We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Palm House August 2013”
Review of Palm House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm House
Ranked #1 of 4 Wynberg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 September 2013

All good but recommend free wireless. They provide some Mb free; then you pay. Nowadays wireless is expected esp. if on work; I would've chosen a place that offered that, but was there for a training.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shirley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Shirley,

Thank you for your review.

At Palm House we provide 80mb per day at no cost. Once you exceed that limit then you may purchase additional mbs with your credit card.

Most hotels in Cape Town and around the world within the 3-4 star bracket operate in a similar way.

Kind regards


Shaun Lawrence
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Palm House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Excellent all around. You could improve your culinary offerings from the mundane to more interesting stuff. Also, since it was Capetown's cold season, the rooms were unbearably cold. Although the downstairs room had heating or a fire, the bedrooms were freezing. Perhaps some space heaters during the cold season. The staff were exceptionally helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bin179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear AI Trainee,


Thank you for your comments.

Apart from the cold weather you experienced while in Cape Town I am glad you had a pleasant stay with us.

Please note we have heaters and extra blankets available for every room.

Kind regards


Shaun Lawrence

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

On arrival we were greeted well and made to feel very welcome. Room was luxurious and very comfortable with separate well appointed lounge and bedroom with all amenities. We had a most delicious supper and a delightful breakfast. Staff excellent providing good service. Consequently we were reluctant to check out. Would we come again? Absolutely yes!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmHouse, Manager at Palm House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Graham T,


Thank you so much for your feedback. It was a pleasure hosting you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!


Regards


Shaun Lawrence
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

need to maybe just relook the cleanliness of the rooms, suggest at least one bottle water per room and ensure there is another option for breakfast for those of us that don't eat pork and beef, also think the nets above the bed needs washing otherwise enjoyed the stay thoroughly and the manager and front desk staff was excellent in making my stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

You will find fine rooms with all facilities. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The free Internet is limited, but normally sufficient. The restaurant is cosy, but with mainly smaller disches. The breakfast is very nice. The price is in the upper end.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear JohnB,

Thank you for your review. We at Palm House strive for perfection and by reading your comments helps us understand our guests needs and where we may need to improve.

I am happy to that you and your group had a pleasant stay with us. You will be glad to hear that we have upgraded our internet service and it is now very 'user friendly'.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Shaun Lawrence
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Palm House described in their latest brochure as a Boutique Hotel is attractive and appears smart and tidy on first sight , maybe a few areas for the sharp eyes are a little tired but not anything to worry about. There were three couples in our group using the Hotel as a base for two weeks holiday. We found that not many Guests stayed that long. The entrance and reception are very dark and you have a job to see when you first go in, little doubt caused by the very dark panelling from the original house. The rest of the Hotel was light and pleasant. We will start with breakfast-- Yoghurts, Fruit, Cereals and a small selection of Pastries, with the choice of a cooked if that is your scene all very good. There is not an evening meal as such although it is possible to have a salad or snack , we did notice one night they produced a Barbecue for a group of guests, but nothing that would compare with a Restaurant meal. We were told that a more substantial evening meal was maybe on the agenda for the future. There is a large lawn in the front running down to a Pool surrounded by about six small guest Cottages. The Pool is not heated, even though the temp: was around 27c most days the water was always shall we say bracing ! There is a Hotel Mini Bus to collect and take you anywhere in Cape Town, the charges are not expensive. The bedrooms are clean and large with comfortable beds and a good shower. The wi fi connection seems expensive it is certainly worth checking.. We stayed in room 3 which overlooks the front lawn and distant mountains, a lovely view. The entrance to the Hotel is down a narrow one way street opposite a large School, that can cause a few delays if you want to leave at the time the children are being dropped off. A Car is something we would have hired wherever we stayed but it was a must for what we wanted as the location is a little way from say the Harbour and main shopping places, a bonus for us they drive on the left and it is all fairly relaxed, there is also a rental Garage reasonablly close to the Hotel. The Palm House is not a five star Hotel and doe not pretend to be but it is good at what it does comfortable clean and set in a nice area. We would never mind using it again if only to see all the lovely staff who couldnt be more friendly or helpful whatever star rating Hotel you used

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Even though it was a short trip and it was during the holiday breaks for the Palm House staff, Mr. Sean (General Manager) made our stay wonderful. We had a warm welcome upon checking-in and their services were beyond our expectations. On the day we arrived, there was a party so they upgraded us to Carmel Cottage to give us a good privacy. All bed on each rooms have mosquito nets. Half-side on all the windows can be opened. We left it open during the times we're not around and close it when its near night time. The compound is very quiet and we have a sitting area that as a family can relax after touring Cape Town. Mr. Silivanni (Reception) was our to-go-to guy and had helped us immensely. All GPS were all rented out so he lend us his during our stay. We would be at lost if he didn't so. He even gave us a road map, just in case. He gave us ideas on where to go and where to shop within our budget. Mr. Mustapha took over when Mr. Silivanni is either busy or done for the day. On the day that we were all planning to go to Table Mountain, Mr. Sean took upon himself to check fwhether it was open since it was getting windy. Good thing he did. The restaurant have a breakfast and light lunch menus. We had our breakfast all through-out our stay and it was sufficient. The morning buffet have various selections of cereal, fresh fruits, cheese tray and sometimes breads. Our daughter even have a pleasure of eating pizza for breakfast! The Carmel Cottage have 3 bedrooms with a bathroom, and a living & dining area. No a/c, only ceiling fans. They brought over 2 more stand fans in case we wanted some rooms to be cooler. We had one in the living-dining area since the ceiling fan wasn't working. The other one, we had the kids use it along with the working ceiling fan. The room next to our kids, the ceiling fan was a bit noisy so my husband and I stayed in the room next to the living-dining area. That room doesn't have enough storage for clothes so we used the other room (with the noisy ceiling fan). The kids have the same ample storage for theirs. The cottage have a safety box. From the Palm House to Table Mountain, Canal Walk and Water Front, it took us about 30 mins max or less. Very easy, no traffic and even though the steering wheel is at the left, we didn't had any problem driving due to proper marked signs.

Mr. Sean, Mr. Silivanni, Mr. Mustapha and to all the staff that were there during our stay, we thank you kindly for making our stay very comfortable. Even with limited staff, we felt as guests that y'all want to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edu c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear edu c,

Thank you for your comments. At Palm House we strive to meet and exceed our guests expectations.

I am glad you and your family had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.


Kind regards

Shaun Lawrence

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wynberg
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
0.2 mi away
Highlands Country House
Highlands Country House
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
99 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newlands
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Thirty on Grace
Thirty on Grace
#2 of 10 in Claremont
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Valley Heights Guest House
Valley Heights Guest House
#3 of 5 in Kenilworth
4 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Andros Boutique Hotel
The Andros Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm House

Address: 10 Oxford Street | Upper Wynberg, Wynberg 7800, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Wynberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wynberg
Price Range: £75 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic palms this tranquil retreat overlooks the magnificent Constantiaberg Mountains, taking in the rear view of the "Twelve Apostles" and "Table Mountain" Palm House was designed by a protégé of renowned architect Sir Herbert Baker in the early 1920’s and has been lovingly restored to its full grandeur. The entrance hall with its original oak floors and magnificent staircase greet you after entering the elegant arched entrance. Wood paneling, open fireplaces and rich, relaxing and elegant décor will make you feel as though you are a special guest in a private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palm House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm House Wynberg, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing