We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate in every way”
Review of Roodenburg House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roodenburg House
Ranked #3 of 20 Rondebosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights here in June. We had the Roodenburg Suite which was huge with a large ensuite bathroom with shower, tub and double basin. French doors opened onto a small patio with table and chairs. The room was spotless with a large, comfortable king size bed. Complimentary sherry decanter and chocolates on the pillows each evening. From the moment we arrived, Philip and Eleena were on hand to attend to our every request. Nothing was too much trouble for them. When we wanted to have a picnic dinner in our room one night, Philip provided all the utensils, glasses, napkins etc. that we needed to dine in style! The large, comfortable lounge with a fully stocked honor bar is wonderful to kick back of an afternoon/evening and there is an adjoining solarium with comfortable chairs and couches for cold days. The inn has a small swimming pool which we didn't use, but we did take advantage of the small but well equipped gym. We enjoyed fresh fruits and yogurt for breakfast but other guests had wonderful looking, fully cooked English breakfasts. Off street secure parking is provided.
This is a high class establishment and is worth the few extra dollars it costs to stay here. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank blou3bul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thank you very much for the lovely words. We appreciate it a lot and are looking forward to having you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Love this place: always clean, bright, beautiful and friendly. You can arrive in sun or rain, there's always someone around to show you how to get to places or you can sit in the front lounge and relax with a glass of good bubbles and chill. Lovely, wonderful place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jaqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thank you very much for you review. It helps a lot. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Excellent service! Polite, friendly and exceedingly helpful staff, especially Philip and David. Beautiful room and facilities; excellent breakfast. Considerate extras - sherry and chocs provided every evening; baggage storage even though I had checked out; generous teas and coffees! I would highly recommend this B+B!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charmainer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Good management, very clean chambers, . We slept very well and comfortable. Very friendly personnel, excellent place for excursions in the Cape peninsula neighborhood. Good place for staying if you run the Two Oceans.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GuyT290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This was the first place we stayed while my husband and I were in South Africa. I was an awesome place to stay! The breakfast was out of this world. The room was great, it was very well cleaned and very well kept up. The location was a perfect home base to do things around the area. The grounds were beautiful and ver well kept. I would stay here again in a second.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KateG637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

After a long, exhausting day, it was wonderful to go "home" to Roodenburg. Philip's breakfasts are super and his gentle, kind spirit will always be remembered. Thank you David for making me feel welcome and at home. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. Will be back if I can! Won't give away all the finer detail - experience this stately heritage home for yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Very large rooms, excellent service & hospitality, nice setting.
Location between the city center & the airport is OK, but the area in itself is not of high value. Philip was very friendly in preparing our breakfasts. The Manager assisted us several times in setting up our trips.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Thank you very much for your review we hope you are safely back at home having enjoyed your trip to Africa warm regards david

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rondebosch
0.7 mi away
Banksia Boutique
Banksia Boutique
#2 of 2 in Rosebank
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 29 in Newlands
349 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oak and Vine Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Little Scotia Guest House
Little Scotia Guest House
#5 of 20 in Rondebosch
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knightsbury Guest House
Knightsbury Guest House
#2 of 20 in Rondebosch
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandown Lodge
Sandown Lodge
#7 of 20 in Rondebosch
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roodenburg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roodenburg House

Address: 74 Camp Ground Road, Rondebosch 7700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rondebosch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Rondebosch
Price Range: £77 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roodenburg House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored 1882 Arts and Crafts residence is set in the heart of leafy Rondebosch, close to sports stadia and UCT. Luxury and comfort with air-conditioned bedrooms, original art work, fireplaces, stylish bar and lounges, gym and saltwater pool set in tranquil gardens. DSTV and WiFi. Gourmet breakfasts alfresco or indoors, with home cooked dinners offered. Spa treatments arranged. Conferences for up to 20. Easy access to City and airport. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House | Secure gated parking | Children welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Roodenburg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roodenburg House Rondebosch, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing