We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to spend 9 days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Scotia Guest House
Ranked #4 of 20 Rondebosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to spend 9 days”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I just finished staying at Little Scotia for 9 nights due to a conference at UCT I was attending. Overall, the experience was good and I would recommend it to anyone who is staying in this area of Cape Town (especially for UCT business- it's practically on campus).

My room (17) was small but nice- definitely enough room for one person and my parents' room (11) was also quite nice and much bigger. The breakfast is wonderful and the place as a whole is decorated beautifully. We visited in the Winter months so it was a little cold to sit outside but I'm sure in the summer it must be gorgeous with all the beautiful landscaping. The staff was super helpful and welcoming- they event lent me and my parents adapters to use since the ones we brought for our plugs didn't work. There are large closets in the rooms as well which I found very useful as I had a lot to hang up.

There were a few negatives though- probably the most glaring was the ant problem my parents had in their bathroom that soon developed in mine over the course of the stay. Luckily they only stayed confined to the bathroom though spray was required to keep things cool. Also there was a morning or two where I didn't have hot water. And finally, the air conditioner/heat took me some time to figure out so the first two nights were very chilly- once I figured out how to work it it was fine but it definitely was a little tricky.

Overall though, I would really recommend this guest house especially if you're coming on business. Location couldn't be more convenient- there's many cafes/delis around (and one very good steak place right on the corner), a drug store, a supermarket, a gym and more all within short walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lljazz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    39
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
13
5
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I was in Cape Town for a workshop and the good folks at UCT reserved a room at Little Scotia for me. My spouse decided to join me and we decided to stay for longer than the conference (9 days in all). With some reservations about the location we extended our stay at Little Scotia via booking.com. My first interaction with the folks there was when I made a mistake with the dates on booking.com and they let me rectify the mistake without a penalty and within 20 minutes of my realizing the error (kudos to folks at booking.com too).
All the people managing Little Scotia are wonderful, the rest of the staff is friendly and helpful, the (complimentary) breakfast is really really great, the parking is free and secure, the property is like a little oases in that section of Rondebosch. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and overall it is very good value for your money.
I would recommend renting a car if you are going to stay there and are not familiar with the public transport in Cape Town. It is located on one side of Devil's peak under UCT, and is close to the center of town and even closer to Kirstenbosch and Constantia. Another reason to have a car is that Little Scotia does not have lunch or dinner options, and the food within walking distance is nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Urbanite75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This guesthouse is very nice and located a block from the UCT campus. The rooms are very comfortable, and there is a good breakfast. There is also off-street parking available. The guesthouse is also only about 15 minutes from Cape Town International Airport, so it is a good place to stay if you have a late arrival.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Last summer, we stayed at the Little Scotia Guest House and to say the least our experience was excellent. The guest house is perfectly tucked in a quite area along Rustenburg Avenue with the beautiful Table Mountain towering over the property. Located just one block off Main Road in Rondebosch, the Little Scotia is accessible to the mall (shopping, coffee, banks), restaurants, and a grocery store. One plus is the proximity to the University of Cape Town campus if you're looking for a great stay near the UCT campus.

Most importantly, hospitality at the Little Scotia is top-notch. The staff is friendly, professional, and willing to help make your stay the best experience possible. For example, we embarked on a 2 night/3 day safari in the middle of our reservation period. Because we wouldn't have been staying at the guest house, they didn't charge us for the 2 nights--AWESOME! On top of that, they allowed us to keep our luggage and personal items in our room. In addition, a lovely pool, whirlpool, luscious gardens, large breakfast area (free yummy food every morning), and a beautiful lobby are all on-site. Free Wi-Fi is included as well. For travelers concerned with security, the entire property is gated (not that this neighborhood isn't safe) with key-access required at the front door.

Thanks for a wonderful experience, Little Scotia!

Room Tip: Ask for a room a little closer to the pool area/lobby as the Wi-Fi speeds are a little faster. Eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoChris60622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After trying many guest houses close to the Cape Town CBD Little Scotia take the lead in respect of convenience and location close the UCT and major business districts.
With save parking, privacy and work desk the room was perfect for a business trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed at Little Scotia for 4 nights while on a mission to the University of Cape Town. Staying at this guest house was a good experience. This guest house has few rooms so it is quite small but rooms are average in size, clean and well decorated. Two big advantages of this hotel is its quiteness while in middle of town and near UCT campus and the great continental breakfast. The breakfast at this guesthouse is really generous.
One downside is that they do not serve any other meals but breakfast, but you can have a few choices of meals in a handful of restaurants located within 3 to 10 min walk; the Hussar grill is a good restaurant, just next door, if you are a meat eater.
I will definitely stay at this place again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 07amps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a very nice guesthouse with clean and comfortable rooms and a serious breakfast. Friendly service and a strategic location near the CTU campus. Small pool, large compound with cottages. Private onsite parking space and safe area. Good value for your money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rondebosch
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#75 of 109 in Cape Town Central
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banksia Boutique
Banksia Boutique
#2 of 2 in Rosebank
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knightsbury Guest House
Knightsbury Guest House
#2 of 20 in Rondebosch
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Roodenburg House
Roodenburg House
#1 of 20 in Rondebosch
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carmichael Guesthouse
Carmichael Guesthouse
#1 of 2 in Rosebank
321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brooklands House
Brooklands House
#11 of 20 in Rondebosch
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Scotia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Scotia Guest House

Property: Little Scotia Guest House
Address: 5 Rustenburg Avenue, Rondebosch 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rondebosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Rondebosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Scotia Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Scotia is a relaxed and homely guest house in the heart of historic Rondebosch. The homestead, though steeped in history, has been tastefully modernized. Breakfast is a decadent affair, served under the watchful eye of your hosts, Kevin & Mariehette. # All credit cards accepted. # ADSL Internet facilities / Wi-Fi hotspot.# Satellite TV in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Little Scotia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Scotia Guest House Rondebosch, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing