We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for the Two Oveans” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roodenburg House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roodenburg House
Ranked #1 of 20 Rondebosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hasselt, Belgium
2 reviews
“Good location for the Two Oveans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Good management, very clean chambers, . We slept very well and comfortable. Very friendly personnel, excellent place for excursions in the Cape peninsula neighborhood. Good place for staying if you run the Two Oceans.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GuyT290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
30
16
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrison, Maine, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

This was the first place we stayed while my husband and I were in South Africa. I was an awesome place to stay! The breakfast was out of this world. The room was great, it was very well cleaned and very well kept up. The location was a perfect home base to do things around the area. The grounds were beautiful and ver well kept. I would stay here again in a second.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KateG637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

After a long, exhausting day, it was wonderful to go "home" to Roodenburg. Philip's breakfasts are super and his gentle, kind spirit will always be remembered. Thank you David for making me feel welcome and at home. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. Will be back if I can! Won't give away all the finer detail - experience this stately heritage home for yourself.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berchem
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Very large rooms, excellent service & hospitality, nice setting.
Location between the city center & the airport is OK, but the area in itself is not of high value. Philip was very friendly in preparing our breakfasts. The Manager assisted us several times in setting up our trips.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thank you very much for your review we hope you are safely back at home having enjoyed your trip to Africa warm regards david
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbroom, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Roodenburg House is a delightful heritage home and we were warmly welcomed by staff who went out of their way to make our stay over the festive season, special. We really enjoyed our stay as a family of 8 but would recommend Roodenburg House's central location as being more suited to your business traveler.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

The decoration is very nice and the place is quiet in a very nice environment (in particular you will enjoy a nice view of the table mountain)
Service is excellent and the staff is very kind.
Last but not least, breakfast is very good.
You can go !

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Thank you for staying with us and your kind words. We wish you all the very best over the festive season and look forward to having you stay again. Please also pass on our festive wishes to your colleague who often stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have traveled to Cape Town several times over the last few years and have stayed in a couple different B&B's. The Roodenburg House was by far the best experience! It's so conveniently located and has great amenities, but the personal attention given by David and his staff was extraordinary! One night we grabbed some carry-out from a nearby Thai restaurant and brought it back to the Roodenburg House. The staff brought out plates and silverware for us at a time when they were off-duty. Just one of the many ways they made us feel welcome during our stay. I would highly recommend the Roodenburg House to anyone who is traveling to Cape Town for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bwcarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
From all of us a Roodenburg house all the best for the New Year and thank you for your kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rondebosch
1.4 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#75 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Knightsbury Guest House
Knightsbury Guest House
#3 of 20 in Rondebosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 27 in Newlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carmichael Guesthouse
Carmichael Guesthouse
#1 of 2 in Rosebank
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roodenburg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roodenburg House

Property: Roodenburg House
Address: 74 Camp Ground Road, Rondebosch 7700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rondebosch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Rondebosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Roodenburg House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored 1882 Arts and Crafts residence is set in the heart of leafy Rondebosch, close to sports stadia and UCT. Luxury and comfort with air-conditioned bedrooms, original art work, fireplaces, stylish bar and lounges, gym and saltwater pool set in tranquil gardens. DSTV and WiFi. Gourmet breakfasts alfresco or indoors, with home cooked dinners offered. Spa treatments arranged. Conferences for up to 20. Easy access to City and airport. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House | Secure gated parking | Children welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Roodenburg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roodenburg House Rondebosch, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing