We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great guest house”
Review of Roodenburg House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roodenburg House
Ranked #1 of 20 Rondebosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Henley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great guest house”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed in the Mountain Suite room 5 on the garden side of the guest house and it could not have been nicer or more comfortable. We were well looked after by Philip and the team and we enjoyed a relaxing afternoon in the garden by the pool after our overnight flight to Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your feedback. It will be lovely to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
30
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

A delightful guesthouse, where the standards are well above a four star hotel. The staff were very helpful and dealt quickly and efficiently with all requests. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are a luxurious retreat after a long day in the sun. Nearby shops and cafes provides for any last minute needs. The environment both in the house and outside is perfectly safe. The journey into the city centre is a pleasurable 10 minute drive whilst the airport is only 20 minutes away.
The breakfasts were excellent and the staff always helpful and obliging.

Room Tip: Rears at the rear are quieter as the road at the front is busy from 6 until 9 a.m. Rooms next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you Michael for your lovely reveiw. We appreciate your positive feedback. We would love to see you and John again. All the best!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Excellent service and facilities. Nearby location for business at UCT. Rooms are comfortable and clean.Although close to the centre of Rondebosch, you don't get disturbed by traffic noise. Nice environment for jogging as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 1952Martin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you. It was lovely having you here. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I had the priviledge of staying at Roodenburg House for 4 nights total while visiting Cape Town on holiday with my son & cousins. The rooms are super clean, safe, quiet & comfortable with excellent beds, linens & amenities. The decor is tastefully done & there is a lovely backyard to relax in the shaded patio or poolside. Eleen, at the front desk, was very welcoming & helpful. She ensured me a room at another guest house when I decided to stay longer in CT & everything was booked. I then returned to Roodenburg on my last night because it was so comfortable there. Phillip is the best host & served us delicious, plentiful breakfasts. He also patiently helped me log on when I had a computer glitch. I felt very relaxed and cared for & would definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you. It was lovely having you here. We hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We will definitely be staying at Roodenburg House again. The staff were very warm and welcoming. The breakfast was superb and the rooms were lovely and clean, with white linen and a very comfy bed. We had been looking for a guest house on a trip to visit UCT and introduce my daughter to Cape Town and although it feels homey, we still had the type of privacy you would get in a hotel. Superb stat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ziona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hi Ziona. Thank you very much for the kind words. We appreciate it a lot. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarens, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I was here for a family wedding in November. The staff were absolutely wonderful, SO welcoming, friendly and efficient. They went out of their way to help us and make it an unforgettable experience.Many thanks!

Room Tip: The two front rooms are the nicest & most spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It is much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This guest house has the luxury air of a boutique hotel but it is warm and friendly: like home from home but with a fabulous breakfast. It is central, has great views of the mountain and is secure. Each room has its own personality and they are well furnished with crisp linen and designer bathrooms.


  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HawkSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you very much for the lovely reveiw. We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rondebosch
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
0.7 mi away
Banksia Boutique
Banksia Boutique
#2 of 2 in Rosebank
131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Knightsbury Guest House
Knightsbury Guest House
#2 of 20 in Rondebosch
70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 29 in Newlands
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandown Lodge
Sandown Lodge
#6 of 20 in Rondebosch
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roodenburg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roodenburg House

Property: Roodenburg House
Address: 74 Camp Ground Road, Rondebosch 7700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rondebosch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Rondebosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Roodenburg House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored 1882 Arts and Crafts residence is set in the heart of leafy Rondebosch, close to sports stadia and UCT. Luxury and comfort with air-conditioned bedrooms, original art work, fireplaces, stylish bar and lounges, gym and saltwater pool set in tranquil gardens. DSTV and WiFi. Gourmet breakfasts alfresco or indoors, with home cooked dinners offered. Spa treatments arranged. Conferences for up to 20. Easy access to City and airport. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House | Secure gated parking | Children welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Roodenburg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roodenburg House Rondebosch, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing