We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
33 South Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY !!”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

There is playing a live band every week at their Gipsy Bar. Such a nice and open minded staff - you are feeling like being part of the family!!!

I will definitely recommend this place to all of my friends!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esther0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    66
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
9
25
101
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Great place to stay- I would definitely recommend it. Very easy to get around Cape Town from here and in a lovely neighborhood with great places . Staff is THE BEST- muffins in the morning are even better. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly_J_M323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We´ve been there just for some days, but we felt we´ve been there for years! The Brownies in the kitchen are awesome!Great atmosphere and very nice guys! We met friends for life. My Girlfriend and me had a very great time at 33 South Backpackers. The Coffee and Tea tastes well, and i loved the "Mamas" singin in the morning. We had great conversations at the Bar, havin´ a Braai and chillin our life. Our Tour to Tablemountain and K-Point was great. Special thanx to all the employees at 33 Soth Backpackers! We´ll be back next time! Wish u all the best!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

the staff were very eager to help, but weren't much aware of areas around Cape Town. the rooms/beds are well kept and clean. as far as backpacking hostels go, this is a good place! i wish i had been here long enough to be able to meet other travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ananya_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durban
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This really is a great hostel! There is a culture that exists at this particular hostel that is hard to explain. It certainly ticks all the boxes of cleanliness, friendly staff, great event co-ordination, great location. safe and fun; but it also has a feeling that cant been articulated. Kim and her staff have managed to create a vibe that is exciting to be apart of. It is a great place to stay and i hope i find time to get there again. Good luck.

Room Tip: This is a fun hostel, if you're in a shared room - expect it to feel that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I spent 4 weeks at 33south backpacker at my arrival in Cape Town. It is an amazing place to meet people : clean room, amazing kitchen, awesome braai place...
The staff is very friendly too. I highly recommend this place !

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vince31500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Clean rooms, sweet kitchen, good staff and simply a relaxed place to spend your time at.
This backpackers has the most uncomplicated atmosphere you can think of.
We booked in very spontaneously.
So to speak Walk-ins are welcome as well.
I can really recommend this lovely place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Observatory
Green Elephant
#2 of 10 in Observatory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Observatory Backpackers
#3 of 10 in Observatory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
City Bowl
Cape Town Backpackers
Cape Town Backpackers
#32 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 33 South Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 33 South Backpackers

Property: 33 South Backpackers
Address: 48 Trill Road, Observatory 7925, South Africa (Formerly 33 South Boutique Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Observatory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Observatory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 33 South Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your 33 South Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
33 South Backpackers Observatory, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing