We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Acorn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rondebosch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acorn Lodge
Ranked #13 of 20 Rondebosch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Acorn Lodge caters for all types of visitors from family to business people, in a warm, friendly and five star environment in the beautiful established suburb of Rondebosch in Cape Town. June Arderne, the proprietor is a warm and receptive operator with many years experience in the catering of all types of her visitors needs, and we recommend Acorn lodge for all discerning travellers.
A truly enjoyable experience..

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional when available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

I had a wonderful stay here for 9 days, great views of Table mountain, great breakfast with an extremely helpful and friendly owner.
My room was a great size, the shower was very powerful. lovely swimming pool.
A totally different experience from my B&B experience at Whale Cottage in Camps Bay!!
I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarethJJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed 4 nights in a confortable room, with a nice breakfast and lots of good advices, assistance for trip booking and practical things. Thank you June, I enjoyed my stay at your place, and hope to come back to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marksimon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had been advised our original booked accommodation had been double booked but they had found us an alternative B&B not far away. Being a party of 7 with 9 days booked Acorn Lodge was able to accommodate us at short notice and at the same cost. June was a very amiable host and provided a clean and warm environment with lovely breakfasts. As some of the party knew CT very well, restaurants near the premises were not tested but from past experience I do know they would have been good.The premises are in a quiet area of Rondebosch with a park opposite for the more healthy of you. Rooms were clean and serviced every day and I would recommend Acorn Lodge for those looking for a reasonable B&B in a nice area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at Acorn Lodge one week first, following by another 4 days at the end of our holiday in South Africa.
The rooms are nice and friendly, everything what you need is there, the Wifi works really well. Breakfast is rich and fresh.
We also recommended this place to friends of us, who will be in South Africa soon.
Thank you June!

Room Tip: Room 3 is the best!
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Julyathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I recently led a group trip to Cape Town and the Acorn afforded a good place to stay. It is within a 10 minute walk to some good restaurant options, has a park across the street (along with play equipment if you have children), and is in a quiet part of the city. The house itself was quite clean, furniture comfortable and well organized. June proved to be a knowledgeable and gracious host. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Myself and my husband stayed in the guesthouse for 5 days. The area is centrally located and allows one to get to the waterfront, table montain and most areas within a few minutes of driving.
The rooms are spacious and neat, and the rest of the house really makes one think you are at your own house. June, the lady who runs the lodge, is up and ready each morning to provide you with a large breakfast. The rooms are serviced daily. Across the road from the lodge is a large field that one can use if you wish to get some exercise. The cars are parked on the premises behind electronic gates and the rooms are also all gated, so one feels rather safe.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlenesteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rondebosch hotels
0.9 mi away
Little Scotia Guest House
Little Scotia Guest House
#5 of 20 in Rondebosch
103 reviews
1 mi away
Knightsbury Guest House
Knightsbury Guest House
#2 of 20 in Rondebosch
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roodenburg House
Roodenburg House
#4 of 20 in Rondebosch
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandown Lodge
Sandown Lodge
#7 of 20 in Rondebosch
18 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brooklands House
Brooklands House
#11 of 20 in Rondebosch
15 reviews
0.9 mi away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#3 of 20 in Rondebosch
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Lodge

Address: 35 Oakhurst Avenue, Rondebosch 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rondebosch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Rondebosch
Price Range: £202 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Lodge Guest House is well located in the leafy residential suburb of Rondebosch in Cape Town, South Africa. Accommodation is offered in 6 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms. The spacious bedrooms each have their own TV and tea trolleys. Sleeps Ma 12 guests. Wireless Internet and DSTV are also available. Two of the bedrooms have a kitchenette/dinette between them (with fridge+microwave) and a separate entrance. One of the bedrooms is situated outside with self-catering facilities. A large pool and patio area can be enjoyed by the guests. Off street parking is provided for all guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acorn Lodge Rondebosch, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing