We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Table View
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Excellent location - on the beach. Excellent restaurant ''Blow Fish'', and friendly service.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
Thank ClariceWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Dolphin Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Dolphin Beach hotel for 3 weeks in January. We were very pleased with our stay. Great views of Table Mountain and Signal Hill. We had a 1 bedroom cabana that has a patio door to a small terrace and the garden. From our room we could see the kite boarders and it was just a short walk to the beach. We liked the privacy that the cabana gave us. The room was well maintained and had a full kitchen and livingroom. Great maid service. The hotel manager(Frasier) was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed dinner at the Blowfish. Sunday was sushi night at a bargin price. Many restaurants in the area. Our favorite was "On the Rocks". I spent several days in Cape Town, it was about a 15 minute ride and alot of time on the beach. We did travel to the winelands and the Cape of Good Hope as well as Aquilla. The small spa was very nice. I had a massage, facial and a pediure. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubababe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2008

When I arrived at the hotel my room was not ready and when I entered it,it was dirty with beds undone and no soap in the bathroom.

When I came down to breakfast,the next morning and ordered an amlete,it was cold and tasted like the eggs were rotten.There was also no juice available.

The staff in general were slow and disorganized,especially the breakfast staff.I tried to speak to management but they were not available.

I would not recommend this hotel to future tourists.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank April06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2007

We spent Christmas and New Year at the Protea Dolphin Beach Hotel, we had an 'apartment' with bedroom, living room, kitchen, huge bathroom, and a large terrace that overlooked the sea and fantastic view of Table Mountain. It was a great location, with a great restaurant Blowfish, specialising in seafood and a Japanese sushi bar. A car is a must in Cape Town and definately if you stay here. The swimming pool is, however, more like a small fountain. Reception can organise a 'Brai' (barbecue) for your terrace to make you feel more local. Staff were friendly and helpful. Many restaurants and bars are close by, on Marine Drive. The beach is a kite surfers dream, and they are fantastic to watch flying through the waves. Robbin Island is opposite the hotel beach and a 10 minute drive takes you to the Durbanville wineries nestled on the hillside. I would definately go back to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Fanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Cabanas sao os melhores quartos.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank THIAGO S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: au niveau supérieur et avec vue sur mer, même si toutes les chambres sont confortables
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sabine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wenn überhaupt, dann ein Sea Facing Appartment.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Fundevogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Table View
4.3 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Bliss Boutique Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aquarius Luxury Suites
Aquarius Luxury Suites
#2 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,117 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
277 reviews
7.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Hotel

Address: No 1 Dolphin Beach | Marine Drive, Table View 7441, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Dolphin Beach)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Table View
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Table View
Price Range: £85 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 10 minutes from the CBD of Cape Town and 20 Minutes from the International Airport, the hotel is ideally situated in Table View near the business areas of Montague Gardens, Kilarney Gardens, Atlantis & Milnerton. The business traveller will enjoy the spacious apartments with magnificent ocean views, wireless internet & room service. One of Cape Town’s top restaurants, the Blowfish offers buffet breakfast, an a la Carte lunch & dinner menu and a sushi bar. The hotel is close to excellent restaurants, nightlife venues and pubs.Perched on an endless stretch of powdery white beach, with views of Table Mountain & Robben Island across the bay, the hotel offers spacious self catering suites and beachfront Cabanas with direct access onto the beach. The hotel is close to excellent restaurants, nightlife venues and pubs. Besides all the activities on the beach, the hotel is perfectly situated for exploring the greater Cape Town region. A10 minute drive in any direction will take you to the V&A Waterfront & Two Oceans Aquarium or Canal Walk & Retunga Junction Theme Park or Big Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dolphin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Cape Town, South Africa - Table View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing