We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bohemian Lofts Backpackers
London
Level Contributor
1,019 reviews
287 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 578 helpful votes
“Not a bad place”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a dorm room which was fine.  There was 1 shower for up to 7 people but there was only 4 of us there that night so it was fine.  The shower was very good and the bathroom was large.

The bed was very comfortable with an expensive looking thick comfy mattress cover.  

The staff were friendly and the common areas were fine although a bit small.  There was a small kitchen area if you wanted to make something.  Wi if was free and was alright.

Location was very good for bars and restaurants - right on the corner of lower main road in Observatory which also has a train station with trains going to the centre of town, Stellenbosch and Kalk Bay Area.  The Old Biscuit Mill was about a 25-30 minute walk away.  Taxi cost around 80-110R to the centre of town.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi there!

Thank you for your review and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We now have 2 showers for the dorm room (it was busy being built whilst you were here) so no more waiting for the bathroom :)

We look forward to welcoming you to Observatory again in the near future!

Warm Regards

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    11
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
7
13
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Would definitely recommend. We were made to feel like family. Nothing like chilling on the balcony with a beer and some mates, watching the people of Obs do their thing. If you're hungry, there's a fantastic pizza place downstairs that does wonders with cheese and dough... Not to mention the delights of the Lower Main restaurant strip! Thanks to Mel, Caroline, Kate and Charms

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi there

Thank you for your lovely review and yes, we agree, there's not much better things in life than watching the world go by on our balcony with a cold one in hand!!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

First, kudos to the manager to inviting us to stay for 2 days, after our initial reservation was lost in computer-never-land (may have actually been an issue with bookings.com, its not really clear). So they helped us find another place, and insisted on giving us 2 free nights later in the trip without us even asking/requesting/threatening. Great service!

I was traveling to Cape Town with my teenage daughter so figured it would be fun to stay somewhere a little more hip-happening, and this was definitely it. Its a great neighborhood for night life, great restaurants, even a use book store run by some pleasantly nutty anarchists down the street, also some nice cafes to sit in the evening and watch the parade of life.

The down side is that the life goes on until 2 or 3 in the morning, so can be a little noisy if you are an early to bed type, or a light sleeper (which I am not, thankfully).

The facilities themselves are quite up to standard for hostel/backpacker type stays, don't stay obviously if you are looking for 5-star material. Workers are nice/helpful.

Its just 2 blocks from the observatory train station, a useful connection for (day time!) excursions.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BFM_MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you managed to come back and stay with us, and it seems that you really took the time to explore Obs and discovered all our quirky stores and exciting cafes and nightlife. We admit it can get a little noisy sometimes but hey if you can't beat them join them :) Thanks again for staying and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Warm Regards

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had a great stay at Bohemian. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The beds were the cleanest and most comfortable beds that we have sleep in at a backpackers.
It is located in a cool part of town, with a good night life and 2 minutes from the train station and supermarket. Free wifi/computer and tea and coffee.
It is an older building with a great balcony to chill out on or to watch the people passing below.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatiasFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Hey there

Thanks so much for leaving us a TripAdvisor review. I am so excited that you enjoyed your stay with us and made use of our free wifi which we offer all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!!

Warm Regards

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We had an amazing time at this hostel. It is an awesome CT location and the staff-member are really cool. They went above-and-beyond for us during our stay. There are several restaurants and bars directly below the hostel, so no need to walk far when looking for something to do. It is also very close to the train station with direct access to downtown CT. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcouple1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Hey there!

Thanks so much for your wonderful review!! We loved having you stay and look forward to hosting you again in the future!!

Warm Regards

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Wonderful clean white linen. Friendly (and good looking!) girls at reception. Excellent security. The backpackers is situated in the middle of one of the best spots in Cape Town. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: I think mie was called 'constantia'?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OuteniquaLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Hi there, thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm Regards

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Having spent two nights at Carnival Court Backpackers on Long Street (see separate review), my boyfriend and I needed somewhere quieter (!!) and more comfortable to spend our last two nights in Cape Town. We read about Bohemian Lofts in the Coast to Coast guide and it sounded really lovely, so we decided to go for it.
We were not disappointed. The hostel is quite small and compact, but very cosy and well decorated in a 'shabby chic' style. It definitely feels very 'bohemian', as the name suggests, and fits in well with the character of the Observatory area. We stayed in the Cape Point room, a small double bedroom with plenty of storage space, a safe, small table and a very cosy bed. We had to use a shared bathroom, but it was right next door to the room and very clean and tidy. We peeked into the dorm rooms and they were very nice indeed, with what looked like good quality bunks in a spacious and airy room.
There's free WiFi, and a free self-service breakfast of toast, jam, tea and coffee too, which was a nice touch. We only used the kitchen for making toast, but it was clean and well-equipped - often a rare thing in backpacker hostels!
The hostel doesn't have a bar (which, after Long Street, was absolutely fine with us!) but it has good communal areas including a lovely balcony with sofas and tables looking out over 'Obz'. Being situated overlooking Lower Main Street, you only need to step out of the hostel to find a variety of nice bars and restaurants right on the doorstep, and there's a bottle shop directly across the street. The girls on reception were really friendly and very helpful, particularly helping us to hire a car for the day, and printing off our boarding passes for us when it was time to go home (sob!).
Highly recommended for a quieter and less frenetic stay in Cape Town!

Room Tip: Each room is decorated differently - look at the Bohemian Lofts website to pick your favourite. Dorm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Hi there

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and for your lovely comments! My staff will be happy to hear that you appreciated their friendly service which is what we always aim to provide our guests with. We are glad that you loved the Cape Point room - our most recently renovated room. Thanks again for your wonderful comments and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm Regards
Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Observatory
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#76 of 109 in Cape Town Central
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Elephant
Green Elephant
#2 of 10 in Observatory
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
33 South Backpackers
33 South Backpackers
#1 of 10 in Observatory
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
African Heart Backpackers
African Heart Backpackers
#4 of 10 in Observatory
118 reviews
3.9 mi away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohemian Lofts Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohemian Lofts Backpackers

Property: Bohemian Lofts Backpackers
Address: 41 Trill Road, Observatory 7925, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Observatory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Observatory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bohemian Lofts Backpackers overlooks OBS Lower Main Road, and from the balcony, you can sit and people-watch, or just soak up the hustle and bustle of this eclectic artsy neighbourhood. Each room is artistically themed after a different neighbourhood in Cape Town, and offers all the amenities you need for a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bohemian Lofts Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohemian Lofts Backpackers Observatory, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing