We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
African Heart Backpackers
Forchheim, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice location”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

African heart is a wonderful place to stay.
We stayed there for nine days and slept very well in fact it was safe and offered a friendly atmosphere. The staff members were very friendly and helpful in organizing things (driver, trips,...). The house is decorated nicely and the rooms were quiet, so we slept well.
For the next trip to South Africa we're looking forward to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    26
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
24
45
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I stayed at African Heart for one night in transit and I had a very good stay. The staff were very accommodating and hepful. I met some good hearted people and it was safe, warm and clean. I look forward to staying there again next time I'm in the area

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mzingayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I've stayed at African Heart a number of times over the past few years, and always enjoy the friendly vibe, great location, comfortable surroundings, helpful & happy staff, etc. I'm an older guy here for a mix of work and pleasure, and I've stayed at times in one of the private rooms (nice!) and also the dorm (fine, too, and cheap!). Always meet people to chat with, and it's just a block and a half to the Observatory restaurant/club scene, where you can easily hang out with people of all sorts and enjoy good music and food. This is definitely one of my favorite places to stay at anywhere around Cape Town.

Room Tip: Just let the staff know what you're looking for and they'll get you sorted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJ1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

this lovely place has the perfect vibe and location in cape town!
arriving there as my first south african spot made my trip. it is located in the heart of Observatory - the best place to see in Cape Town, walking distance from public transport and the local night life street.
The place has a feeling of home, with wooden floors and big and bright kitchen, with a great mountain view.
The staff is friendly and helpful. the vibe is chilled and cousy
Its my perfect Cape Town spot and thats why I came back there for a long stay after half a year :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValGuess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I loved location, staff, rooms, obz! The whole staff being like a small family, showing guests around and helping them to make this amazing experiences unique!! Cant wait to come back to you, guys! ;-)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanna2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed at African Heart for a longer period and I had the best time! The staff is very friendly and they help you out with everything. The atmosphere is like "home" and that's also how you feel when you're there!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dililia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidente Prudente, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

African Heart is amazing! Beautiful and charming backpacker. Very friendly and helpful staff! Good kitchen which has a great communal table. The rooms are beautifully finished, decorated with cool ournaments and with lovely beds. Observatory is though a nice area with shops and restaurants near by. "

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Observatory
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#76 of 109 in Cape Town Central
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Elephant
Green Elephant
#2 of 10 in Observatory
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
33 South Backpackers
33 South Backpackers
#1 of 10 in Observatory
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Observatory Backpackers
Observatory Backpackers
#3 of 10 in Observatory
54 reviews
3.8 mi away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#2 of 125 in Cape Town Central
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Heart Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Heart Backpackers

Property: African Heart Backpackers
Address: 27 Station Road, Observatory 7925, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Observatory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Observatory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — African Heart Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Heart is a backpackers lodge with a difference. Vibrant colors, retro furniture, original artworks, spotless modern bathrooms and ultra-comfy beds. We are a small lodge offering a high quality standard of backpackers accommodation and facilities. We also offer superior guest service from our Reception, taking care of anything you need, from booking adventures and onward travels, to where to find the best local music, entertainment and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your African Heart Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Heart Backpackers Observatory, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing