We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic backpacker at fantastic prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Observatory Backpackers
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic backpacker at fantastic prices”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I've just left this backpackers after staying 4 nights in a private double room. This place is great- wifi fast and worked well in our room, safe and secure, good chilled atmosphere, newly decorated and very clean, and the best thing is that it was only R400 to stay in our double room, which was half the price of some backpackers in CT. If you are staying at Obs I would say that it's better to have a car. Obs restaurants and shops etc are walkable, as is fashionable Woodstock just down the road (go to The Old Buiscuit Mill market on Sat morning, amazing place!) BUT to get in the 'centre' of the city is a 45 min walk (10 min drive) so better to have a car or prepare to take taxis. We stayed in 3 hostels in CT (Big Blue, B.I.G, an Obs) and would without a doubt return here above the others. Great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rnjlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    18
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
12
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This was my second backpackers in cape town. The first nights I stayed in a crapy backpackers and the observatory backpackers was an amazing upgrade for me!
They have wifi all over the place, a kitchen that you can use, an relax corner with a tv, an outside area and really nice bathrooms.
The quality is what you would except from a high price BB, but this backpackers is not expensive at all!
Also bazbus pickup at this backpackers. The location is on lower main street which offers alot.

Helpful?
Thank Ltraaijm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I arrived to a friendly welcome to my dorm. Very clean spacious dorm. The shower room had plenty of space and was very clean. Rest area was lovely very nice garden too. Close to the cafes id recommend the honeybun and hello sailor. After bad news from home I had to extend my stay there no dorms available so the owner very kindly put me up in a private room at no extra cost wich was very nice of him to do..thank you. Overall it was a very nice stay in a lovely home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capewena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, New York
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here as part of a vacation that overlapped a university trip to Cape Town. The staff was extremely friendly, and helpful in giving suggestions regarding day trips, where to eat at night, and any other questions we had. We stayed in a private room, but one that uses the shared bathrooms. Only a few times were the bathrooms occupied, but there were rooms that had private bathrooms/showers available too. The rooms were small, but we don't really need a lot of extras when we travel. Most important, the rooms were clean.

Since the last reviewer left a comment, they have expanded the hostel and roughly doubled the size. There are two 'backpacker' rooms now, and I believe each person has access to a locker to store their personal items. There are a handful of private rooms available too. There isn't any heat in the rooms so we had to request extra blankets for the cold winter nights, luckily there were empty rooms so there were extra blankets.

The newly remodeled (shared) bathrooms were very clean since we were some of the first to use them, but water leaked from the sides of the shower on to the floors, but we pointed this out while they had construction people on-site, and I think that will be addressed soon so this doesn't become a bigger issue. Any suggestions we gave were handled quickly and the owner and employees were appreciative of the feedback.

The downstairs of this hostel has a kitchen, and they were going to be adding extra refrigerators so there is enough room for people's food items in the future. The dining area is a little small, maybe they will expand it in to the former social area, since they have a new larger social area in the expansion. The outdoor courtyard was under construction while we were there, and it was cold so we didn't go there, but as we were leaving the changes looked nice and would provide a nice space in the evenings when the weather is nice.

The only complaints that we and other guests had is that there needs to be a silent hour established so people can get a full night rest. People in the social areas can be heard and the noise echos throughout the halls. This was only an issue a couple of nights though, so if they create a quiet hour then it would help those who have a busy agenda get some rest.

Although this is located a couple of minute walk from the main strip in Observatory, it was safe to walk from the hostel to the bars, business and restaurants at night. The few blocks of separation also gives it a sound barrier from some of the clubs blaring music, which I believe gives this hostel an advantage over some of the others in the area which are right in the middle of the action or above some of the restaurants or bars. There is a laundry service a few blocks away, a post office about 1.5 miles away, and a few grocery stores within about a half mile. Getting to the waterfront area takes about 10 minutes in a cab so that is convenient too.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed here for 12 nights in a double room, at the front of the house nearest the road. The hostel only held about 20 people when full which made bathroom sharing less of a hassle than some bigger hostels, and the place was cleaner than many I have stayed in (could still use a can of doom if you are very bothered by roaches though). The hostel has secure entry, DSTV, cooker, kettle, etc, as well as wifi, which worked very well (our room was by the office however- so this may have helped!) and parking was easy right outside, as the hostel is slightly away from busier areas. Generally quiet and clean which makes it ideal for longer stays- several interns were also staying there for longer terms, and rates are negotiable for stays over 1 week. It had a much more settled atmosphere than other hostels nearby, which tend to be loud. The usual minor complaints of hostels still apply- the odd noisy group passing through at wtf o'clock in the morning, fellow backpackers stealing soap and shampoo out of the bathrooms etc, but the staff were very very good, which lifted it above average standards. Good job- especially for a new backpackers. I made sure to spread the word in Obs and beyond.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph_L_Sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Observatory
Green Elephant
#2 of 10 in Observatory
148 reviews
33 South Backpackers
#1 of 10 in Observatory
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
African Heart Backpackers
#4 of 10 in Observatory
119 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 127 in Cape Town Central
681 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 127 in Cape Town Central
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Observatory Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Observatory Backpackers

Property: Observatory Backpackers
Address: 235 Lower Main Road, Observatory 7925, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Observatory
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Observatory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest backpacker hostel in trendy Observatory, Cape Town! We offer a comfortable stay in an amazing, clean, and secure backpacker with a great atmosphere. We’re right on the doorstep of all the bars, restaurants, theater, and nightlife that make Obs a great place to stay. An up to the minute travel desk, makes Observatory Backpackers a great place to base yourself while exploring Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Observatory Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Backpackers Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing