We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Palm House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm House
Ranked #1 of 4 Wynberg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This place was a true paradise. Enjoy the food and the excellent service while you are there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gusho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Palm House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights over Dec 11 and Jan 12. Rooms were large and well equiped. Service from all the staff was great - special mention to Sean and Gilbert. The breakfasts were filling and good food. The pool is excellent and great after a hot day of sightseeing. Excellent views from my room overlooking the mountains. A little out of the city but they do provide a driver and sometimes at short notice! Bathrooms were clean and mine was huge.

Room Tip: Take the executive rooms - I had the Phoenix Room
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobartgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Having stayed before at the Palm House in 2009 we did not look for another location in Cape Town when we came back this year. Excellent location and superb service from the staff who looked after all our needs from breakfast to the limousine service to go site seeing in the city.
A safe friendly and relaxing location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neilsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I had a great stay. Charming bedroom, good food during breakfast, friendly staff and lovely environment.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanetteRHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

A charming and comfortable suite with spectacular views. Helpful staff who were quick to cater to our needs. A substantial breakfast every morning which sent us off well fed. I can highly recommend this quiet and secure B and B.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roset330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Excellent place to stay in Cape Town. Has been there five times for business trip and service is excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Absolutely excellent and friendly service with breath-taking views of Table Mountain! Has a lovely, authentic colonial feel!

Will definitely be back soon

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wynberg
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
0.2 mi away
Highlands Country House
Highlands Country House
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
99 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newlands
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Thirty on Grace
Thirty on Grace
#2 of 10 in Claremont
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Valley Heights Guest House
Valley Heights Guest House
#3 of 5 in Kenilworth
4 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Andros Boutique Hotel
The Andros Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm House

Address: 10 Oxford Street | Upper Wynberg, Wynberg 7800, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Wynberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wynberg
Price Range: £75 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic palms this tranquil retreat overlooks the magnificent Constantiaberg Mountains, taking in the rear view of the "Twelve Apostles" and "Table Mountain" Palm House was designed by a protégé of renowned architect Sir Herbert Baker in the early 1920’s and has been lovingly restored to its full grandeur. The entrance hall with its original oak floors and magnificent staircase greet you after entering the elegant arched entrance. Wood paneling, open fireplaces and rich, relaxing and elegant décor will make you feel as though you are a special guest in a private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palm House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm House Wynberg, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing