We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
33 South Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Great place to stay- I would definitely recommend it. Very easy to get around Cape Town from here and in a lovely neighborhood with great places . Staff is THE BEST- muffins in the morning are even better. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly_J_M323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We´ve been there just for some days, but we felt we´ve been there for years! The Brownies in the kitchen are awesome!Great atmosphere and very nice guys! We met friends for life. My Girlfriend and me had a very great time at 33 South Backpackers. The Coffee and Tea tastes well, and i loved the "Mamas" singin in the morning. We had great conversations at the Bar, havin´ a Braai and chillin our life. Our Tour to Tablemountain and K-Point was great. Special thanx to all the employees at 33 Soth Backpackers! We´ll be back next time! Wish u all the best!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

the staff were very eager to help, but weren't much aware of areas around Cape Town. the rooms/beds are well kept and clean. as far as backpacking hostels go, this is a good place! i wish i had been here long enough to be able to meet other travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ananya_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This really is a great hostel! There is a culture that exists at this particular hostel that is hard to explain. It certainly ticks all the boxes of cleanliness, friendly staff, great event co-ordination, great location. safe and fun; but it also has a feeling that cant been articulated. Kim and her staff have managed to create a vibe that is exciting to be apart of. It is a great place to stay and i hope i find time to get there again. Good luck.

Room Tip: This is a fun hostel, if you're in a shared room - expect it to feel that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I spent 4 weeks at 33south backpacker at my arrival in Cape Town. It is an amazing place to meet people : clean room, amazing kitchen, awesome braai place...
The staff is very friendly too. I highly recommend this place !

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vince31500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Clean rooms, sweet kitchen, good staff and simply a relaxed place to spend your time at.
This backpackers has the most uncomplicated atmosphere you can think of.
We booked in very spontaneously.
So to speak Walk-ins are welcome as well.
I can really recommend this lovely place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

33 South was immediately welcoming to us: in fact, all the staff we encountered on our 5 night stay were very helpful and friendly. The dorms were very clean ( the cleaners even made your bed for you every day!) with very comfortable beds and warm blankets (needed in cold Cape Town). The bathroom was very clean although I did find it odd that there were two toilets with nothing but a glass pane separating them! Weird. But there were two other bathrooms under renovation whilst we were there so no doubt once they're finished 33 South will be even better! Location seems far out but actually it's not too bad, only 10mins from the centre and 6 rand in a minibus. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend them!

Room Tip: Jouge was a very nice dorm room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Observatory
Never at Home Cape Town
#5 of 131 in Cape Town Central
415 reviews
Green Elephant
#2 of 12 in Observatory
160 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#9 of 131 in Cape Town Central
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
91 Loop
#11 of 131 in Cape Town Central
156 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 131 in Cape Town Central
527 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 131 in Cape Town Central
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 33 South Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 33 South Backpackers

Address: 48 Trill Road, Observatory 7925, South Africa (Formerly 33 South Boutique Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Observatory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Observatory
Price Range: £14 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 33 South Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your 33 South Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
33 South Backpackers Observatory, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing