We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could stay longer...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
African Heart Backpackers
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I wish I could stay longer...”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We arrived in African Heart for 3 days and stayed 10. Great atmosphere, cosy, very helpful and friendly staff that made the hostel feel like home, which is important when you travel for a long time. Close to Observatory hipster life but far enough from the bars so you can sleep at night.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mCapucine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    26
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
24
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

And again I visited this lovely place at Station Rd corner Eden Rd.
Nothing has really changed since my last visit, and that's wonderful.
Rooms are clean, walls colorful, kitchen ready to be used, Max (the cat) still around + lovely people spending time together in the lounge/living room...

Can't recommend it even more.
If you plan to stay in Cape Town - stay here. You will have a great time!

Dorms are great for volunteers, backpacker or people, who want the best for their money ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Great place to stay when in town for business. It is located just outside the CBD, but near all transport options. Observatory is a great alternative to the city centre anyway. The hostel itself is very homey, clean and filled with funky murals, and, most important, nice and quiet at night! Staff is super friendly and helpful. I ll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Loved the Pink Leopard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPN73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We spend 5 nights at African heart and it was great and easy going. It's situated at a great location, we love Obs! We were there in wintertime and had been cold for a couple of nights before. But at African Heart we became warm again! Details: We cooked a lot in the spacious kitchen and had great warm showers.

Room Tip: We sometimes woke up early in the morning from people passing on the street, chatting loud. If there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rijn42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

The two nights that we spent at African heART were by far the most peaceful and relaxed nights I have had staying anywhere besides my own home in a very long time.
As soon as I walked through the door I felt at ease and very comfortable. The art is truly something pleasant and beautiful.
Everyone was incredibly friendly and polite including the other guests which added to the pure comfortable vibe that African Heart held withing its masked front gate.
It was a pleasure to have been accommodated in such a genuinely friendly manner and I will be back and look forward to it with great excitement.
Thank you all for our amazing weekend.
Best regards
Aaron, Natty, Jessie and Siya

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AaronCombrinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modimolle (Nylstroom), South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My family and I had an amazingly warm and relaxing place to stay. It was affordable and hassle free. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. Will definitely be staying there again with my next trip :)

Room Tip: I enjoyed the Pink Leopard room for my family myself and husband slept on the dubble bed and two you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LarishaToffar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deutschland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I stayed in African heart twice with a mixed perception of the place. As a traveller, I think I would have missed the vibrant atmosphere of people coming, leaving and enjoying drinks at the bar. However, I was staying for a while in Capetown and was happy about a calm place which is mainly inhabited by volonteers staying there for longer periods. So it feld more like joining a flat share.

The showers are great, the kitchen ok and the location perfect. The beds are ranking on the top end of the Southern African Backpacker I have stayed at. African heart is definetly good value for money, 120 Rand including a self service cereal breakfast and free wifi is really fair for Capetown. Observatory is a nice, layed back area with people of different races, class and background, quite seldom in CT I would say.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank backpackRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Observatory
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
0.1 mi away
Green Elephant
Green Elephant
#2 of 10 in Observatory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Observatory Backpackers
Observatory Backpackers
#3 of 10 in Observatory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
33 South Backpackers
33 South Backpackers
#1 of 10 in Observatory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
3.8 mi away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
4.1 mi away
Jambo Guest House
Jambo Guest House
#60 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Heart Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Heart Backpackers

Property: African Heart Backpackers
Address: 27 Station Road, Observatory 7925, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Observatory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Observatory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — African Heart Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Heart is a backpackers lodge with a difference. Vibrant colors, retro furniture, original artworks, spotless modern bathrooms and ultra-comfy beds. We are a small lodge offering a high quality standard of backpackers accommodation and facilities. We also offer superior guest service from our Reception, taking care of anything you need, from booking adventures and onward travels, to where to find the best local music, entertainment and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your African Heart Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Heart Backpackers Observatory, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing