We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a treat”
Review of Blue Marlin

Blue Marlin
Ranked #9 of 14 Restaurants in Observatory
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice for a treat”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We went there to celebrate my son's 10th birthday. My family is crazy about sushi. This includes my 3 kids aged 10, 4 and 2. The sushi is average and well worth the price. The atmosphere, while appropriate for the Obz area, does not scream "Come back soon" and the service was ok.
Places with mis-matched furniture and decor are not really my scene. I like a clean looking orderly place without notes, apologies and menu's on the walls.
I will probably go back again but will get take-away sushi.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Obru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    14
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's ok”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Blue Marlin in Observatory is an average sushi place. Neither the food nor the atmosphere are any special and service is rather slow. However, you get ok sushi for a really cheap price and it's a good place if you don't expect anything special

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
124 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Poor service with average food”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I visited the restaurant with my family and the interior is nothing to phone home about. The food was OK but when i asked for additional side plates we had to wait a while for these to be brought to the table and then one of them was dirty with soya sauce baked into it, When I pointed this out to the waiter he just ignored me and walked off. The sushi was average. When we were finished with our meal and asked for the bill it took again a while until we received it. After paying in cash (because this restaurant does not accept cards since the card machine is constantly broken (right!!)) the waiter asked if we needed our change back. The bill automatically gets the 10% service charge added but if you do not check you double pay the waiter. i actually think they don't care about the service since they have a guaranteed service fee anyway. Will not go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenixber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Piece of cake dining.”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The sushi is the same as other sushi place. Really tasty. But the range of platters that you get to sample are all really geared to your choice, and with a bit of planning you can create your ultimate meal deal, and the best is that it costs a fraction of the big smelly sushi bars out there. There isn't a matching chair in the room, but who gives when you're eating a mountain of nosh for biscuit money. Every piece was marvelous, and you end up leaving with a bit of what you ordered for breakfast the next day. Fully! Bring cash 'cause they charge extra for card (Authentic!) and when buffet, don't take more than your stomach needs and you're in for a pretty cool budget evening in a classic spot.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Sushi & Chinese”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Great for a cheap but delicious meal - go for the 'all you can eat' option to really make the most of it; not a buffet but dishes brought to your table as you choose. The area is not great and the restaurant is very basic, but don't let that put you off - go in a group!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jangles_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Marlin also viewed

Observatory, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Blue Marlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing