We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Daintree Rainforest Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cockatoo Hill Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diwan
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Daintree Rainforest Hideaway”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

If you looking for a Queensland holiday escape, this is the place to go. Carmen is lovely and a fantastic host. The 4 bungalows on the property are secluded and each have an amazing view of the Daintree rainforest and beaches. Breakkie is perfect, fresh fruit, muesli and croissants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
108
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yarra Valley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had two days here, in one of the four cabins perched in the rainforest looking out across forest to the sea. The cabin was beautifully fitted out and totally private and peaceful. We were welcome to explore the extensive grounds and used the lovely pool. The owner was extremely hospitable and caring, and the breakfast wonderful (huge bowl of exotic local fruit salad, cereals, homemade croissants etc). A perfect place to spend our anniversary, and well located to explore Cape Tribulation.

Room Tip: Any of the four - they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We're still here at Cockatoo Hill Retreat as I write it. We're sad though because today is the day we leave for the next step in our holiday and, quite frankly, I can't believe anything can be better than here. My wife and I are world travellers who love to spoil ourselves. We have stayed in absolute luxury in over 45 countries. This has been a pinnacle in that respect. And it's not just the place itself, which is without equal already. It is Carmen - our beautiful, gracious host. They say that home is where the heart is, and this majestic sanctuary's heart is this gorgeous woman. Carmen is a gentle, humorous sole who engages you from the first moment.

Cape Tribulation is a unique place in the world and should be on every serious traveller's bucket list. But to see it without staying here would be a tragic waste.

Carmen - thank you so much for making us feel so much at home instantly. And thank you for the tropical breakfasts so lovingly prepared, as only a French-Italian-Aussie could do. We. Will. Return!

Room Tip: The rooms are all perfect. We stayed in number 4, but all are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruizerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

It was pouring in the daintree - well it is rainforest !- but driving up the hill thro the clouds to arrive at Cockatoo Hill Retreat was amazing. A beautifully designed lodge & individual chalets set in a garden alive with flowers, birds & butterflies. High up with views across the Forest to the sea - cooler & with less mosquitoes than most of the area - a big bonus. The chalets are cool & calming, beautifully furnished with attention to detail like flowers, complimentary wine that means memories to cherish. Breakfast is taken in the main lodge - open plan of Balinese design. Carmen provides a delicious array of local fruit - we loved trying all the unheard of forest fare - breads & pastries with home made preserves. Carmen is a mine of information & advice, has some wonderful books to browse & does everything she can to make your stay special. She is one of life's special people herself. Cockatoo Hill is a long way from our home in UK so if we don't visit again I hope my review will encourage other readers to stay in this very special place.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CathyWinchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We came here to escape the busyness of Port Doulas having made the mistake of booking our stay over school holidays. We spent a lot of time considering options as we wanted a true escape. Cockatoo Hill was a fortunate choice. The location is secluded, peaceful with magnificent views from our ' tree house' across the forest to the coast.

Accomodation: there are only 4 units, well spaced so privacy is maintained, they are set in lovely gardens and face the coast to catch the breezes and views - no need for air-con. Decore is minimalist elegance with open storage to accommodate the tropical climate and clear Balinese influences. We slept with the doors open and spent late afternoons on our verandah, enjoying nature and a glass of wine. Beautiful!

Food and service: breakfast was served from the main lodge and offered a range of fresh fruits, cereals, good coffee. We don't eat hot breakfasts so cannot comment further. Rooms were very clean and we were provided with everything we needed. Very friendly, yet discreet we were provided with great service and assistance

Activities: our host helped us to make the most of our stay with good advice and recommendations on local dinning. We also did a couple of the nature walks which were excellent. The garden is full of butterflies and birds so just sitting and watching is a great pass time. Those who cannot live without teçhnology should beware; no TV and limited phone, Internet connection!

this is a special place that will always be a highlight of our travel experiences. We have stayed at some of the most beautiful places in the world but the elegance and simplicity of Cockatoo Hill makes it a standout. Will definitely go back next time we head up to far North Queensland.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oh-so-relaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
386 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is a bit of a cheeky review as we stayed here a few years ago, but having checked it's just the same......unbelievable .....wonderful hosts providing wonderful home cooked food for dinner and breakfast. Our tree house was amazing like floating in the trees with amazing birds and wildlife.Cockatoo really is a special place, possibly one the best places on earth you could ever stay ......don't think about it just go .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick7p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at Cockatoo Hill for 2 nights at the start of our honeymoon and it was perfect! Carmen was very warm and welcoming and we really got personal service - she had left a little box of chocolates and a bottle of champagne as she knew it was our honeymoon.
The room was wonderful and felt very private. It was clean and beautifully presented. We loved how open it felt - and we were lucky enough to have no mozzies around at all. We could hear all the birds in the morning and we really felt part of nature.
When we were in the communal area for breakfast or to ask Carmen a question, she often pointed out the "locals" i.e. the frogs that visited.
Breakfast was lovely and fresh - full of local produce, home-made jams, croissants, cereals, fresh fruit, locally-produced yoghurt etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
6.7 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
523 reviews
19.4 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
914 reviews
2.2 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
8.0 mi away
Rainforest Hideaway
Rainforest Hideaway
#1 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cockatoo Hill Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cockatoo Hill Retreat

Property: Cockatoo Hill Retreat
Address: 2060 Cape Tribulation Rd | Daintree Coast, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diwan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cockatoo Hill Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cockatoo Hill Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cockatoo Hill Retreat Daintree Region/Cape Tribulation
Cockatoo Hill Retreat Hotel Daintree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing