We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Guesthouse”
Review of Palm House

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm House
Ranked #1 of 4 Wynberg B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Guesthouse”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We have just got back from a stay at Palm House (our fifth). It is a marvelous guesthouse and we never consider staying anywhere else in Cape Town, The house and gardens are beautiful and well cared for and it feels just like home. The staff is highly efficient, helpful and friendly and they always go out of their way to make our stay perfect. the breakfasts and lunches are wonderful and the first thing you see in the morning, after the wonderful views, are the friendly faces of the staff, wether at the reception desk, in the dining room or in the garden. We enjoy staying in the beautiful southern suburbs which are away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Cape Town bur still close to all the Cape Town attractions. We hope to back next year

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    29
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
16
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed with my family for a week at the end of Dec 2011 to early Jan 2012. The staff were excellent and the rooms comfortable and clean. A great base for a family stay in Cape Town.

Room Tip: As a family we stayed in one of the cottages. It was great. With three young children I am always co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visby, Sverige
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This place was a true paradise. Enjoy the food and the excellent service while you are there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights over Dec 11 and Jan 12. Rooms were large and well equiped. Service from all the staff was great - special mention to Sean and Gilbert. The breakfasts were filling and good food. The pool is excellent and great after a hot day of sightseeing. Excellent views from my room overlooking the mountains. A little out of the city but they do provide a driver and sometimes at short notice! Bathrooms were clean and mine was huge.

Room Tip: Take the executive rooms - I had the Phoenix Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Having stayed before at the Palm House in 2009 we did not look for another location in Cape Town when we came back this year. Excellent location and superb service from the staff who looked after all our needs from breakfast to the limousine service to go site seeing in the city.
A safe friendly and relaxing location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I had a great stay. Charming bedroom, good food during breakfast, friendly staff and lovely environment.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2011

A charming and comfortable suite with spectacular views. Helpful staff who were quick to cater to our needs. A substantial breakfast every morning which sent us off well fed. I can highly recommend this quiet and secure B and B.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wynberg
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
0.2 mi away
Highlands Country House
Highlands Country House
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
99 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oxford Cottage B&B
Oxford Cottage B&B
#2 of 4 in Wynberg
16 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thirty on Grace
Thirty on Grace
#2 of 10 in Claremont
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Palm House

Property: Palm House
Address: 10 Oxford Street | Upper Wynberg, Wynberg 7800, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Wynberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wynberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic palms this tranquil retreat overlooks the magnificent Constantiaberg Mountains, taking in the rear view of the "Twelve Apostles" and "Table Mountain" Palm House was designed by a protégé of renowned architect Sir Herbert Baker in the early 1920’s and has been lovingly restored to its full grandeur. The entrance hall with its original oak floors and magnificent staircase greet you after entering the elegant arched entrance. Wood paneling, open fireplaces and rich, relaxing and elegant décor will make you feel as though you are a special guest in a private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Palm House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm House Wynberg, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing