We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Boutique Hotel has everything you could possibly want!”
Review of Roodenburg House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roodenburg House
Ranked #1 of 20 Rondebosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“This Boutique Hotel has everything you could possibly want!”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Roodenberg House is very conveniently situated not far from the Cape town CBD but within easy reach of the Cape beauty spots as well.
The staff go the extra mile to make your stay as comfortable as possible--and comfort and style are keymarks of this establishment. With five double rooms (which are more like suites) it is small enough for the staff to give personal attention to everyone!The rooms are spacious and every detail has been thought through--lovely linen and towels too!
The dining and lounge area is very attractively furnished and the fresh flowers are a joy.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great so difficult to single out
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judz80, Owner at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words. We do hope you will visit again soon. warmest thanks Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
30
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2011

What a great experience, the very much friendly and helpful staff was an extra bonus, it is situated in the middle of everything, and it's easy to find it, a real 5 star accommodation and excellent service. The bedroom with a beautiful bathroom was very clean and spacious, the minute you drive into the premises, you get a very welcome feeling, you immediately now you made the wright choice. I would highly recommend this guest house, I have my own business in Port Elizabeth and I only expect the best the first time, 110% quality service, and that is what I got. DAVID AND STAFF STRIVES FOR SERVICE DELIVERY OF AN INDISPUTABLY HIGH STANDARD. Once again to David and his team a very BIG THANK YOU.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernandoescola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judz80, Owner at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
I am delighted that the staff were able to make you so comfortable, and hope you are now fully recovered. Thank you for your review.Warmest regards Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Wow - words can not express how highly we rate this guesthouse. We've stayed in guesthouses and hotels all over the world and I hesitate to think of one which comes close to Roodenburg House.

I got ready for my wedding here and then my new husband and I spent 3 nights there after the wedding.

The staff were so friendly and helpful and went far beyond what we expected. We got some amazing pre wedding photos! The rooms and house are tastefully decorated. We enjoyed lazying by the pool and in the lounge area.

The general feeling of Roodenburg house is a home away from home. We felt totally spoilt in every respect - from the rose petals on the bed to the personalised service.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coltrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judz80, Owner at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Your wedding was a very special event for us and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Roodenburg House. We hope it will not be too long before you visit again. Warm thanks for your review. Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I had the good fortune to stay at the Roodenburg house for 1 week while on business. The staff were totally focused on their guests and exceeded my expectations in the quality of services and rooms offered. Should I be fortunate to return again to Capetown, this is the only location that I will consider staying at. Beautiful. Superb staff.
Sandra Kearns, Ontario Canada

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samkearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Thank you for those kind words, Hope you are well and not too busy!
Warm regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We came to Rodenburg House on the 29th of December and stayed two nights only. We liked it so much we have decided to book there last night of our holidays as well.
If we knew it is such a great pace with warm, welcoming people we would have planed our trip a bit differently and would have stayed there at least for a week.
Rodenburg House is a hidden jewel with its elegant interior decoration and very professional and warm staff. People who run the place listen to guests needs and try to make everybody happy.
I am allergic to lactose and when I casually asked if they have soya milk the very afternoon soya milk was waiting for me. Also when we came back fresh packet of soya milk was there for me, even though we came for one night only. It was very kind and made me feel really at home.
Rooms are very comfortable with spacious, clean bathrooms. There is everything one may need.
We travel a lot and stay mostly in hotels but I must honestly say Rodenburg House was in many ways better than 5 stars hotel.
Although we stayed there only for two first nights of our holidays, three weeks later, coming back to Rodenburg House for our last night in SA, we felt like coming home where friends are waiting.
One day we plan to go back to SA and it is already decided we will stay in Rodenburg at least for a week. Actually, it is a pity to stay in this beautiful place less than a week. THANK YOU VERY MUCH. Joanna

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anisia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Thank you for those kind words, Hope you are well and not too busy!
Warm regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2011

My colleagues and I stayed for three nights and had one of our best experiences ever. We travel all over the world and the RFoodenburg Guest House ranks with the top accomodations in the world. We occupied the whole guest house and held our meetings on the premises. The service was exemplary, including providing additional meals, preparing cappucinos to start our busy days, and helping us navigate through Cape Town. The rooms and bathrooms are large and beautifully decorated and the included breakfast is wonderful. This will be my home away from home whenever I visit Cape Town for business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNeuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Thank you for those kind words, Hope you are well and not too busy!
Warm regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We stayed at this wonderful guest house for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day due to overcrowding in our own home and what a wonderful treat. It is like a hidden gem in the heart of Rondebosch and you would never know such a beautiful, peaceful retreat exists right off the busy main rd. The rooms are very beautiully done with gorgeous interior styling and wonderful attention to detail. Very classy and smart. There is a wonderful swimming pool as well as a well appointed bar. Even a gym! The breakfast was superb and the staff very friendly. I would very much recommend this guest house to any one be it for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beetle1CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rondebosch
1.0 mi away
Southern Sun Newlands
Southern Sun Newlands
#1 of 3 in Newlands
430 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
1.4 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Knightsbury Guest House
Knightsbury Guest House
#2 of 20 in Rondebosch
70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 29 in Newlands
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandown Lodge
Sandown Lodge
#6 of 20 in Rondebosch
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roodenburg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roodenburg House

Property: Roodenburg House
Address: 74 Camp Ground Road, Rondebosch 7700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rondebosch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Rondebosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Roodenburg House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored 1882 Arts and Crafts residence is set in the heart of leafy Rondebosch, close to sports stadia and UCT. Luxury and comfort with air-conditioned bedrooms, original art work, fireplaces, stylish bar and lounges, gym and saltwater pool set in tranquil gardens. DSTV and WiFi. Gourmet breakfasts alfresco or indoors, with home cooked dinners offered. Spa treatments arranged. Conferences for up to 20. Easy access to City and airport. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House | Secure gated parking | Children welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Roodenburg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roodenburg House Rondebosch, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing