast, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diwan
Price Range: £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cockatoo Hill Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cockatoo Hill Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cockatoo Hill Retreat Daintree Region/Cape Tribulation
Cockatoo Hill Retreat Hotel Daintree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing