We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home from home - they just get better!”
Review of Palm House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm House
Ranked #1 of 4 Wynberg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We have used Palm House as our chosen conference venue since 2006, and they really just keep on getting better. The best part of working from there, is that it feels like we're working from home - the staff are incredibly friendly, professional and eager to please. For us it is not about having everything perfectly laid out by stuffy professionals who are unapproachable. It's about having the confidence and freedom to negotiate our wishes with people we like, respect and trust - something Palm House fulfills every time. The venue is charming and comfortable, with some stunning scenery. It is well laid out and suits our purposes which includes being able to spread out, have variety, and capitalise on the indoor and outdoor facilities. The food is outstanding! Hearty, home-cooked style meals that make me feel like my mom's in the kitchen. The equipment is up-to-date and easy to use. But again, the best thing about it is the people - willing, friendly, warm, caring and thoughtful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zelbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

Once again another wonderful experience at Palm House - it just seems to get better and better. Headed there again in January 2012 with a group of 20 and once again the planning, communication and pricing for Palm House has been spot on

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed at Palm House as member of a small conference group, with most delegates resident. Shaun and his team went the extra mile to ensure that our group was comfortable and catered for at all times.
Front-of-house, waitron and kitchen staff assistance and service was pleasant and friendly. Bedroom suites are spacious and very comfortable.
Palm House is set in well-kept grounds and one never tires of the views of Table Mountain from the lawn near the pool.
It is situated reasonably close to major sporting, tourist and shopping centres and not too far from main access routes to the city centre and other areas of interest in and around Cape Town.

Room Tip: Visit the user-friendly website for choices. For views, suggest upstairs and west-facing suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed here on a couple of occasions. This is a nice place but slightly outdated. Don't expect a top hotel, it is more sort of a South African styled B&B. There is a pool which is quite nice and enough places to park your (rental) car. We did find it a bit over-priced for what it was.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJ-EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Palm House is trolley a home from home, we have stayed here a number of times over the past few years an each time it gets better. We did know about Tripadvisor and have always just written in guest book, but want everyone to know what a great place this. It only takes about 10 mins to get into the hustle and bussle of central Cape Town so it very convenient. My partner is a Golf fanatic so having so many Golf Clubs within a 15 min drive is Golf heaven. The Manager & his wife are just amassing, nothing is to much trouble and the staff are so helpful. It is so nice to find somewhere you can relax with gardens. We will be making another trip in January to Cape Town and would not dream of staying anywhere else. We hope they will have our favourite room available.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AloeMan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Palm House, it's owners and staff are just the most welcoming, warm and hospitable hosts and absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them during our brief stay in Januaury 2010. The relaxed atmosphere, the care of the management and staff made our trip very special - it was like coming home to paradise. A huge thank you for the love and care you showed my 90 year old mum and the kindness shown to all of us. Knowing that you would take us anywhere, anytime was such a joy. Sally Ann Hodson & Joycie Greig

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

I have now stayed at Palm House on 4 different occaisions and have no intention of staying anywhere else on future trips to Cape Town. It is simply superb, luxurious, relaxed, friendly, efficient, well located and very reasonably priced! I have stayed with my family as well as tour groups and their ability to cater for each and every need of each group, and the manner in which they do it, is something not often found.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wynberg hotels
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.1 mi away
Oxford Cottage B&B
Oxford Cottage B&B
#2 of 4 in Wynberg
16 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Navine's Homestay
#4 of 4 in Wynberg
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm House

Address: 10 Oxford Street | Upper Wynberg, Wynberg 7800, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Wynberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wynberg
Price Range: £72 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic palms this tranquil retreat overlooks the magnificent Constantiaberg Mountains, taking in the rear view of the "Twelve Apostles" and "Table Mountain" Palm House was designed by a protégé of renowned architect Sir Herbert Baker in the early 1920’s and has been lovingly restored to its full grandeur. The entrance hall with its original oak floors and magnificent staircase greet you after entering the elegant arched entrance. Wood paneling, open fireplaces and rich, relaxing and elegant décor will make you feel as though you are a special guest in a private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palm House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm House Wynberg, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing