We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palm House
Ranked #1 of 3 Wynberg B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent accommodation and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

On arrival we were greeted well and made to feel very welcome. Room was luxurious and very comfortable with separate well appointed lounge and bedroom with all amenities. We had a most delicious supper and a delightful breakfast. Staff excellent providing good service. Consequently we were reluctant to check out. Would we come again? Absolutely yes!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmHouse, Manager at Palm House, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Graham T,


Thank you so much for your feedback. It was a pleasure hosting you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!


Regards


Shaun Lawrence
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    28
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
14
3
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

need to maybe just relook the cleanliness of the rooms, suggest at least one bottle water per room and ensure there is another option for breakfast for those of us that don't eat pork and beef, also think the nets above the bed needs washing otherwise enjoyed the stay thoroughly and the manager and front desk staff was excellent in making my stay comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarup
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

You will find fine rooms with all facilities. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The free Internet is limited, but normally sufficient. The restaurant is cosy, but with mainly smaller disches. The breakfast is very nice. The price is in the upper end.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear JohnB,

Thank you for your review. We at Palm House strive for perfection and by reading your comments helps us understand our guests needs and where we may need to improve.

I am happy to that you and your group had a pleasant stay with us. You will be glad to hear that we have upgraded our internet service and it is now very 'user friendly'.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Shaun Lawrence
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Palm House described in their latest brochure as a Boutique Hotel is attractive and appears smart and tidy on first sight , maybe a few areas for the sharp eyes are a little tired but not anything to worry about. There were three couples in our group using the Hotel as a base for two weeks holiday. We found that not many Guests stayed that long. The entrance and reception are very dark and you have a job to see when you first go in, little doubt caused by the very dark panelling from the original house. The rest of the Hotel was light and pleasant. We will start with breakfast-- Yoghurts, Fruit, Cereals and a small selection of Pastries, with the choice of a cooked if that is your scene all very good. There is not an evening meal as such although it is possible to have a salad or snack , we did notice one night they produced a Barbecue for a group of guests, but nothing that would compare with a Restaurant meal. We were told that a more substantial evening meal was maybe on the agenda for the future. There is a large lawn in the front running down to a Pool surrounded by about six small guest Cottages. The Pool is not heated, even though the temp: was around 27c most days the water was always shall we say bracing ! There is a Hotel Mini Bus to collect and take you anywhere in Cape Town, the charges are not expensive. The bedrooms are clean and large with comfortable beds and a good shower. The wi fi connection seems expensive it is certainly worth checking.. We stayed in room 3 which overlooks the front lawn and distant mountains, a lovely view. The entrance to the Hotel is down a narrow one way street opposite a large School, that can cause a few delays if you want to leave at the time the children are being dropped off. A Car is something we would have hired wherever we stayed but it was a must for what we wanted as the location is a little way from say the Harbour and main shopping places, a bonus for us they drive on the left and it is all fairly relaxed, there is also a rental Garage reasonablly close to the Hotel. The Palm House is not a five star Hotel and doe not pretend to be but it is good at what it does comfortable clean and set in a nice area. We would never mind using it again if only to see all the lovely staff who couldnt be more friendly or helpful whatever star rating Hotel you used

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

Even though it was a short trip and it was during the holiday breaks for the Palm House staff, Mr. Sean (General Manager) made our stay wonderful. We had a warm welcome upon checking-in and their services were beyond our expectations. On the day we arrived, there was a party so they upgraded us to Carmel Cottage to give us a good privacy. All bed on each rooms have mosquito nets. Half-side on all the windows can be opened. We left it open during the times we're not around and close it when its near night time. The compound is very quiet and we have a sitting area that as a family can relax after touring Cape Town. Mr. Silivanni (Reception) was our to-go-to guy and had helped us immensely. All GPS were all rented out so he lend us his during our stay. We would be at lost if he didn't so. He even gave us a road map, just in case. He gave us ideas on where to go and where to shop within our budget. Mr. Mustapha took over when Mr. Silivanni is either busy or done for the day. On the day that we were all planning to go to Table Mountain, Mr. Sean took upon himself to check fwhether it was open since it was getting windy. Good thing he did. The restaurant have a breakfast and light lunch menus. We had our breakfast all through-out our stay and it was sufficient. The morning buffet have various selections of cereal, fresh fruits, cheese tray and sometimes breads. Our daughter even have a pleasure of eating pizza for breakfast! The Carmel Cottage have 3 bedrooms with a bathroom, and a living & dining area. No a/c, only ceiling fans. They brought over 2 more stand fans in case we wanted some rooms to be cooler. We had one in the living-dining area since the ceiling fan wasn't working. The other one, we had the kids use it along with the working ceiling fan. The room next to our kids, the ceiling fan was a bit noisy so my husband and I stayed in the room next to the living-dining area. That room doesn't have enough storage for clothes so we used the other room (with the noisy ceiling fan). The kids have the same ample storage for theirs. The cottage have a safety box. From the Palm House to Table Mountain, Canal Walk and Water Front, it took us about 30 mins max or less. Very easy, no traffic and even though the steering wheel is at the left, we didn't had any problem driving due to proper marked signs.

Mr. Sean, Mr. Silivanni, Mr. Mustapha and to all the staff that were there during our stay, we thank you kindly for making our stay very comfortable. Even with limited staff, we felt as guests that y'all want to come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edu c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear edu c,

Thank you for your comments. At Palm House we strive to meet and exceed our guests expectations.

I am glad you and your family had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.


Kind regards

Shaun Lawrence

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

In this guest house you will find luxury and fine rooms. The breakfast is fine and the service superior. The Internet is to be paid for, but 5 Mb is free. The location is wonderful with some nice view from the windows. The price was reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We were on a business trip to Cape Town and were recommended this place by our local business partners whose office was a street away from the Palm House. Location wise Wynberg isn't exactly the place you'd be staying in, if you were visiting Cape Town but for us it turned out to be extremely convenient. We did move out to the town center once the work got over.

The Upside

Within Wynberg, the Palm House is located within a quiet and more up-market neighborhood. It is a beautiful guest house with a very homely feel. Other than standard guest house rooms, it has several cottages which are separated by gardens affording privacy and solitude. The staff is extremely courteous - we were upgraded to their largest cottage (Pool House) on arrival because they felt that the one we had booked (Carmel Cottage) would have been a little cramped for the four of us traveling. It helped that it was the lean season and they had that flexibility.

The food is great too - you don't need to step out and the staff do a great job of preparing your dinner on order. All said, we liked the place for the privacy it gave us and a beautiful premises that made it feel like we were coming back home.

The Downside

The cottage layouts are a little funny - in that, for a 4 person cottage which has two rooms, there is only one shared bathroom. The Pool House is the only cottage which has two bathrooms for 3 rooms. It is also the nicest cottage I suppose - with an inviting pool right outside the door.

The other strange system is the wifi which is managed by Red Button. For the week that we spent at The Palm House - we couldn't figure how the wifi services were charged. They have a rather strange and ungenerous limit of a few odd MBs which runs out within a matter of minutes if you are a business user making the wifi service rather expensive. In this day and age, I wish the Palm House would shift to a more standard system of day long charges for unlimited browsing.

But for these niggling annoyances - I would have been happy to give The Palm House a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Go for the Pool House if its within your budget and you are traveling with a group of 4 adults (+ ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayush C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wynberg
1.1 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 6 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlands Country House
Highlands Country House
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 6 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Terrace
The Terrace
#1 of 5 in Kenilworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm House

Property: Palm House
Address: 10 Oxford Street | Upper Wynberg, Wynberg 7800, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Wynberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wynberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic palms this tranquil retreat overlooks the magnificent Constantiaberg Mountains, taking in the rear view of the "Twelve Apostles" and "Table Mountain" Palm House was designed by a protégé of renowned architect Sir Herbert Baker in the early 1920’s and has been lovingly restored to its full grandeur. The entrance hall with its original oak floors and magnificent staircase greet you after entering the elegant arched entrance. Wood paneling, open fireplaces and rich, relaxing and elegant décor will make you feel as though you are a special guest in a private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Palm House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm House Wynberg, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing