We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite up to Expectations”
Review of Roodenburg House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roodenburg House
Ranked #1 of 20 Rondebosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not quite up to Expectations”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed over for one night and selected Roodenburg House based on other reviews and location close to the venue where I had to attend a seminar. The room was warm and clean, but..... The shower drain was blocked which limited my shower experience to approximately 2 minutes before the basin would overflow. The towels were small and thin - not what one would expect from a 4 star establishment. As other reviews pointed out, the access to/from Campground Road is bad and there is a lot of noise from the busy road. It was raining during the night and our room was under a zinc roof - it sounded like a rock band practicing above. The breakfast was OK, but slow in coming, which resulted in me being late for my appointment. All in all not what I expected for the rate charged and I will not recommend the guest house, nor will I return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristoW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, General Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
As management and staff we sincerely regret the guest’s experience. We always appreciate feed- back and take complaints very seriously.
We have spoken to him and apologised for the inconveniences he had.
We also would like to mention that the room he stayed is not under a zinc roof but under tiles. The room also has double glazing windows, a bath and a shower. The towels and blocked drain of the shower are unacceptable and we will do our best that this does not happen again. We have invited the guest back without charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
30
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Location not far from the hotel... their hospitality is simply amazing... the rooms are very clean and large... They have made them very comfortable.
They organize cabs for you and the cabs are efficient. ..

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shreya03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you!! It was an absolute pleasure having you here. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Very good fit for purpose business lodging near university. Bar had no ice late at night. Very helpful reception and staff. Complimentary first drink a good idea.
Room that I had was small despite other rooms being available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Compliments to Phillip, who was great! He prepared breakfast for us @ 04h30 as we participated in the Two Oceans. The grounds are stunning, the rooms clean & spacious! Recommend it & will return soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GizelleA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We enjoyed having you here. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stunning Accommodation, Beautiful Garden and Pool Area. Willing to go extra mile. Thank you for your hospitality and definitely should be 5 star establishment. Definitely recommend and definitely see you soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clyde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you Clyde for you stunning review. We are looking forward to seeing you soon. Send my regards to the family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A perfect place for me to stay on a business trip to Cape Town - close to my clients and good restaurants in the area. Phillip is a real asset. I will definitely be back and highly recommend Roodenburg House!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Hi Mark. Thank you for the lovely review. We would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottburgh
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The price range was a little high for my budget, but as the Argus was on and I booked late, we were happy to find Roodenburg House. It is a great place to stay - a special mention of Phillip. A bit hairy getting on to Campground Road during peak traffic!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind word. We will be happy to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rondebosch
1.0 mi away
Southern Sun Newlands
Southern Sun Newlands
#1 of 3 in Newlands
430 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
1.4 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Knightsbury Guest House
Knightsbury Guest House
#2 of 20 in Rondebosch
70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 29 in Newlands
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandown Lodge
Sandown Lodge
#6 of 20 in Rondebosch
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roodenburg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roodenburg House

Property: Roodenburg House
Address: 74 Camp Ground Road, Rondebosch 7700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rondebosch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Rondebosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Roodenburg House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored 1882 Arts and Crafts residence is set in the heart of leafy Rondebosch, close to sports stadia and UCT. Luxury and comfort with air-conditioned bedrooms, original art work, fireplaces, stylish bar and lounges, gym and saltwater pool set in tranquil gardens. DSTV and WiFi. Gourmet breakfasts alfresco or indoors, with home cooked dinners offered. Spa treatments arranged. Conferences for up to 20. Easy access to City and airport. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House | Secure gated parking | Children welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Roodenburg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roodenburg House Rondebosch, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing